8 West Dental Care

Dentist

240-903 8 Avenue South West

Calgary, AB T2P 0P7

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

8westdentalcare.com/

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
6 months ago
The Best Dental Care
I have been a patient of Dr. Slater's for over thirty years and for the past few years I have been a patient of Dr. Lam's as well. The Doctors, Hygienists, and Assistants are all excellent. I have never had a bad experience. I have complete trust in the staff at 8 West Dental and I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you for the kind words! It is a pleasure to still have you as a patient after all those years! Have a wonderful summer and we'll see you next visit!
J
7 months ago
I have been coming to 8 West from the beginning. Gentle, professional and amazing staff. I have never had to wait and consultations give me alternatives and timelines.
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you for the lovely review, it's always nice to see you and your family! Enjoy your summer and we'll see you next time!
M
7 months ago
Excellent Service!
Always a pleasure visiting this dental office. Dr. Lam and his staff are all very friendly, professional, and helpful!
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you! It's always so nice to see you! Have a wonderful summer!
R
7 months ago
Hard to give star
I am from Vancouver and live in Calgary for the business temporary. I had front teeth moving then I called them. Try to solve my front teeth but finally cleaned my teeth. Donna use my chambers card but not work on her computer. then I told her again I used this in the past years in Vancouver. Then she offered to call my insurance company. And he used my husband’s card. I was very clearly told by Donna My insurance cover 80% of my cleaning. She even write down on a yellow sticker. I take it with me In case she will say something differently. I still have it. And that is why she charged me 20% of my fist invoice. I told my husband it is a lot more expensive than Vancouver. But good thing is insurance company will cover 20%.The second visit I said to them I need go back to Vancouver soon . Angela did the cleaning for me. Use a hour and half. She was good and she said I. use a lot of my insurance which 8 of 12 units. But she said I only need pay 20%. Second time I ask them the fee guide. Ask them abou the fee difference between B.C. and AB. Angela said I only pay 20% which is not to bad. Which means they already know I am from Vancouver. They are expert but they didn’t mention price difference might be not covered. So I was clearly understand My payment is 20% end of the story. Donna said fraud insurance. I think it is funny. Fraud is try to get more money from insurance company. Fraud is try to claim money for the 0 job done. If something I did wrong is put my trust on 8 west . I was blind.If Donna ask me to pay the full amount ahead then I take responsible to claim my money back from insurance company, I will know the coverage and I will not keep go back again. I don’t want to waste my time on this and I offers to pay 20% of the higher price at beginning but they talk about fraud.....
Response from 8 West Dental Care
We are sorry to hear there have been some administrative miscommunication with respect to your treatment. We do strive to be completely transparent with our fees. In fact, our office respects and charges according to the standard Alberta Dental Fee Guide. We are very upfront about this. We also direct bill to your insurance for your convenience but we want to make it clear that we are only play the role of the middle person. You, the policy holder, are ultimately responsible for your own insurance plan. When you came into our office seeking treatment you had requested for Donna to check on your insurance coverage. You gave us no indication that you were from BC. Moreover, the address we have for you on file is a local address in Calgary. Donna was more than happy to call your insurance company on your behalf. They also gave us no indication that it was a BC plan. They simply told us that your plan was active and that you had coverage of 80% for basic dental treatment. Anything more specific would have required an insurance predetermination. This was not requested of us at the time and you consented to beginning treatment. It is understandably upsetting that you have to pay more that you had originally expected after discovering that your plan would only cover based on the BC fee guide but you are still responsible to pay for services rendered not covered by your plan. We did not intentionally mislead you. All of us at 8 West Dental Care deserved to be compensated for their job performed in AB. We do want to be absolutely clear. To ask us to resubmit your claim using fees from the BC Fee Guide does constitute insurance fraud. We are not legally allowed to adjust our fees based on a person’s level of insurance coverage. We must charge the same fee for everyone and it does not matter whether you are from BC, from AB, from out of country, have insurance or not.
S
8 months ago
Excellent work
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you! It was so nice to see you both last week. Have a nice day, we'll see you next visit!
T
8 months ago
Great service
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you! It was great to see you and your beautiful little ones yesterday! Have a nice weekend and we'll see you next visit.
A
8 months ago
Top notch care.
Dr Lam is totally professional and confidence inspiring. Thanks.
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you! It was nice seeing you today and we'll see you again soon!
W
8 months ago
On time, very friendly and helpful professional help
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you! It was so nice to see you last week! Enjoy the year, we'll see you in the fall!
S
8 months ago
I hate going to the dentist....
It’s true. I do! BUT Dr Slater is the best. I’ve been going to this office for 30 years and am so glad I found them. Dr Slater makes you feel comfortable right from the moment you sit down. I had to get 2 old fillings redone and he made me laugh and talked throughout and over the drill! Lol. I have to go back next week and although I dread the appointment, I look forward to the visit! Thanks Dr Slater!
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you for the lovely review! You are always a pleasure to visit with too and we look forward to seeing you at your regular checkup appointments. It is a great compliment that you feel comfortable when you come here. It is our goal to make everyone feel at home and at ease. Have a wonderful day and we'll see you soon!
D
9 months ago
High quality professional service with a smile!
From the time you walk through the doors of 8 West Dental, you are treated with respect, kindness and excellent care. Hat's off to Dr. Rick Slater, receptionist Donna & dental hygienist, Alison, you make visiting the dentist, a pleasure. Dr. Slater, you are one in a million. Thank you so much.
Response from 8 West Dental Care
Thank you for the great review! It was so nice to see you both again last week! We hope to see you again soon. Have a nice weekend!