Academy Of Kempo - Karate Inc

Self Defense and Martial Arts Course

5760 Oak Dr

Charlotte, NC 28216

Open Today 8:00AM - 10:00AM

selfdefensetechniquecharlottenc.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
4 months ago
Best Overall
I cannot say enough about AKKA or Soke Ferrell. I've known Soke for 30 years and he is a class act in every way. His skill is amazing and his patience is comforting. He displays tremendous humility and lives to serve others. He works well with all ages and skill-sets. Best in the arts...the "true" arts. If you're looking for flashy games...look elsewhere. However, if you're interested in the real deal, Soke is it.
D
1 year ago
Outstanding martial arts school
Comprehensive martial arts school that offers a wide range of martial arts study. Outstanding instructors and staff
R
1 year ago
Love it!
Love this place. Only regret is that I wish I would have started years ago. Highly Recommend Kempo! Learning a lot and the staff is wonderful!
M
1 year ago
Highly Recommended
I started training at Academy of Kempo Karate in 2006. My experiences here have been all positive. The wealth and breadth of information taught at this school is nothing short of astounding. From traditional kempo/karate techniques, to self-defense, to weapons, Jiu Jitsu, Tai Chi, etc.—there’s no shortage of knowledge to be learned. It will take a lifetime to become proficient at all the disciplines taught at this school. For the martial artists who’ve trained at other dojos, I can’t recommend this school enough. Through training here, I’ve learned more insight into the other karate systems I originally trained under; I found that intriguing. Rank is not handed out in this school; the student will work hard to achieve his/her goals and, as a result, will be confident that the skills learned are readily transferrable to real-world situations. In regard to Soke Ferrell, with all the years and experience under his proverbial belt, there’s no inflated ego to go with it. A very personable man that is all too happy to share his martial arts knowledge. Additionally, I don’t know of many schools where the head of the system is always at the dojo and teaches all ranks of students. I highly recommend Academy of Kempo Karate to those who want to learn discipline, martial arts proficiency, and confidence.
D
2 years ago
In the 7-8 years that I have trained with AKKA, I have never been disappointed. Even though I have taken a break due to college, Ill never forget the people I've met or the bonds I've made. I have a genuine love for everyone there, as they have seen me through my teenage years and gave me invaluable advice.
D
2 years ago
One of the Best
Words do little to explain the family oriented atmosphere one feels upon stepping inside the studio as a student or a parent watching their child practice. The staff and instructors are very personable and eager to assist. I have two kids who attend the Academy of Kempo Karate and they really enjoy class. From a parent’s point of view, I appreciate how the instructors thoroughly explain the techniques and their application while helping to ensure learning is fun. Having spent numerous years training in various disciplines of martial arts, I can honestly say that the Academy of Kempo Karate is by far one of the best in the area. When I started looking for another form of martial arts to supplement my prior training, it was an easy choice. I chose the Academy of Kempo Karate because of the positive impact I have seen with my kids. I highly recommend the Academy of Kempo Karate.
D
2 years ago
My grand daughter have trained at Academy of Kempis Karate for about 5 years. I am very satisfied With her results. My expectation is being met as she continue to train. I will highly recommend Academy Of Kempo Kerate to my family and friends.
D
2 years ago
Amazing place!! Amazing people!!
I felt welcomed immediately. Everyone is very nice, and always willing to help you, and I have met a lot of wonderful people. I have practiced at another dojo, but I feel that this school is different from the rest. They will push you outside of your comfort zone, and you will be tested on your abilities alone. Because of their teaching style, I feel as if my confidence level, and my abilities have grown. I believe that this school will provide me with the skillsets that I need to protect myself in any situation. They make the experience fun, but also tough. There will always be something new and exciting to learn. The experience has never been boring! I look forward to every class!!!
J
2 years ago
Professional and Personal
Mr. Ferrell is one of the finest people and most talented martial artist I've ever met. He is personally involved in the lives of his students and meets his clients where they are in their training. If you make rank with AKKA, you can be confident that you've earned what you have, under the best program and finest leadership.
N
2 years ago
My boys (7 and 9) have been training here for a few years now. They are learning self defense, along with self dicipline. The instructors are highly knowledgeable and skilled in working with all age groups. I am taking a self defense/fitness class and I love it. The atmosphere is very friendly and family oriented, and I would recommend this place to anyone interested in the martial arts and getting in better shape.