Affordable Engine Exchange

Auto Repair Shop

Houston, TX 77039

Open Today 9:00AM - 6:00PM

vehiclerepairservicehouston.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

R
5 months ago
worst repair experience ever
Back in August 2016, I had my 2012 Kia Sedona EX towed to this shop for a complete engine rebuild. I was quoted a price of $2000 over the phone by the shop owner himself. I was required to pay a $950 deposit the day his tow truck came to pick up my van. He rebuilt that engine throughout the entire month of August, & I picked it up after paying $2705 in cash when it was ready. The grand total after a month's worth of work was $5500 - nearly 3 times the quoted price! However, about 6-7 hours after I picked up the van that same day, it stopped running while I was @ work. I sent the shop an email through their website the very next day since they're closed on the weekends. 3 days later, his truck towed my van back to his shop so he can honor the warranty (3 years or 40,000 miles). Once my van returned to his shop, that's when even more issues became clearly evident. The phone rings off the hook whenever I call him regardless of what time of day it is because it hardly ever gets answered. When I'd pay a surprise visit to the shop for a progress check, the owner isn't present because he's out getting parts for other vehicles the shop is working on (@ least that's what's being mentioned by the other employees). My van was always in the parking lot & never in the garage. I was forced to wait an additional 3 months after it was towed back to his shop in the beginning of September! Once I found his reviews on Google & web sites other than those advertised on the shop's web site, enough was enough! The shop's profile with Houston's Better Business Bureau was the ultimate deal breaker. They were given a rating of F because there are 10 complaints filed against this shop that have been unresolved! The lone review on the shop's BBB profile is from a customer who is currently waiting for his vehicle to be fixed after a year with no results! After seeing that post, I had no choice but to have AAA tow it to another shop so I can get back to work! I'd never recommend this shop to anyone for any reason under any circumstances!
R
1 year ago
engine rebuild
I decided to rebuild instead of buying a new truck,contacted several places,took truck to affordable engine exchange,Steve had a good idea what the problem was,gave me a price,and i left it there.I had it back in a week just as he said,was able to go to the shop and see the eng when it was torn down,talked to technician working on it,showed me the problems which were pretty much what they thought to begin with.A couple of additional things which he showed me and that was it.Truck runs great,warranty,no problems.Glad to know there are still a few people out there that are honest and do as they promise.I will recommend this place to anybody that asks.
R
3 years ago
honest prices and quality work.
I recently had some work performed by Steve and was very pleased with the price and the time it took to make repairs was spot on with the initial quote. Steve was up front in making it clear that there might be some added costs for unknown issues. Thank you Affordable for the great work and honesty that is really hard to find these days. I would recommend them to any one needing work done.
H
3 years ago
Affordable quality work!
C
3 years ago
"I will be back for any of my car/truck mechanical needs!"
Courteous flexible service and top shelf work. Done correctly and price friendly, I will be back for any of my car / truck mechanical needs!
F
3 years ago
"...Recommend for everyone."
Excellent place to get your car or truck worked on recommend for everyone.
G
3 years ago
"Great work and kind people..."
Great work and kind people who try to accommodate your needs!!!
C
3 years ago
"He and his team do great work and they do it on a good time schedule..."
Steve has done two repairs for me and both have been excellent. He gives you a quote based on their inspections and your complaints about the engine, but you have to keep in mind that engines are large and complex items. Until the work is actually started, it is impossible to know what they will find. He will give you a rundown of any additional repairs he finds, but gives you the option of repairing or not repairing each. His prices are very reasonable! He and his team do great work and they do it on a good time schedule. When your car is broken, the most terrible thing in the world is waiting for the repair and stressing about the cost. Using Affordable Engine Exchange saves me from both of those worries. 10/10 would recommend.
R
3 years ago
"Extremely fast, responsible and all-around great service!"
Had a motor rebuilt in my extreme s-10. Very happy with their work. Extremely fast, responsible and all-around great service. Also did head gaskets on a Chrysler 300. Highly recommended.-Pearl Racing
H
3 years ago
In A Pinch
My 2002 Chevrolet S10 went down on a Wednesday. After searching all over Houston for a repair facility that wasn't gonna charge me an arm and a leg for the repairs. I made contact with Steve and found a competitively low price with an outstanding warranty. The repairs only took a few days and I was back on the road. If you are looking for fast and friendly service with an unusual commitment to produce a long lasting product. Call Steve. 2 years later and my truck still runs like the day I picked it up!!!!
Response from Affordable Engine Exchange
Thank you for the kind words . If we can do anything for you please give us a call. If you have any friends or family that needs any work done please give them our number . We have back to school discounts going thru the end of sept . Thanks again Steve