World Exchange Dental

Dentist

111 Albert St

Suite 114

Ottawa, ON K1P 1A5

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
7 months ago
Worst ever
I think that a lot of these glowing reviews are actually written by the staff themselves. This is the worst dentist I have ever been to. He screwed up my teeth permanently via his neglect during my Invisalign treatment. I finally left his office when he ignored or failed to see a serious infection (that was obvious even to me) in my two front teeth, and the fact that my braces were not fitting and hurting me ALOT. Another great dentist performed the two root canals and prescribed me meds for weeks to kill the infection, and fixed three cavities that were obvious as well. Now I am without retainers since they no longer fit and I am living with loose teeth which are now regressing until I see an Orthodontist. Wakter is not an Orthodontist, and even offers to do BOTOX! (see ads in his lobby and perhaps even his website as proof ). Wakter ignores clients wishes, does things that you do not ask for (he put a metal rod in my tooth and only told me afterwards!), he is always rushed and double books his schedule to maximize profit. His Admins are ok, but have days where despite my being nice with them, they seemed to take their frustrations out on people. He is at best, an emergency doctor only if you are stuck with a bad cavity or need a tooth pulled. Do not go to him for braces in particular. He does not know how to troubleshoot problems when they arise. When he could not answer my questions or could not figure things out, he would simply leave the room and not return. His assistant would be the one to inform me that the appointment was over. I was never rude with him, and as always I am polite and try not to be a difficult patient. But this did not serve me in this case. I am now trying to save my teeth and trying to afford paying for another round of braces etc.. I wasted $4,000 and 1.5 years of my life. Please don't go to this dentist. I am warning as many people as possible on as many websites as possible. I would feel AWFUL if someone was placed in a similar situation. This situation has made me very depressed and has impacted my life very negatively. It would be very easy for his staff to post these other positive feedback/comments, so please be careful. Although I understand not all people have had problems with him, it just can't all be that rosey. I have witnessed his treatment of other patients as well, and I saw that its pretty consistent with my own. There are tons of dentists in Ottawa, give them a try instead.
J
8 months ago
Unprofessional and low quality service.
I wish I could give negative stars. They made a mistake on my teeth and instead of admitting it they tried to cover it up and say that it was already there, that it must have been my orthodontist who did it. He tried to perform tasks that I do not believe he is even qualified to perform such as orthodontic work. When I initially called to book my appointment they said that they do direct billing to my insurance company so long as I have the info on me, which as a student was one of the main reasons I chose this dental office. After my appointment when I approached the front desk the secretary said the cost and asked how I was paying. When I said that I had my insurance info on me, she said they do not direct bill, and I was stuck paying the fee up front. Not to mention that this fee was outrageous for something that was not even done properly that I have to have fixed elsewhere. When I called to speak with someone about what had happened, there were zero attempts to apologize/make things right and rather just more lies to try to cover up what had already been done. I highly suggest finding a different dentist and recommend having any dental work done else where.
N
10 months ago
Unprofessional and did not feel my best interest was considered
To start with the positive, my first couple of appointments were very satisfying. The reception and dental hygienists were very pleasant, accommodating and thorough. When I met Dr. Watker the first time I shared that at some point I was interested in touching up a cosmetic procedure, but was clear this was not going to be anytime soon. After being told I had a few small cavities, I got a call saying that I should come in for "fillings". Given that most of my insurance was used up over my first two visits I was hesitant. However, I was told I had two "big ones" I should really attend to right away and the others could wait until my insurance was renewed 7 months later. Therefore, trusting this was a health recommendation I booked the appointment. It was not until my mouth was completely frozen and work was being done did I realize the COSMETIC procedure was being done. This also clearly highlights the lack of communication about what work was being done prior to the procedure. When I expressed to Dr. Watker that I had been mislead about this appointment, he completely dismissed my being displeased and rather glowing pointed to the wonderful work he had done on my teeth. Not only did this procedure that I was NOT informed of, nor agreed to, eat up my insurance but also caused me to pay out of pocket. No attempt to apologize, acknowledge or investigate the mistake or compensate for the situation was offered. Furthermore, these cavities that were found were put off as second priority rather than being attended to. Following this incident, I received a call to book another appointment. I informed the receptionist that I was not interested and instead would be looking for another dentist. Instead of inquiring as to why, and if anything could be done to improve the service offered, she quickly said "ok" and hung up. Overall, extremely unimpressed. I feel taken advantage of, with serious disregard to my best interest!!!
S
1 year ago
Always prefesional and always a great experience
Fantastic office and staff. Great results and experience with Invisalign and regular dental care.
J
1 year ago
Always friendly and professional
I have been a patient of Dr. Wakter for over a decade and I love the friendly and professional staff. All the employees who have manned the front desk over the years including the latest members Krystal and Candice. I appreciate Carol and Debbie and the other Hygienists along with DR Walkter himself who have worked so hard to bring what was a dental wreck to a healthy state, They are allways a pleasure to deal with. Thanks!
J
1 year ago
high quality service
I have been coming here for over a decade, and I love the staff and friendly service! Candice and Krystal at the front desk are so wonderful to be around! i love them! so funny and entertaining, and always patient and willing to work around my schedule at all times! Dr. Wakter is such a great dentist, I wouldn't go anywhere else. Always a pleasure to deal with. Thanks!
E
2 years ago
The BEST ....
The BEST at everything, service, friendliness, efficiency .
C
2 years ago
Friendly professional staff
Dr. Wakter does really nice work and his hygienists are wonderfull too. I was in for a cleaning today and the hygienist (sorry, I don't remember her name) was very kind and easy to talk to. She also made my teeth shine! I always leave Dr. Wakter's office completely satisfied. The staff are really friendly and professional. Betty and Veronica at reception are very fun and will answer any questions you may have in an easy to understand manner. That might not be their real names though. I'll have to ask Krystal the next time I'm in for an appointment.
J
2 years ago
Great staff
Phenomenal Doctor, assistants and hygenists. The desk staff are great and keep you smiling while you wait. Can't recommend enough
R
2 years ago
Wonderful service
Just changed dentists and couldn't be happier! The staff here is very friendly and helpful, especially Nancy and Kristal at the desk! My hygienist also taught me several preventative measures that no one had ever thought to share before. Highly recommended!