Alterman Dentistry

Dentist

86 Rutledge Ave

Charleston, SC 29401

Open Today By Appointment

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
2 months ago
Always high quality service!
Dr. A. and his hygienists are top notch!!!
L
3 months ago
Excellent service, always available
Dr. Alterman has been my dentist for many years. His office staff are outgoing, caring, & compassionate. As a dentist, Dr. A. “goes way beyond the extra mile” to ensure competent, available care. The Best dentist and staff in Charleston! “Kudos” to you & your staff! Lonnie Prosser
J
3 months ago
Great service
Always happy with the service. Thorough cleaning, easy on the teeth, friendly
K
3 months ago
Mary, the hygienist is thoughtful, gentle and informative during the cleanings.
P
3 months ago
The way it should be done.
I look forward to my semi-annual visit to Dr. Alterman's office! The entire staff are friendly and very professional. As a long time client (I hesitate to use the word "patient" as that is not how they make me feel.) I was shown every curtesy from the time I walked in the door, through getting xrays, teeth cleaning and polishing, and my inspection by Dr. Alterman. Many thanks for a job well done and I'll see you in six months
B
3 months ago
Pricey, if someone else pays. Ignore your patient and he'll go away
Routine cleaning was $105 and the office exam was $50. These seem in line with what I was used to. At the same visit I needed a crown re-glued to one of the bottom teeth. The tooth was clean and needed no prep. The cap was pretty clean, too. I had popped it back in a couple times and it fit fine. I was tempted to super glue it, as it happened on Friday evening. What he did: "cleaned" the cap, applied glue, pressed it in place, removed excess glue, flossed the tooth. NO needles, NO drills, NO special UV activated glue. "Done in no time" is almost an accurate description. The cost to me: $175, in addition to the $50 exam fee. It appears the office uses a "flat rate" fee schedule, like auto repair shops. His assistant delivered the paperwork to the receptionist and added, "and he re-glued a crown, #19." There was no consideration for the amount of time or the simplicity of my specific glue job. The receptionist typed in the code and there it was $175. Regular doctors use flat rate coding, too. The difference is that insurance is likely to pay the bill, so no one cares. Not so much for dentistry. I questioned the charge, and the doctor was with a patient. I waited two days and heard nothing. I called and the same receptionist told me that she had mentioned my complaint and he would not change the charge. So, like the expression, "Ignore your teeth and they'll go away," I'll add, "Ignore your patient and he'll go away, too." It's a shame. I liked him.
S
3 months ago
Best dentist and best staff in Charleston !
J
3 months ago
Best dental office all around!
My 93+ year old mother went for a cleaning. The Hygienist, Laura, was wonderful with her explaining everything she was going to do while making sure Mom was comfortable in every way. Laura was highly experienced and most professional, and extremely knowledgeable outside of what I consider to be within the constraints of her profession. We all in our family agree Dr. Alterman is the best dentist we have ever known, and how lucky we are! Dr. Alterman has a very engaging and compassionate personality. He has built a very fine practice with dedicated staff and state of the art equipment. In point of fact, most of his staff have been part of a long term team. Dr. Alterman goes above and beyond to ensure the well-being of his patients, up to and including calling home after a tricky procedure to see all is well with a patient. I feel harmony in his practice and team work at it's finest!
O
3 months ago
Needless to say, the dental work on my teeth yesterday was very painful. I am still having some light pain, but I'm sure it will go away soon. Dr. Alterman did a wonderful job as he always does, and I appreciate the patience he has with me. I am looking forward to the new crown on May 10.
K
3 months ago
The best dental practice in the city.