Anderson Floor Co Inc

Flooring Contractor

Milwaukee, WI 53220

Open Today 8:30AM - 5:00PM

milwaukeewoodflooringcompany.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

K
3 months ago
WWOW
They did an amazing job! Even though our original floors were from 1920 or so, uneven, there were a couple dips and slants naturally, they applied an extra coat to rectify the problem and the floors looked beautiful!
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
We are very happy to have been apart of restoring the beauty back into your 1920's wood floors! Thank you for inviting us into your home, we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to work with you and hope you will enjoy your beautiful wood floors for many years to come!
D
3 months ago
Not Worth The High Price
Where do I start? During the bid, Jill slandered her father in law at least three times. I didn’t receive confirmation of their start time, until it came in the mail the day before...Only to receive a text at 5:30AM to tell me they wouldn't be there at 8:30, but between 9:30-10:00. Good thing we had the day off of work. I wish I could post pictures! Walked in to my $1,000 floor refinish to unfinished stairs. Well, I guess risers are different from stairs (I didn’t know) — they swear I was informed of that, but I wasn’t. Called on Saturday to discuss the riser issue, was met with an accusation of “calling me all morning.” I called once at 9:30, no return call. But she talked to her “craftsman” who told me she was waiting me to call her. So I called again at 11:30 — that’s twice. Jill could’ve called me back. She was absolutely rude from word one! Jill said they “don’t put filler in nail holes because it just looks like a bunch of white spots.” Turns out some are filled, some are not. The “Atomic Dust Containment” system is supposed to be “dust free”, or at least 99% dust free — there’s dust everywhere! I’d stay away!
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
We are very sorry that Mr. Buchman's experience was not as he expected. But he did not read or fully understand his contract. He was given the written contract over 1 month prior to the start of work. Plenty of time to look it over and question its contents and details. The confusion came from the stairs and what was agreed to on our contract. The customer made assumptions about work that was not on the contract was to be done. He didn't even have time to go over the job with the crew on day 1, let them in and left. The crew was going by the contract so they didn't know to ask otherwise. This issue could have been cleared up on day 1, not on a final day when applying the last coat of finish. The customer also was not present any time during the work being done, his mother was left in charge. We also offered to do the stair risers a few times for our normal charge despite the fact that now that the treads are done, it makes sanding and finishing the risers very difficult and more time consuming because we are sanding up against finished surfaces rather than being done all at once. The first call came on a Saturday morning on a holiday weekend. I didn't return the call because I spoke with our son and he thought maybe it was just some confusion about stair parts when talking with the customers mother. I figured no big deal, he could handle that conversation. The second call came from the customer at 11:24 am. Since I was entertaining a house full of people from out-of-town, I didn't get to the phone right away. I saw who called again, called the crew for brief feedback and then I returned the second call. I was already well versed on what transpired from the crew before that call to the customer at 11:27 am per my phone records. I didn't need to rehash the details with the owner since things were already getting tense with the crew. It was during that phone conversation, when told that he was explained the difference of the various stair parts at the bid and they were not included in the contract, that we were then given an ultimatum, either do the additional work at no charge because this is what he assumed would be done or we would be getting negative reviews. I keep detailed notes on each bid written while at the customers house for accuracy during the bidding/contract process. I have been bidding for 30 years and do not profess to remember all the details of the jobs I visit because I average 15-20 bids a week. Thus I have to keep detailed notes. I have provided these notes to the customer indicating I was told that we were not doing stair risers, only stair treads. I fully understand that customers do not understand the difference of the components of the stair parts and why I have to discuss them at each bid where the customer is thinking of refinishing stairs. I then ask them which parts of the stairs to bid. Granted from my memory of our discussion was brief about the stairs and the decision was made right away to not bid the risers per my notes. The stairs were covered with old linoleum so we didn't even know if there was something to refinish under there anyways. So I can see how the customer may have forgotten that part of the bid, it was pretty brief, but I do remember the stair discussion. Everyone is different, some customers will have the risers done, some will paint them, some leave them alone. So I have to ask about them, there is no getting around it. Secondly, the customer was told when he scheduled the job that if we filled in our schedule the day before, the start time would change. I was able to fill in the week and yes, the owner should have been notified the day before. We dropped the ball on that and I texted him as soon as I realized our mistake. Thirdly, nail holes. The crew spent over 4 hours setting and filling literally hundreds of nail holes. Not all holes will hold the filler and if the machines keep sucking the filler out of the holes, we do not re-fill them. Our filler has to be applied at a critical part of the process to allow ample time to dry. If not dried, then it will "cloud" our stain and finishing products. So we do no keep filling the holes if the filler doesn't hold after the second round of sanding. A color putty can be used instead that you can get from any big box or hardware store. So yes there probably some holes left unfilled despite the attempts of the crew to fill them twice. Finally, stair work is all work by hand scraping and hand sanding. There is no dust containment used on stairs, so one will experience some dust with the hand work of stairs. It cannot be avoided. This is outlined in our contract. The customer originally gave us an outstanding review on facebook and then changed his review to a negative one. We receive a text each time a review is posted, so I have a trail of the first, positive, review and of the second, negative, review. So we are assuming that the work that we were contracted to do was satisfactory. I have offered in two different emails to view anything that he is not satisfied with on the job. We stand 100% behind our workmanship and will provide service to him if anything needs to be fixed despite what has transgressed between the parties.
B
3 months ago
Would never use anyone else
Anderson has done two projects at our house and both are fantastic. The finished results are perfect---really beautiful floors--and the process to get there is absolutely painless. Friendly workmen who arrive on time and finish the job on schedule. Very fair pricing. They truly are craftsmen, not only sanding and refinishing floors, but putting in beautiful framing around two fireplace hearths.
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
Thank you for the continued business. Anderson Floor Company tries to provide the utmost customer service to all of our customers. We are pleased to hear that you continue to be satisfied with our services. These types of projects can be a little intrusive and we try to do all we can to make our time in your home as less painful as possible. Scott has put a lot of his skills to use over the past 30 years with his custom designs and borders , and we are glad he was able to apply those skills in your home as well. Thank you for the opportunities!
A
3 months ago
Their Workmanship is Breathe Taking!!
We had nearly our entire first floor sanded, stained and finished. The worker's were beyond great and the final result is nothing short of magnificent!! I would HIGHLY recommend Anderson to anyone! They not only took about stains from the wood but recommended an amazing commercial grade matte finish. It as been a couple months and scratches just don't show!!
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
Arnold, we greatly appreciate the kind words! Each flooring project has its own characteristics and challenges, and we are very pleased to have been a part of restoring the beauty back into your wood floors. All recommendations/referrals are greatly appreciated, and we thank you for passing our name along to others. Thank you!
A
5 months ago
Refinishing services
We are very pleased with the refinishing services done. We had oak floors refinished in a hallway, dining room and living room. The floors were covered with carpet. When removing the carpet the floors looked in rough shape. Structurally they were fine, but required a good sanding and wood filler for surface nail holes. The floors look great now. The crew arrived on time and answered questions we had during the process. Jill answered many questions before services began and after. We have three more rooms that will require refinishing and will be contacting Anderson again when we are ready to begin those rooms.
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are very happy we could be apart of bringing the beauty back to your floors. We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again in the future.
M
5 months ago
Brought my beyond DIY floors back to life !
After peeling the tile up from my kitchen, I was horrified to see the state of the hardwood underneath. I thought, oh jeez, these cannot be salvaged. However, Anderson flooring worked their magic, and they're beyond my already lofty expectations! They did my whole house, and the floors look beautiful. They are professional and informative every step of the way. I highly recommend them; they are well worth the money.
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
Anderson Floor Company, Inc. has very high customer service standards, we are thrilled we were apart of restoring the beauty back into your floors. We appreciate the kind words and thank you for your business!
A
6 months ago
Beautiful floors!!!!!
I am selling my house and the wood floors needed to be refinished. Anderson Floor C. was recommended to me. They were prompt, polite,efficient from the very beginning from the quote to the the completion of the job. The floors look as beautiful as the day they were installed. Josh was able to tell me about the latest trends when refinishing the wood floors. Josh and Justin were great and did an absolutely beautiful job. I have recommended them to friends . Awesome work.!!
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
Thank you for your business. We appreciate your business. Our crews have all been with us for a number of years and customer service is important to us. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions on how to care for your floors.
W
7 months ago
Wow
That's what comes to mind. 100 year old maple floors turned out amazing. Thanks Josh, Justin, and the rest of the Anderson crew that worked on my place. Great Job!
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
Thank you Wally, we are glad you are pleased with the floors! They look amazing. We appreciate you allowing us into your home to work on your floors.
C
7 months ago
High quality, professional service
I have hired Anderson Floor Company on three separate occasions to do wood floor refinishing in our home. They have always been very timely, courteous, and proficient with their work. They pay attention to details and do very careful work. I trust them to do a great job! Our floors are beautiful.
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
Thank you for your continued business! We are very pleased to know that each encounter you have had with our company and crew has been a pleasure for you. We welcome any advice on how we can strive to provide the best customer service we can. I am very happy to hear that each of your experiences have been pleasurable. Enjoy your beautiful floors and please do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Thank you!
K
1 year ago
Outstanding craftsmanship
We used Anderson Floor Company in our former home when we hired them to add boards to the floor where an original wall once stood and refinish the kitchen floors. They did an excellent job, so naturally we contacted them again for a large job in our new home. Jill kindly answered all our questions when we called and met us at the home to take measurements for the estimate. She was very forthcoming with information and again answered all of our questions. We signed the contract. We replaced a large section of carpet with hardwood as well as a hallway and large office space. Scott is truly a remarkable craftsman.He pieced together all the floor boards to look like new. We discovered that we wanted to remove an extra cabinet and Scott was kind enough to put off laying the floors for a couple of days so we could get that done. Josh and Jason refinished the floors and showed exceptional patience as we debated over which stain color to use. In the end, we couldn't be more please with the result of our hardwood floors. Thank you, Anderson Floor Company!!!
Response from Anderson Floor Co Inc
You are welcome Kim and Mark! We appreciate the loyalty from our past customers such as yourselves. It also helps us display the consistency in quality in our services that Anderson Floor Company provides from year to year. Congratulations on the new house!