Apple In-Home Senior Services

Home Health Care Provider

916 5th Avenue

Suite 204

Huntington, WV 25701

National Provider Identifier: 1477927671
Closed Today Closed

huntingtonhomehealthcareservice.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
3 months ago
Good but could be better
I hired this company temporarily while my mother recovered from surgery.... they came highly recommended from the facility where mom had her surgery. And I actually found out later that same day that my cousin was using Apple Caregivers for her mother. I call and the person on the phone was nice and seemed knowledgeable. My only problem was that when we got our price quote it was about a dollar more per hour than what my cousin was paying. I didn't think that seemed fair. I had no hang ups with the service, I just don't like to taken advantage of either. I would use them again if they would drop their rates to what my cousin was paying.
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Jolita, first of all, I want to say "thank you" for taking the time to write this review and to give us your feedback on how we performed as a company. Your feedback is so important at so many different levels and I can't tell you how important that is to me! Now, let me address your issue and to why your service was $1.00 more per hour than your cousin's mother. We have 3 different levels of care here at Apple which are companionship level, personal care level, and 24/7 level. Our rates depend on what level of care your loved one requires. The cheapest level of care is our companionship level. At this level, we will sit with our clients and engage them in conversation, read them a book, watch tv with them, etc. There's not much "grunt-work" so to speak at this level. This was the level that your cousins mother was on. Our personal care level is usually our most expensive level because at this level we are giving our clients full baths, personal hygiene care, mobility assistance, and so much more. This is literally more of a "hands-on" type service with much more attention to the care that is given. This was the care level that your mother was on and hence the one dollar difference. Now here's the good news. We are mostly known by our "guaranteed lowest rates" promise that we make to our clients. This means you can always rest easy knowing that when you hired us, that you are saving at least $4 to $10 per hour! You get the best of both worlds - cheaper rates and better service! We want to earn your business in any way we can! I truly mean this..... if you ever need anything at all, call the office and ask for me personally. I will help you or your mother in any way that I can! Thanks again for your feedback and for your business! Be blessed! Dana Cornell/ President
L
3 months ago
Finally a professional company!
My name is Lori and my mother and father have been receiving home care services for almost three years now. We have been through 4 companies due to staffing issues - the caregivers would constantly arrive late and not show up at all and the home care company would not or could not find a replacement for that day. This put me in a huge bind because I would have to call off work to care for my parents myself when this happened. We went with Apple initially because of their lower rates. I'm happy to say that we haven't had one late or missed service. It feels good to finally find a company who knows how to Staff their clients properly. Thanks to Becky Morrison for doing such a great job!!! Thank you Apple In Home Senior Services for making my life and my parents lives so much easier!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Lori, thank you dearly for this positive review of our company. We take the staffing of our clients very serious. That is why we have perfected our processes and procedures to ensure that our caregivers arrive on time and to have a back-up plan for when a caregiver calls off at the last second. We require our caregivers to clock in to our automated tracking system from the clients phone. This way we can pin point what time our caregivers arrive at their job. They are trained to arrive ten minutes early. We also have staff that is on call daily for instances if the caregiver calls off at the last moment due to an emergency. This is how we are able to prevent missed services. We are looking forward to working with you and your parents for years to come! Dana Cornell/ President
M
6 months ago
West Virginia Medicaid Client!
My name is Michelle. We had contacted Apple Senior Care in Huntington, West Virginia about my father, Louie. My mother passed away years ago and my father's health has decreased significantly since then. My father is on medicaid and we were so pleased that Apple Senior Care was able to accept his medicaid card. My father's caregiver, Judy, tends to my fathers every need. She basically does everything my mother used for him such as cleaning the house, laundry, dishes, reminds him to take his medication, cooks, and so much more. She has spoiled him rotten. We all can tell a huge difference in his attitude towards life and also his health. I feel really special when the CEO of Apple calls me just to check in on my father. This tells me that Apple truly does care for their patients. Our lives are so much easier because of them!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Thanks so much, Michelle! And, yes, you're right! We really do care for our patients! We are so proud to be a certified West Virginia Aged and Disabled Waiver provider so that we are able to take care of patients like your father. I'm so glad that Louie has benefited and continues to benefit from our services! This excellent care doesn't occur just by "happen-stance". We have perfected our internal systems and processes which produce educated caregivers and very happy customers! Thanks again! Dana Cornell/ President
B
6 months ago
Fast and Quality Service!
I called this company on Thursday February 2nd, 2017 and spoke with Becky. Becky came to my house that very day to do the assessment for my grandmother. And the very next day we had our caregiver!!!! We called several companies before finally choosing one. It was Apple's cheaper rate and their friendliness and professionalism which is why we chose them. And when we met our caregiver, it just only solidified our satisfaction with our decision. Judy, my grandmas caregiver, is great! She treats my grandmother so good and she can cook just like a professional chef! When Dana (President of Apple) asked me to do this review, I was more than pleased to do it. Apple In Home Senior Services is the only company for us!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
I can't thank you enough for this wonderful review of our company, Mr. Christie! Your grandma is such a wonderful lady and I really admire the relationship you have with her. As a matter of fact, it was my "maw-maw" that inspired me to start Apple Caregivers! It is so important to know that the ones you love are in loving and caring hands at all times. Apple Caregivers was created for this very specific reason! So glad we could help your family! God bless! Dana Cornell/ President
D
8 months ago
Totally Blown Away
My mother had stage 4 lung cancer. Hospice recommended Apple Caregivers to us to help care for mom during her last days. Becky, case manager of Apple, came to our house to do the assessment for mom and the next day we met our caregiver, Stacy. Stacy immediately became part of our family. She took care of my mother unlike any care I have ever seen. Not only did she provide professional care but she also became a very special companion to my mother. It was so nice to see Stacy just hold my mothers hand and talk for hours. Stacy's patience, compassion, and caregiving skills was far above than any care my mother had received up to that point. Stacy would even come in on her off days to check on mom and see if she needed anything. Stacy was with my mother up to her very last day and was there in the room grieving with us as mother passed on. My mother was blessed to have this special relationship during last days and Stacy and Apple Caregivers made this process as comfortable for all of us as possible. I can't really express in words my satisfaction with this company. They made a HUGE difference in my family's life and I will forever be grateful for that. You just don't find companies like this anymore. Hiring Apple Caregivers was by far the best decision we made pertaining to my mother's care. Thank you Apple, from the bottom of my heart!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Mrs. Spencer, what a powerful review and testimony! I couldn't help but to tear up as I read your words. Your mother was such a special woman and we are the ones who are blessed to have met and taken care of her. It was truly an honor to provide end-of-life care for your mother. Our mission in this matter is to provide our loved ones with the utmost compassion and to tend to their every need and make their last days here the most comfortable and gratifying as possible. Our caregivers realize the sensitivity and importance of this role and it really satisfies my heart when I see it play out. Mrs. White had a beautiful funeral and we will never forget that beautiful smile and that loud laugh that she had!!! If you ever need anything at all, Mrs. Spencer, don't hesitate to call. God bless you and your family! Dana Cornell/ President
T
9 months ago
Wow! That's all I can say!
My mother is 90 years old. Her health is failing which has made her house bound for the last year or so. I am her only child however I live in California. My mother absolutely has noone in the area to help her. All of the family has either passed away or live out of town. I worry about my mother every minute of the day. She doesn't have the money to go into an assisted living facility. We called Apple at the beginning of November. Apple comes in 3 days a week to help mom. Melissa (her caregiver) cleans the house, helps her pay her bills, takes her doctor appointments, organizes and remind her to take her meds, and SO much more. I also have Becky (direct of Apple) that I can call on the off days with mom whether to check in on her or just to make sure she is safe. I can't tel you the relief this has taken off of me. I can finally breathe now. Thanksgiving day was an off day for Melissa (moms caregiver) and I really felt bad for mom because she was all alone. The owner of Apple (Dana Cornell) came to my mothers house and picked her up and drove her back to his house and my mom had dinner with Dana's wonderful family. Now how is that for compassion and service? I was totally blown away that a company can have that much care, warmth, and compassion for their clients. As far as I'm concerned, Apple Caregivers is THE company when it comes to in home senior care. Thank you Apple for what you have done for me and my mother!!!!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Toni, thank you for this nice post! Your mother is a beautiful woman inside and out. It was a pleasure to have her and her dog, Checkers, at my house for Thanksgiving. We had a wonderful time listening to her old stories from when she was younger. And boy does she like Pumpkin Pie!!!! Please try to rest easy in California knowing that your mother is in good hands with us here at Apple Caregivers. Sincerely, Dana Cornell - President
P
10 months ago
Caring and Compassionate Staff
We saw Apple Caregiver's commercial on TV and decided to give them a call. My sister and I are in charge of our mother's estate and we were in desperate need of finding a caregiver for our mother who has been diagnosed with dementia. We had a home care company when we initially called Apple but we were totally not happy with their service and thought that their pricing was high. After getting a price quote we thought we would give this company a try. (by the way, Apple's price quote was almost $8.00 per hour cheaper than the prior home care company!) Becky (Apple's director) did a fabulous job with matching the personality of our mother with the perfect caregiver, Whitney! We couldn't be happier with Whitney and Apple Caregivers. Whitney is so good to our mother and our mother really has grown to love Whitney. We are family of Christians and believes that Apple Caregivers was an answered prayer for our mother. Thank you Apple Caregivers for being there when we needed you the most!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
What a nice post! Your words are a testament as to why we work passionately each day with our seniors. We have many clients who feel the same as you, Patricia. We are truly there in a time of need and this is why we're number one in our market. Thank you for your kind words and may you continue to receive God's blessings.
H
10 months ago
Unbeleivable Customer Service
I am 74 years old and I can't drive no more due to my vision problems. I needed someone to take me to my doctor appointments, grocery store, and any other errands that done. The person who was driving me suddenly moved out of state and I needed immediate help. I called Apple Caregivers and Becky came to my house the same day I called! I was blown away at this. I had a caregiver at my house the very next day to take me to a doctors appointment. You just don't see this type of customer service anymore! I would happily recommend to anyone needing a little help!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Harry, thank you for your compliments. I have heard time and time again from our clients that our customer service is top-notch. In a world where great customer service seems to be a thing of the past, Apple In Home Senior Services strives to deliver a fabulous, unique experience with each and everyone of our clients. We have three Customer Service Components (CSC) that enables us to do this; 1. Sense of Urgency; 2. The customer is always "right", and; 3. Proactive Initiatives. We require our caregivers to complete our CSC training course upon hiring and then provide a refreshers course a couple times a year, thus, the great customer service you experienced! Thanks again, Harry, for your business! God bless!
W
10 months ago
Happy in Huntington
I live in Huntington, West Virginia. I hired Apple Caregivers after I saw their commercial on tv. The first person I spoke with was Becky. She was so polite and knowledgeable. Becky came to my house to perform my assessment and to do a plan of care for me. Becky and I decided that I needed personal care for 25 hours per week; 5 hours a day , Monday thru Friday. I wanted to start services ASAP so the very next day my my personal caregiver, Alisha, showed up. What a peach! Alisha has pampered me since day one. She takes such good care of me and I would truly be lost without her. My birthday was October 10th and Alisha surprised me with a birthday cake and some flowers. She really does make my days brighter. Hope she stays with Apple for a very long time! Thank you Apple In Home Senior Services!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Wanda, it was so nice to read this positive review of our company, Apple In Home Senior Services. I'm so happy that you love your caregiver, Alisha. Becky Morrison, our director, does a fabulous job of matching the personalities of our caregivers with the personality of our clients. In a sense, she's the ultimate "home care matchmaker"! I'm also pleased that you recognized our "sense of urgency" which is a very important component of our quality assurance program here at Apple. God bless!
V
10 months ago
An Awesome Part-Time Job!
Apple Senior Services provides a pleasant and professional experience for seniors in need. With the variety of services offered many seniors can expect a positive attitude toward all their needs being met. No stone is left unturned. This office hires only the best caregivers in the business! I feel that I am privileged to have been given the opportunity to work here! The rate of pay is good and the caregiver-logs are efficient.One day I was asked by the owner who is fully involved with the business to fill in. I was a great fit for the couple in need! My background gave me exactly what they needed in a caregiver! They needed more than just help with transportation. They needed someone to help them with scheduling and reviewing doctor visits. My boss is fabulous at matching his clients to his employees. In my opinion, this is the primary key to a successful career in the people business. I never imagined that after retirement I would be working with the elderly. I love this job and I am proud to be an employee of Apple Senior Services!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Virginia, thank you for this nice review of our company. You have been such a pleasure to work with and have proven to be a very valuable asset here at Apple Caregivers. By having "meticulous hiring" processes here at Apple, allows us to find and hire the most knowledgeable and most qualified applicants. The management team here at Apple tries hard to create a positive, upbeat, and Christ-centered atmosphere which tends to create happy employees. And experience has taught us that happy employees usually means highly efficient and highly productive caregivers! I look forward to working with you for years to come!