Apple In-Home Senior Services

Home Health Care Provider

916 5th Avenue

Suite 204

Huntington, WV 25701

National Provider Identifier: 1477927671
Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

huntingtonhomehealthcareservice.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
3 months ago
The best and most affordable!
Dana and his team are the best! I wouldn’t want any other company taking care of my mother! Thank you Apple!
G
5 months ago
Professional and flexible company!
I needed a caregiver for my father. But I needed someone who had certain characteristics and availability of they wouldn't be a good fit for my father. I needed someone who was a male. For two reasons. One because my father wanted the companionship of a man so he could talk sports, and hunting and manly stuff with. The other reason is because my father is a very heavy man and would need someone very strong to lift him should he fall. I needed a non smoker which is hard to find in this town. Lol. I needed someone who had the availability to come in at 3:00am and leave at 7:00am. My father is a early riser. He wakes up At 3am each day. He needed a caregiver to help feed him and bath and help around the house. Initially I put an ad up to find some a private caregiver. I didn't have any luck whatsoever. All the men that applied didn't seem like they would be a good fit for my dad. Then I called all the local home care companies. They all said they could find me someone but would call me back. I needed someone NOW! I finally called Apple and spoke with Becky. She came out that day to do the assessment and that night my caregiver arrived, Tom! Tom is good looking, young brute! Him and my father hit it off on day one! I was so amazed that this company found someone that met my crazy criteria so fast!!!! I'm so pleased with Tom and this company. I would reccomend them to anyone who is looking for a caregiver. You can't beat their price or the customer service!
D
8 months ago
Finally, a company that cares!!!
I normally don't write reviews but I was so blown away at an incident that happened, that I had to let everyone know. Apple has taken care of my husband for almost 2 years. We have had the same caregiver, Nancy for the entire time and she is just like a daughter to me. I told Nancy to take the day off for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day as she has 2 little boys at home. Christmas Eve morning my husband had caught a bad cold. He really needed to go to the hospital. But I had already committed myself for cooking for my whole family (2 daughters and son and their spouses and kids) which was around 20 people. That morning, out of the blue, Nancy called just to see how Tom, my husband, was doing. I told her of the situation. She abruptly ended our conversation and was at my house in less then 15 minutes to get my husband to take him to the hospital so I could stay and cook. She brought him back later that night and put him to bed and she finally left after he was fast asleep. Nancy allowed me to have one of the best Christmas's I have ever had. It was so good to cook and to spend quality time with my kids and grandkids who live out of state. We all had the best time. The next morning my husband woke up feeling a lot better and he was able to spend quality time with the kids and grandkids as well. Nancy's selfless and giving nature made this day possible and she took away precious time from her family to help mine. I am so happy I found Apple Caregivers and Nancy. They're the only company for us!
D
12 months ago
Special type of company!
Dear Becky, Thank you for your company's excellent care of my wife Sandy during her final days. I couldn't be more pleased. Both Vernice and Sally were wonderful to her - and to me. Sally was especially caring as she held my wife's hand when she passed away. And she was a great comfort to me personally. Should they or your company need a reference, please don't hesitate to use me. Most Sincerely, Don Hatfield
J
1 year ago
Good but could be better
I hired this company temporarily while my mother recovered from surgery.... they came highly recommended from the facility where mom had her surgery. And I actually found out later that same day that my cousin was using Apple Caregivers for her mother. I call and the person on the phone was nice and seemed knowledgeable. My only problem was that when we got our price quote it was about a dollar more per hour than what my cousin was paying. I didn't think that seemed fair. I had no hang ups with the service, I just don't like to taken advantage of either. I would use them again if they would drop their rates to what my cousin was paying.
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Jolita, first of all, I want to say "thank you" for taking the time to write this review and to give us your feedback on how we performed as a company. Your feedback is so important at so many different levels and I can't tell you how important that is to me! Now, let me address your issue and to why your service was $1.00 more per hour than your cousin's mother. We have 3 different levels of care here at Apple which are companionship level, personal care level, and 24/7 level. Our rates depend on what level of care your loved one requires. The cheapest level of care is our companionship level. At this level, we will sit with our clients and engage them in conversation, read them a book, watch tv with them, etc. There's not much "grunt-work" so to speak at this level. This was the level that your cousins mother was on. Our personal care level is usually our most expensive level because at this level we are giving our clients full baths, personal hygiene care, mobility assistance, and so much more. This is literally more of a "hands-on" type service with much more attention to the care that is given. This was the care level that your mother was on and hence the one dollar difference. Now here's the good news. We are mostly known by our "guaranteed lowest rates" promise that we make to our clients. This means you can always rest easy knowing that when you hired us, that you are saving at least $4 to $10 per hour! You get the best of both worlds - cheaper rates and better service! We want to earn your business in any way we can! I truly mean this..... if you ever need anything at all, call the office and ask for me personally. I will help you or your mother in any way that I can! Thanks again for your feedback and for your business! Be blessed! Dana Cornell/ President
L
1 year ago
Finally a professional company!
My name is Lori and my mother and father have been receiving home care services for almost three years now. We have been through 4 companies due to staffing issues - the caregivers would constantly arrive late and not show up at all and the home care company would not or could not find a replacement for that day. This put me in a huge bind because I would have to call off work to care for my parents myself when this happened. We went with Apple initially because of their lower rates. I'm happy to say that we haven't had one late or missed service. It feels good to finally find a company who knows how to Staff their clients properly. Thanks to Becky Morrison for doing such a great job!!! Thank you Apple In Home Senior Services for making my life and my parents lives so much easier!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Lori, thank you dearly for this positive review of our company. We take the staffing of our clients very serious. That is why we have perfected our processes and procedures to ensure that our caregivers arrive on time and to have a back-up plan for when a caregiver calls off at the last second. We require our caregivers to clock in to our automated tracking system from the clients phone. This way we can pin point what time our caregivers arrive at their job. They are trained to arrive ten minutes early. We also have staff that is on call daily for instances if the caregiver calls off at the last moment due to an emergency. This is how we are able to prevent missed services. We are looking forward to working with you and your parents for years to come! Dana Cornell/ President
M
2 years ago
West Virginia Medicaid Client!
My name is Michelle. We had contacted Apple Senior Care in Huntington, West Virginia about my father, Louie. My mother passed away years ago and my father's health has decreased significantly since then. My father is on medicaid and we were so pleased that Apple Senior Care was able to accept his medicaid card. My father's caregiver, Judy, tends to my fathers every need. She basically does everything my mother used for him such as cleaning the house, laundry, dishes, reminds him to take his medication, cooks, and so much more. She has spoiled him rotten. We all can tell a huge difference in his attitude towards life and also his health. I feel really special when the CEO of Apple calls me just to check in on my father. This tells me that Apple truly does care for their patients. Our lives are so much easier because of them!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Thanks so much, Michelle! And, yes, you're right! We really do care for our patients! We are so proud to be a certified West Virginia Aged and Disabled Waiver provider so that we are able to take care of patients like your father. I'm so glad that Louie has benefited and continues to benefit from our services! This excellent care doesn't occur just by "happen-stance". We have perfected our internal systems and processes which produce educated caregivers and very happy customers! Thanks again! Dana Cornell/ President
B
2 years ago
Fast and Quality Service!
I called this company on Thursday February 2nd, 2017 and spoke with Becky. Becky came to my house that very day to do the assessment for my grandmother. And the very next day we had our caregiver!!!! We called several companies before finally choosing one. It was Apple's cheaper rate and their friendliness and professionalism which is why we chose them. And when we met our caregiver, it just only solidified our satisfaction with our decision. Judy, my grandmas caregiver, is great! She treats my grandmother so good and she can cook just like a professional chef! When Dana (President of Apple) asked me to do this review, I was more than pleased to do it. Apple In Home Senior Services is the only company for us!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
I can't thank you enough for this wonderful review of our company, Mr. Christie! Your grandma is such a wonderful lady and I really admire the relationship you have with her. As a matter of fact, it was my "maw-maw" that inspired me to start Apple Caregivers! It is so important to know that the ones you love are in loving and caring hands at all times. Apple Caregivers was created for this very specific reason! So glad we could help your family! God bless! Dana Cornell/ President
D
2 years ago
Totally Blown Away
My mother had stage 4 lung cancer. Hospice recommended Apple Caregivers to us to help care for mom during her last days. Becky, case manager of Apple, came to our house to do the assessment for mom and the next day we met our caregiver, Stacy. Stacy immediately became part of our family. She took care of my mother unlike any care I have ever seen. Not only did she provide professional care but she also became a very special companion to my mother. It was so nice to see Stacy just hold my mothers hand and talk for hours. Stacy's patience, compassion, and caregiving skills was far above than any care my mother had received up to that point. Stacy would even come in on her off days to check on mom and see if she needed anything. Stacy was with my mother up to her very last day and was there in the room grieving with us as mother passed on. My mother was blessed to have this special relationship during last days and Stacy and Apple Caregivers made this process as comfortable for all of us as possible. I can't really express in words my satisfaction with this company. They made a HUGE difference in my family's life and I will forever be grateful for that. You just don't find companies like this anymore. Hiring Apple Caregivers was by far the best decision we made pertaining to my mother's care. Thank you Apple, from the bottom of my heart!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Mrs. Spencer, what a powerful review and testimony! I couldn't help but to tear up as I read your words. Your mother was such a special woman and we are the ones who are blessed to have met and taken care of her. It was truly an honor to provide end-of-life care for your mother. Our mission in this matter is to provide our loved ones with the utmost compassion and to tend to their every need and make their last days here the most comfortable and gratifying as possible. Our caregivers realize the sensitivity and importance of this role and it really satisfies my heart when I see it play out. Mrs. White had a beautiful funeral and we will never forget that beautiful smile and that loud laugh that she had!!! If you ever need anything at all, Mrs. Spencer, don't hesitate to call. God bless you and your family! Dana Cornell/ President
T
2 years ago
Wow! That's all I can say!
My mother is 90 years old. Her health is failing which has made her house bound for the last year or so. I am her only child however I live in California. My mother absolutely has noone in the area to help her. All of the family has either passed away or live out of town. I worry about my mother every minute of the day. She doesn't have the money to go into an assisted living facility. We called Apple at the beginning of November. Apple comes in 3 days a week to help mom. Melissa (her caregiver) cleans the house, helps her pay her bills, takes her doctor appointments, organizes and remind her to take her meds, and SO much more. I also have Becky (direct of Apple) that I can call on the off days with mom whether to check in on her or just to make sure she is safe. I can't tel you the relief this has taken off of me. I can finally breathe now. Thanksgiving day was an off day for Melissa (moms caregiver) and I really felt bad for mom because she was all alone. The owner of Apple (Dana Cornell) came to my mothers house and picked her up and drove her back to his house and my mom had dinner with Dana's wonderful family. Now how is that for compassion and service? I was totally blown away that a company can have that much care, warmth, and compassion for their clients. As far as I'm concerned, Apple Caregivers is THE company when it comes to in home senior care. Thank you Apple for what you have done for me and my mother!!!!
Response from Apple In-Home Senior Services
Toni, thank you for this nice post! Your mother is a beautiful woman inside and out. It was a pleasure to have her and her dog, Checkers, at my house for Thanksgiving. We had a wonderful time listening to her old stories from when she was younger. And boy does she like Pumpkin Pie!!!! Please try to rest easy in California knowing that your mother is in good hands with us here at Apple Caregivers. Sincerely, Dana Cornell - President