Battle Tactics Academy

Self Defense and Martial Arts Course

2422 Freedom Drive

San Antonio, TX 78217

Open Today By Appointment

sanantonioselfdefenseschool.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
2 months ago
No better place
I've put off writing this review because I knew nothing I could say would do justice to this team, the coaches, the environment or the impact they have had on me. Whether you're a combat athlete or completely new to any kind of martial arts, you will find the highest level of instruction and a team who will not only rally around you but share in your growth. As a female, I could not feel more welcome or safe. The other female athletes are supportive and relish in each other's successes. The male athletes respect me and my body. They push me to get better and never "take it easy" but they do take care to use technique rather than brute strength in sparing. I could not imagine a better environment to train and grow. I have had a couple opportunities to visit other facilities while traveling. They have always been welcoming and kind but the experience has always left reassured that there's no place like home. There is something truly special at Battle Tactics Academy and I am so fortunate to be a part of it.
S
8 months ago
Welcoming, Knowledgeable, Challenging, Fun!
As a woman, even though I am an officer in the Air Force, I was nervous to walk into a jiu jitsu, Muay Thai, MMA, and boxing gym as my experience was very minimal. This was a new environment for me and I did not know what to expect. I wanted to learn a new skill and have fun continuing my fitness journey so I took that first step inside. I hadn't even been in the building for 30 seconds before one of the pro fighters came over and welcomed me and helped me get acquainted with how things worked at BTA. I had no idea the skill of this fighter as he was humble and showed no ego - all he cared about was making me feel like this was a good place to be. He exemplified the characteristics of some of the best Air Force leaders I've worked with. I came to learn that the whole staff at BTA has these character traits: humble, credible, and approachable. Every single person who is a dedicated member works hard not only at their own craft, but the craft of others on the mat. It's more than a team atmosphere at BTA, it's a family. I 100% recommend this gym for anyone of any gender/age. The instructors, fight team, and upper belts are all humble, credible, and approachable. I am so thankful I walked in a several months ago and look forward to continuing my training throughout my life! Thank you, BTA, for fostering a new passion for me.
R
1 year ago
Top of the Line
This is an amazing school that I'm proud to be apart of. Their instructors are the finest fighters in Texas and proof is in the results! The school can easily boast many undefeated ammy fighters as well as champion pros, Naga/grappling monsters, and a loyal student base. Without a doubt the best damn MMA school in San Antonio if not all of Texas!
E
1 year ago
Family Feeling
When you walk into BTA, if you are new, you are welcomed with open arms. The owner and students are extremely friendly and always willing to answer questions or help. Very clean and nice looking gym. I am proud to say i am affiliated with this gym.
T
1 year ago
Extremely knowledgeable staff.
As soon as you walk in the door you are treated with respect and kindness. The first class I took was the MMA class and while the main instructor was helping another student, a BTA fighter, who had already finished up for the night and was dressed in street clothes, took the time to take off his shoes and walk over to me on the mat and help correct my technique. He did it with zero ego and with the sole purpose of trying to help me learn. This was the ultimate selling point for me. There is definitely a family feel to this gym and they make you feel like family while your training with them. I will never train anywhere else, this is my gym.
A
1 year ago
Knowledge is better than strength alone.
Knowledge is better than strength alone.for without knowledge how would you know how to use your strength.- man there's a lot to learn I like that there's a lot of technique to it,I like the unity the ambiance and that there's motivation I like that the first day I started I could tell that this place was friendly and that everyone learned from each other.i saw no opposition but unity. i like it.👌😊
C
1 year ago
Top notch instruction and people
Without a doubt, BTA is the best Jiu Jitsu gym I have ever trained at. Respect is clearly noticeable from the top down and the the bottom up. Ego is left at the door and classes are full of people wanting to learn and help others learn. I absolutely recommend BTA to anyone looking to get started or for those looking to expand their game in a solid program.
F
1 year ago
Best place in town.
I have travelled the world training & there is now place out there that compares to the people, instructors & classes you get when you come to BTA. Always evolving & improving. On & off the mats.
J
1 year ago
An amazing gym, with amazing staff.
Battle tactics is an amazing gym, the staff is great, the team is great, everyone there is amazingly humble. When class is on not only does the instructor radiate positivity and passion, but so do the students, you really feel like you have a gym you can call family. I practice bjj there, no matter who's teaching the class is always informative and a great work out, Jamie Miller, and Greg Reid, have a true passion for helping you grow no matter what your martial arts goals are. The gym is clean, the times for classes are great too. I wouldn't trade it for the world!
A
1 year ago
BTA Exceeds the ordinary gym
Highly recommend this gym! Great owner, instructors and members. Definitely a family friendly environment. I'm impressed each class with the knowledge and technique taught.