Brandywine Pediatric Dentistry P.A.

Dentist

2000 Foulk Rd Ste C

Wilmington, DE 19810

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
3 weeks ago
Dr. Jill Garrido is now the practicing dentist at Brandywine Pediatric Dentistry, P.A.
Dr. Jill is excited to announce that she has opened her new practice. Dr. Jill and her team are kind, considerate and compassionate and provide the very best dental care. All reviews prior to April 2019 are for a dentist who is not associated with Dr. Jill and Brandywine Pediatric Dentistry. Please ignore these reviews as they do not reflect how your child will be treated by Dr. Jill Garrido. The review by Carol L. is the way you can expect to be treated by Dr. Jill and her entire team. They are all professional, caring and AWESOME!
C
2 months ago
I visited this dentist on 2 separate occasions and I had an awesome experiences here. My granddaughter is 8 yrs and Autistic and they were very patient with her and not only that she was able to FINALLY get her teeth cleaned they played with her and understood her disability and were extremely great..when we were done granddaughter didn't want to leave a worker assisted me getting granddaughter to car I've never had service like that Ever. Thank you all so much.. Dealing with Autistic children are difficult and you all were AWESOME. I thank you from the bottom of my heart...
E
6 months ago
Impatient and rude to the children, parents, and staff
English Version: George Derenzo should NOT be working with children yet runs a pediatric dentistry! At our first visit he criticized my parenting. At our second visit for my son's first procedure, by the grace of God, we were seen by his associate for my son's 1st tooth extraction and crown. She was amazing and his recovery was immediate. Unfortunately, she only works Mondays and at our third visit, Dr. Derenzo yelled at my son, was impatient and rude. He said, to my son and I quote, "You aren't going to keep asking me questions about what I am going to do and if it will hurt. You're tooth hurts right, well I am going to fix it!" and when my son said that hurts, his response was "What hurts? I'm not even touching you. You need to stop moving and stop talking" Please note, the procedure started at am and he did not finish until 11:30 a.m. Adults have a hard time getting fillings or extractions, imagine a 6 year old who is being yelled at in a stern tone of voice during the entire procedure! At the dentist's first break, I told him perhaps he needed to be more patient, less rude, and that his associate was better at dealing with children, and I would make future appointments with his associate if he continued to treat my child in this manner. His response was "I think that is an excellent idea" while he walked away from me. At no time did he apologize or acknowledge his actions. He is also extremely rude to his staff. The dental assistant was nice and patient, yet the Dr. Derenzo yelled at her several times during the procedure in an insulting and demeaning manner. When we finished my son cried and was so upset partly because he was in pain but mostly because the dentist was yelling at him. It's been more than 24 hours since his procedure, his mouth is still extremely swollen and my son can hardly eat. When his associate completed the first procedure none of this occurred and we are all amazed at how well a 6 year old had done during such a painful procedure. Perhaps it is time from Dr. Derenzo to retire as a pediatric dentist. He does not have the patience to deal with his adult staff yet alone children, imagine how he is treating his patients who are all minors, and from what I have seen are mainly within the ages of 4 - 8 years old, if he disrespects his team in front of patients. I do NOT recommend this dentistry to anyone and if I could post the review with ZERO stars I would have! My review will be in English & Spanish as I note a lot of Hispanic patients come to this practice and the parents allow their children to enter alone without realizing how Dr. Derenzo down talks the children, his patients, and his team.
E
6 months ago
Impaciente y grosero con los ninos, padres y su equipo.
Versión en espanol: ¡George Derenzo NO debe trabajar con niños, sin embargo tiene una odontología pediátrica! En nuestra primera visita, me criticó como madre. En nuestra segunda visita para el primer procedimiento de mi hijo, por la gracia de Dios, nos atendio su asociada para la primera extracción y corona de mi hijo. Ella fue increíble y la recuperación de mi hijo fue inmediata. Desafortunadamente, ella solo trabaja los lunes y en nuestra tercera visita, el Dr. Derenzo le gritó a mi hijo y fue muy impaciente y grosero. Le dijo a mi hijo, y yo cito: "No vas a seguir haciéndome preguntas sobre lo que voy a hacer y si te va a doler lo que hago. Te duele un diente?, ¡lo arreglaré!" y cuando mi hijo dijo que le dolía algo, su respuesta fue "¿Qué duele? Ni siquiera te estoy tocando. Debes dejar de moverte y dejar de hablar". Ten en cuenta que el procedimiento comenzó a las 9 de la mañana y no terminó hasta las 11:30 de la mañana. A nosotros los adultos nos molesta y nos duele los rellenos o extracciones, ¡imagínese a un niño de 6 años a quien le gritan en tono severo durante todo el procedimiento! En la primera interrupción del dentista, le dije que tal vez necesitaba ser más paciente, menos grosero y que su compañera es mejor preparada para tratar los niños, y haría citas futuras con su compañero si continuaba tratando a mi hijo de esta manera. Su respuesta fue "Creo que es una idea excelente" mientras se alejaba de mí, ni me miro en la cara. En ningún momento se disculpó, ni reconoció sus acciones. También es extremadamente grosero con su personal. El asistente dental fue amable y paciente, pero el Dr. Derenzo le gritó varias veces durante el procedimiento de una manera insultante y humillante. Cuando terminamos, mi hijo lloró y estaba muy molesto en parte por el dolor de muela, pero sobre todo porque el dentista le estaba gritando. Han pasado más de 24 horas desde su procedimiento, su boca todavía está extremadamente inflamada y mi hijo apenas puede comer. Cuando su asociada completó el primer procedimiento, no ocurrió esto y todos estabamos sorprendidos de lo bien que había hecho un niño de 6 años durante un procedimiento tan doloroso. Tal vez es tiempo de que el Dr. Derenzo se retire como dentista pediátrico. Él no tiene la paciencia para lidiar con su personal adulto y, imaginense cómo está tratando a sus hijos, los pacientes menores de edad. NO recomiendo esta odontología a nadie y si pudiera publicar la revisión con CERO estrellas, ¡lo haría! Mi revisión será en inglés y español, soy hispania y observe que muchos pacientes hispanos vienen a esta práctica y permiten que sus hijos entren solos con el dentista sin darse cuenta de la manera que el Dr. Derenzo habla con los niños (TUS HIJOS) sus pacientes y su equipo.
E
6 months ago
Impaciente y grosero con los ninos, padres y su equipo.
Versión en espanol: ¡George Derenzo NO debe trabajar con niños, sin embargo tiene una odontología pediátrica! En nuestra primera visita, me criticó como madre. En nuestra segunda visita para el primer procedimiento de mi hijo, por la gracia de Dios, nos atendio su asociada para la primera extracción y corona de mi hijo. Ella fue increíble y la recuperación de mi hijo fue inmediata. Desafortunadamente, ella solo trabaja los lunes y en nuestra tercera visita, el Dr. Derenzo le gritó a mi hijo y fue muy impaciente y grosero. Le dijo a mi hijo, y yo cito: "No vas a seguir haciéndome preguntas sobre lo que voy a hacer y si te va a doler lo que hago. Te duele un diente?, ¡lo arreglaré!" y cuando mi hijo dijo que le dolía algo, su respuesta fue "¿Qué duele? Ni siquiera te estoy tocando. Debes dejar de moverte y dejar de hablar". Ten en cuenta que el procedimiento comenzó a las 9 de la mañana y no terminó hasta las 11:30 de la mañana. A nosotros los adultos nos molesta y nos duele los rellenos o extracciones, ¡imagínese a un niño de 6 años a quien le gritan en tono severo durante todo el procedimiento! En la primera interrupción del dentista, le dije que tal vez necesitaba ser más paciente, menos grosero y que su compañera es mejor preparada para tratar los niños, y haría citas futuras con su compañero si continuaba tratando a mi hijo de esta manera. Su respuesta fue "Creo que es una idea excelente" mientras se alejaba de mí, ni me miro en la cara. En ningún momento se disculpó, ni reconoció sus acciones. También es extremadamente grosero con su personal. El asistente dental fue amable y paciente, pero el Dr. Derenzo le gritó varias veces durante el procedimiento de una manera insultante y humillante. Cuando terminamos, mi hijo lloró y estaba muy molesto en parte por el dolor de muela, pero sobre todo porque el dentista le estaba gritando. Han pasado más de 24 horas desde su procedimiento, su boca todavía está extremadamente inflamada y mi hijo apenas puede comer. Cuando su asociada completó el primer procedimiento, no ocurrió esto y todos estabamos sorprendidos de lo bien que había hecho un niño de 6 años durante un procedimiento tan doloroso. Tal vez es tiempo de que el Dr. Derenzo se retire como dentista pediátrico. Él no tiene la paciencia para lidiar con su personal adulto y, imaginense cómo está tratando a sus hijos, los pacientes menores de edad. NO recomiendo esta odontología a nadie y si pudiera publicar la revisión con CERO estrellas, ¡lo haría! Mi revisión será en inglés y español, soy hispania y observe que muchos pacientes hispanos vienen a esta práctica y permiten que sus hijos entren solos con el dentista sin darse cuenta de la manera que el Dr. Derenzo habla con los niños (TUS HIJOS) sus pacientes y su equipo.
C
7 months ago
Worst ever! Never treated worse - Continued
My response to Dr. Derenzo: My son has had successful dentist visits in the past but our dentist is patient with him. A simple explanation would have easd his mind. He's 7 and doesn't understand how the instruments are used. He was sent to your office because for the number of cavities he has to be filled at once. Dr. Derenzo had NO patience and it shouldn't matter if i told you he's had teeth pulled. I don't appreciate the abrupt ending of the appointment WITH NO EXPLANATION! All he told me was, "I'm not taking the case. Find another dentist." And he left!
C
7 months ago
Worst ever! Never treated worse
I took my 7 year old son to visit George Derenzo, DDS today after waiting three weeks for an appointment. My son is afraid of the dentist because he's had to have a couple of teeth pulled. When the dentist went to exam Chance, he put his hands up to ask him what was he doing? The dentist immediately said, 'I'm not taking this case. I'm not doing this'. And asked us to leave. He was totally unprofessional. Once I complained, and called him an ass he threatened to call 911. I told him to go right ahead and I'll be right there when they came. His staff must be used to it because not only didn't they call but acted like they understood his behavior. When we got back into the car, Chance asked if he did anything wrong. I told him no! It's ok to be afraid. If you have a question, ask it. He also asked why they were calling the police. I told them because they didn't like what I said.
Response from Brandywine Pediatric Dentistry P.A.
We try very hard to accommodate all the patients that are referred to our office because children are afraid to go to the dentist. After you left I asked the ladies in the back what had happened, you need to hear all sides, I was not in the back to exactly know what happened. They did say that your son was very much afraid and that Dr. D looked at the x-rays provided by the referring dentist and he dictated to the assistant what he was able to see on them. You never said that your son had teeth pulled and you also questioned if Chance needed care because they were (only) baby teeth. When he went to do the exam using an explorer (instrument to check for any sticky areas which would be decay) apparently your son reached for the instrument and was resisting having the examination. It is very important that all children do not reach for or grab our instruments because 1- they will hurt themselves or 2- hurt someone around them. I believe this is the main reason that your regular dentist sent him to us. He was not cooperative with them and so they sent him here. Dr. Derenzo said "he was not interested in treating this case and suggested to you have the treatment done elsewhere". Dr. Derenzo said to call 91 if you refused to leave the office. We did not call the police because it was a situation (shouting match) and that was all it was. Also, we did not like the way you used foul language in our office and especially in front of small children and in front of your son. That was uncalled for. We hope you find a dentist that can take care of your son the way YOU would like and he not be afraid.
E
1 year ago
high quality staff
Great staff treating my girls
C
1 year ago
Friendly, courteous staff
C
1 year ago
They are Family!
I love Dr. Derenzo and his team! As soon as we walk in, whomever is seating at the receptionist desk is ALWAYS kind and professional. The greet the boys by their names and always remark about something good, or how much they have missed them. Truly, it’s like a family there! My boys have being going to Dr. Derenzo for over 10 years, and I have NEVER had an issue. Once, my son needed braces, and as we prepared to get them installed, Dr. Derenzo told us that his mouth was growing at such a fast rate, that he wanted to wait. He said that if we did it now, it would be a waste of money. This office puts care in front of profit! Dr. Derenzo goes out of his way to explain processes and procedures to parents; so my husband and I are ALWAYS knowledgeable. Dr. Derenzo always chuckles about how tall my son has grown over him throughout the years. As he graduates from college and becomes a full adult, it will be a sadden affair to locate another dentist environment, like this one.