Brooklyn Family Dental Care

Dentist

580 Myrtle Ave

Brooklyn, NY 11205

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

P
2 weeks ago
Great service for an out-of-town traveller
I had a temporary crown fall off during my trip to NYC, and they were able to see me and reattach it very quickly. From the time I called to when it was reattached was less than 1-1/2 hours.
N
3 weeks ago
Excellent care, super timely
The dentist was recommended by a friend and was excellent. My wait time was zero, they were very friendly and nice, and most important, they were meticulous about my teeth!
L
4 weeks ago
Professional and comfortable environment
I have terrible anxiety about getting my dental issues addressed due to past history of my eating disorder. I am embarrassed about my teeth and the condition they are in. The dentist and his staff and very understanding, friendly, and happy to help. I did not feel judged in the slightest and felt completely comfortable. The dentist is swift on drawing up a treatment plan that I am confident with. I no longer feel anxious about getting help with my dental problems.
T
1 month ago
First time was good, second time was not good at all
First time when I was there the lady she cleaned very well. My teeth was very cleaned. Second time when I went there the doctor he didn't clean properly. He did only for 10 minutes. What he did I could I clean my tooth myself better. But people who work there they are really nice. 4 stars for the clinic. Not for the doctor.
K
2 months ago
Rushed
I thought my cleaning today was really rushed. I hope that it was thorough anyway but he didn't even floss. I waiting in the chair 20 minutes for him to see me and then he was only with me for a 15 minute cleaning. It just doesn't seem long enough to be thorough. People want to feel like they are receiving good medical care when they are taking the time and investing the money to care for their teeth.
M
2 months ago
A great first experience
My wife had recently been to Brooklyn Family dental care and shared her positive experience with me and since I had just gotten new dental insurance, I was looking to find a good dentist in the area. I booked my first appointment for a Saturday with a friendly receptionist and was given a reminder the day before. When I arrived I filled out some basic info and then was introduced to the hygienist who was very attentive and gentle during my cleaning. Dr. Unchali then came to consult and presented a wonderful demeanor. He gave me an easy to understand report of some work I needed done and answered all of my questions about insurance coverage. I recommended going here if you live in the Fort Greene/Clinton Hill/Bedstuy area especially!
E
2 months ago
Very thorough and professional care
I had a lot of anxiety about my teeth cleaning, but the doctor and hygienist both put my mind at ease and provided thorough, thoughtful services. The dentist recommended I return for a TMJ night guard fitting and bonding on some of my teeth, and I was happy to have both issues addressed.
A
4 months ago
Professional and efficient but not a very thorough cleaning
I went in this morning for my regular cleaning and dental checkup. The check-in procedure was easy and electronics, which I appreciate. They saw me right away. However, the cleaning was not very thorough - definitely did not polish some teeth and even pricked my tongue with the scraper tool at one point. Usually the hygenist at other dental offices I've been to have to work on the back of my teeth to remove coffee stains, and this time they were not even touched. Everyone was very nice but it was just a sloppy cleaning so not sure I'll be back.
Response from Brooklyn Family Dental Care
Hi April. this is the hygenist who cleaned your teeth this morning. I am sorry you feel this way. I am positive, I clean and polish all your teeth. However, if the teeth do not have any visible stains it is not recomended to polish them extensively to avoid any damage. I woud be very happy to schedule you again for a other cleaning.
J
5 months ago
tmj consultation
I was pleased that the office was clean and the staff was nice. I checked off the box that it would be a TMJ consultation when I made the appointment. I went all the way there to meet with the dentist for five minutes just for them to tell me that the TMJ specialist only comes in on Wednesday mornings. So basically I wasted $65 for them to tell me I need to come back another day. I will be returning once to get the TMJ scan which they say is quite pricey ($500), and another day to visit with the specialist (another $65 or more) since he's only in the fort greene office on wednesdays until 12. I hope the specialist is worth it.
A
5 months ago
Probably uniquely unpleasant
My first visit here was pleasant because it was an emergency visit and I felt taken care of. The payment plan for uninsured patients is also helpful. Today I had to get a filling and a cleaning and I was much less impressed by the service. The doctor didn't introduce himself or make pleasantries with me, just started immediately talking about the possibility of a root canal, and other negative things. He left the room many times without explanation and proceeded on a very deep filling without any kind of explanation about what he was doing. If he had asked he would have known that I've never gotten such a deep filling before and the drilling and yanking that went on was really stressful. He left several times when I had all sorts of stuff in my mouth and was not warm or kind about any of it. When it was finished he proceeded to show me MORE things that are wrong with my teeth. When I got my teeth cleaned it was a similar situation of being apathetic and removed. I went to the bathroom after and there were small spatters of blood on my cheek and forehead. I know that I don't like the dentist already, so being warm and explaining what is happening when one drills into my jaw would have made the experience less stressful.