Charles Sugiyama, DDS

Dentist

31 E Lanikaula St

Suite C

Hilo, HI 96720

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

csugiyama.com/

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

A
7 days ago
High Quality Service, Professional and Attentive
Dr. Sugiyama and his entire staff answered all my questions and concerns. Due to my Post Traumatic Stress Disorder caused by several trauma's in my life, I had a severe anxiety attack while Dr. Sugiyama was starting the filling procedure on my tooth. The anxiety attack had nothing to do with what Dr. Sugiyama was doing or saying, it had to do with me. I am not always exactly sure what causes my attacks, but in this case I believe It was clostophobia. Once I realized I was having an anxiety attack, I raised my hand to let him know to stop, and he did, so I could take my pills that I am prescribed for anxiety. Dr. Sugiyama and his assistant were very patient, attentive and understanding of my situation. Dr. Sugiyama asked me several times how I was doing so he could asses my status of comfort before starting the procedure again. Once my anxiety pills kicked in and I felt more relaxed, Dr. Sugiyama proceeded to fill my 2 teeth. He and his assistant made sure I was comfortable through out the procedure and they were both very understanding of my situation. I would highly recommend Dr. Sugiyama not only for his superb Dentistry work, but also his sincere concern and care for his patients.
L
4 weeks ago
Great Staff, prompt, professional and thorough cleaning
I am a new patient and had my first cleaning at Dr. Sugiyama's office. It was a breeze. Nicole (I hope I have her name right) is a thorough hygienist, very patient. I appreciated her confidence and professionalism. She brought to my attention an long standing gum issue, and at last convinced me to go have it checked by a specialist. Thank you! I have avoided this issue for some time, her absolute care let me know I needed to give my gum problem the attention it deserves.
K
1 month ago
Comprehensive Dental Exam
I was really happy when I left the office. I had been to other dentists who just were interested in fixing what was bothering me now...but here, they took the time to look at the entire picture, and help me develop a plan to take care of my whole mouth. I have never had such a thorough exam, and feel like I am in good hands here. It is very helpful to sit down and look at all of the xrays and pictures with the dentist and be able to talk about what I can do better. The appointments I had to make for subsequent visits were able to be made with my work schedule, which has been an issue with other dentists. Overall, the staff was awesome, and friendly, and I am actually looking forward to a continued relationship with this dental practice!
S
2 months ago
Awesome Team
Dr Sugiyama was referred to me for a client of mine. I have been a nurse for several years and know what it is to deal with the public on a daily basis. The staff here were GREAT, from the front office to the back, we experienced a very friendly, knowledgeable staff. My client has a lot of limitations and upon being seen for the first time by this team, she was treated with dignity, respect and a gentle hand. They took her limitations into consideration when doing her extractions. Dr Sugiyama stayed on top of her needs and insured her procedure was done with the least amount of discomfort and utmost safety. Thank you to the entire staff. Should the need arise, we will surely return here and I will not hesitate to refer others in need of dental care to this clinic.
E
2 months ago
Clean Teeth!
Thank you for providing quality dental hygiene to an older patient with stained teeth, and for working with me to identify causes and solutions. I have total confidence in my dental care team!
L
2 months ago
Thorough exam, great communication from all staff members, fun!
This was the most comprehensive dental exam I've ever received. I'm so thankful I found Dr. Sugiyama's office! I feel like my teeth are in the best hands Hilo has to offer. I am thankful I have a supportive and knowledgeable team of professionals to give me honest, sincere, heartfelt advice about caring for my teeth and gums.
P
3 months ago
Very professional
Dr. Sugiyama is a great professional. The staff is very helpful and kind
N
3 months ago
Quality work and Very Friendly
Everyone was very friendly, from the front office receptionist, the dental assistant, to Dr. Sugiyama. They took care of me and all my dental needs. I can actually smile again with total confidence. I highly recommend them!
L
3 months ago
Dr and office staff excellent!
I call with a toothache yesterday, the Doc saw me today. I am extremely happy with his service. I was not even his patient, but now I am!
J
3 months ago
Excellent doctor, very professional and kind.
Bottom line, I hate going to the dentist because I am cheap and dentists are not. Dr. Sugiyama is worth it. After being ripped off by another dental group in Hilo we were very wary. This guy is upfront and trustworthy. I recommend him highly.