City Renovations & Remodeling LLC

General Contractor

938 Swan Creek Road

Sutie 311

Fort Washington, MD 20744

MHIC: 270511967
Open Today 8:00AM - 6:00PM

fortwashingtongeneralcontractor.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

R
10 months ago
Professional and high quality service
City Renovations is a great company. The staff was extremely responsive and showed a high degree of professionalism. I ordered the 8hr handyman repair deal. The repairman arrived on time and completed the job in the 8hrs. There were no suprise changes. Michael was straightforward and clearly explained all charges. I would recommend this company to my friends. In the future if I need some repair work I will definitely use City Renovations.
C
1 year ago
Good Company- Bad Job- READ,don't pass judgement!
I purchased a Big Deal from City Renovations & Remodeling which offered 3 hours of professional help with chores. I used the deal to have my shrubs trimmed, flower beds weeded, and mulch removed. When the young man arrived, I walked him around the property and explained what I wanted done and other specifications. However, the end result didn’t reflect what I requested. I wasn’t pleased at all! Some bushes were trimmed, some over trimmed, many plants were destroyed. I called Mr. Wiggs the next day and expressed my displeasure with the job. I sent him pictures of what my flower beds looked like initially and after his employee finished the job. Although he got the gest from the pictures, he came and viewed the property himself. Mr. Wiggs was very apologetic. His sincerity was unmistakable! I’ve used City Renovations & Remodeling for several jobs. Although, I wasn’t pleased with the work for this particular job, I will continue to use the company’s services. Mr. Wiggs takes pride in his business and providing excellent work. He admitted, they “missed the mark” on this one. Key point, he took total responsibility - I respect that! He even went as far as refunding me the total big deal purchase price. We all fall short sometime, it shouldn’t erase all the good that’s been done. Mr. Wiggs, thank you for being upstanding business man that thrives on customer satisfaction. City Renovations is a top notch company; a grade “A “company in my book! Keep up the good work.
E
2 years ago
Excellent work - Above and Beyond
This is the second time I have used City Renovations and Remodeling for my 2B/2B condo. This time, I used 2 hours of their handyman services and was very impressed. The handyman they sent out was widely knowledgeable - very fast and high quality. He fixed over 10 holes in my walls (putty and paint); hung a difficult mirror; hung several large, heavy paintings; painted several walls; checked a faulty shower head; changed a rug (under heavy furniture); and left the place clean in under 2 hours. I would definitely recommend them to a friend!
Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
Thank-you. On time and under budget! It was my pleasure to meet your needs before the storm. Please dont hesitate to call anytime in the future if you are in need. Its customers like you that make this business rewarding.
A
2 years ago
Closet Remodeling
The services rendered were excellent and met all outcome expectations. Thank you city renovations.
Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
Thank-you. I hope we et your expecttions. Dont hesitate to call if the shelf fails.
B
2 years ago
Quality Service, Professional and Friendly
On August 31, 2015 we hired City Renovations & Remodeling LLC to remove wallpaper and paint 2 baths, 1 bedroom and a kitchen and to completely remodel a bathroom downstairs. We met with Mr. Michael Wiggs the owned and we gave him an overview on what we wanted done. Mr. Wiggs walked through every room with us and explain what the job would entail. We removed one room from the work order because of his suggestions. His suggestions saved us a lot of money. What was done: Wall paper removed and walls painted in 2 bathrooms, the kitchen and a bedroom. After the wallpaper was removed the walls were sanded, primer was applied and painted. To remove wallpaper you need a person who is detail oriented and patient. Mr. Ronald the man from City Renovations who was assigned to do our work was detailed and patient. When I had questions and changes he was very polite and professional. I was here during the entire process. I could see all that was involved and how Mr. Ronald went through the process of making the walls smooth. Mr. Ronald also gave me suggestions on things he thought we should change. Bathroom downstairs: The bathroom was demolished- Walls were removed and new walls installed. A new ceramic floor, a new vanity and bath accessories were installed and the entire room painted. In addition, City Renovations and Remolding corrected a problem we had in our kitchen. We had a contractor install new appliances and a new floor in our kitchen. Part of the work done by the contractor was horrible. Mr. Wiggs gave us suggestions on what needed to be done and completed the work for us. We were pleased!! The original work order included the rooms mentioned above (2 baths upstairs, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom downstairs) after looking at how Mr. Ronald repaired and painted the other rooms we added painting the Dining Room. We are very pleased with all our rooms!! It looks like a new house!!
Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
Model customer. very easy to work with,very responsive. Need more like these. However, her husband is not as forgiving on the pool table. I will beat him one day.
E
2 years ago
Very responsive, but not great project management
I had City Renovations do a couple jobs in my basement: creating a doorway to separate a room from a hallway and investigate the cause of water damage along an exterior wall. I was very optimistic after my initial conversations and receiving the quote. The quality of the work was fine, but not exceptional. They did a decent job of cleaning up after themselves, but it wasn't spotless (inside was fine, I found plenty of material scraps in the backyard). My biggest complaint was that once work began it felt like there was a lack of project management. This was a multi-day project, but there were some days where the workers left and it wasn't clear to me whether, or when, they planned to return. I had to call to find out. The person doing the work was not the same person supervising. The supervisor clearly had multiple projects going on in multiple places, which is fine, but there were times it was clear I didn't have his whole focus. There were a couple instances where he didn't remember or mis-remembered conversations we had, which I found troublesome. I'm giving them three stars because they're frankly better than most other handyman services I've encountered. They are responsive, even if I had to take initiative. I would probably use them again--especially for smaller projects.
Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
Wow! reading the review you would think this was a huge complicated job that needed a lot of attention. This job was very simple, new door and research a wet spot in the wall. Hardly a need for a project manager. This job was assigned to a carpentry crew. they new she scope. I only came by when the customer wanted to talk to me about where the water was possibly seeping into the house. Of course I was a little lost in the scope and previous conversations because one day we talked about the rain barrel being the problem, another day it was the retaining wall, the next time it was the drain, the next time he wanted an estimate to pour new concrete, then he wanted to stop the job because he wanted the area to dry out, then he wanted us to drill additional holes for air flow, then we set him up with a heater for a week. Yes we left 2X4 & trim under the porch outside and I informed him that we would because his job went into limbo. At the time it was not a concern. Through all my visits, I never got an inkling that there was a problem, if so I would have addressed it then because we don't like less than perfect. During all my visits, none of what is stated in the review was communicated to me. Second, I urge all customers to take a moment to research the rolls of a project Manager and see what requires on and what does not. This Job was supposed to be 3 days max. the Customer dragged the job out to 2 weeks. We only did what was required. FYI the person that is being mentioned as a Supervisor was Me and I do manage up to 5 projects at a time. What made this job confusing to me was the constant change in requested estimates ands scopes. Again, this was a very small project and I assigned competent workers to it and it did need supervision. We as a company apologize for any missed communication and hope we learn from this review to prevent it in the future.
L
2 years ago
A quality contractor...
...is hard to find. Found City through Angie's List. It did take a while for them to respond, but in all fairness they were the ONLY one that did. And I contacted several contractors. This could be a long story, but I will cut to the chase. Winter and bad weather kept them from starting my job (all outside work) for many months. Once they did however, it took exactly as many days as Mr. Wiggs said it would. Once the work was done, everything looked great. The people they sent were efficient, courteous and professional. Going forward I cannot imagine using anybody else for the types of work they do (and that's a pretty long list). One final note. This is the first time I've ever had a contractor give me cookies (a box of Thin Mints).
Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
Thank you for providing feedback on your project. Your review goes a long way to making sure we continue to give quality work to our customers.
B
2 years ago
Bathroom/Utility Room Project
Mike did a great job on a complicated project that involved extensive plumbing, heating and electrical work. The room is now more functional, better lit, better laid out and with 4 times the storage.
Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
Thank you for providing feedback on your project. Your review goes a long way to making sure we continue to give quality work to our customers.
M
2 years ago
Exceptional customer service and attention to detail!!
My experience with city renovations and remodeling left me with renewed confidence in contractors! After an unfortunate experience with a bathroom remodeling project I called in Mike and his team to complete and correct the remodeling project. I was so pleased with the finished project I added a painting and Kitchen light remodel project. Mike has an excellent quality control system and is always on top of the timelines and promised deadlines. It was a pleasure to do business with City renovations and remodeling! I would definitely recommend this company to my family and friends.
Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
Thank you for providing feedback on your project. Your review goes a long way to making sure we continue to give quality work to our customers.