CKO Kickboxing

Gym

25 South Ave

Unit 1

Fanwood, NJ 07023

Open Today 9:00AM - 9:30PM

ckofanwood.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

H
3 months ago
Amazing Workout and Fun as well!!!
CKO Fanwood and Gillette are both clean welcoming places. They are very family oriented with a children's area. The front desk are always so welcoming and accommodating and the instructors are also upbeat and pushing me to get the workout I deserve. If you are questioning coming to try them out...STOP!!!...You will not regret your visit!
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thanks so much Holly, we are so happy you are enjoying your workouts with us
J
1 year ago
CKO Fanwood is awesome
CKO Fanwood is great! Not only do you get an amazing and fun workout but you can tell that the staff really care about the customers and want them to succeed in class and outside of class (diet, etc). The staff go above and beyond and always offer tips and suggestions on how to improve your workout. They treat everyone with respect no matter how experienced you are. The instructors and the customers seem to all have a great time during class and you see a lot of the same faces which shows loyalty to a quality product but also new faces as CKO Fanwood is always trying bring in new clients but also keep and care for the ones they have. CKO Fanwood is also community minded and philanthropic. They have "Punch-A-Thons" for various charities which is a fun class for the students but also great for the community to see. CKO Fanwood is awesome!
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thanks so much Jenn - our staff really loves what they do and it truly shows.
A
1 year ago
Consistently excellent trainers who keep it fun and challenging
I started kickboxing with CKO after my husband had been a year in and had incredible improvement in his stress management, lost 20 lbs. and showed better numbers in his blood work than he had in years. I was frustrated that what I used to do to control my weight and get in shape wasn't working anymore. I was nervous to try CKO, but signed up for 3 months. I felt steadily better and stronger with each class. I was afraid I'd get bored of it, but with an excellent variety of talented and enthusiastic trainers, every class is new. There is enough consistency that you can work on skills and improve them, but enough variety to keep it fun and challenging. I signed up for the full year and love the community of people at CKO who encourage each other. Supportive, fun and effective is how I'd describe my experience here. Highly recommend.
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thanks so much Anne. We are so glad you are enjoying this workout. You and your husband have really done well with it since joining. See you soon for your next class :)
C
2 years ago
Guaranteed Results
I came to CKO Fanwood as a 51 years "young" woman a year 1/2 ago looking for a change in my workout routine. I have participated in several marathons and multi level sporting events previously and when I came to CKO, I felt I was in good shape. My first class I discovered that my core and upper body strength was very weak. By going to class 3 times a week for my first month I saw amazing results. The workout builds so much strength and endurance. I recently participated in a Olympic distance triathlon event where the heat index was 105 degrees. I sincerely believe that my CKO training gave me the strength and endurance to finish. Being a member of CKO Fanwood was the best decision I made for my overall health and well being.
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thank you Claudette! We appreciate your business and the great review
J
2 years ago
Worth Every Penny
I could not rate this establishment and location high enough. Of all of the diets and exercise plans that I have tried, CKO in Fanwood has been the most enjoyable result-producing one. And it has taken me years to find that this is what works for me. I would especially suggest the 10-Day Challenge for anyone that is committed to jump starting their weight loss and changing their eating habits. This was really the key for me in correcting the terrible binge-eating-path that I had been on, as well as sticking to a tough workout routine despite the permanent injuries in my back and my knees. With 3 minimum classes a week, I felt pressured to find modifications for the new injuries I was experiencing due to overcompensating previous injuries - This has been one of the greatest rewards for me personally. If I didn't do the 10 week challenge, I would have given up over and over again, each time one of my knees or the herniated disc in my back was aggravated. Instead, I felt myself get stronger, kept losing weight, experienced less and less pain in these areas, and realized that I don't have to give up. CKO has taught me that I can overcome these injuries that were inhibiting me, and without quitting. It has seriously been life-changing for me. Some other great pointers: - 5:30am class is awesome and accommodating! You will feel so refreshed for the rest of your work day. - There's a ton of excellent instructors here - and flexible times (Saturday and Sunday classes are also some of my favorites) - It's insanely cheap compared to other martial art establishments and some gyms - especially for what you are getting out of a class and how many days/times you can attend - You burn a ton of calories - I measured 900 one day, and was not pushing myself to the max because of my modifications. I can't even imagine what someone without injuries is burning an hour! - You WILL lose weight - You WILL get stronger, and may see muscle tone in areas you never did before (I played sports and have been active my whole life and was never able to build muscle on the back of my thighs before) Honestly...sooo many benefits...
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thank you so much Jen, you keep getting stronger and making progress witch is more a credit to you and your hard work. Keep it up :)
R
2 years ago
Awesome instructors
I truly enjoy Eric and Both Lori's classes. They are passionate about what they do and they ensure members are doing the classes safely. I signed up after a two week trial because of them. Thank you for the push to achieve more.
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thank you so much Reeshemah
T
2 years ago
Where have you been all my life?
I joined CKO 5 months ago. I have lost 20 pounds and 10 inches on my body...As a person who has been overweight their whole lives and looked for the "magic potion" I can tell you there is only one...CKO. I am 20 pounds away from my goal and with the CKO trainers support and all of the wonderful people that attend CKO, I will achieve it! They have shown me and taught me how to be strong and have patience...this is a long process. If anyone is questioning whether to join or attend a class...DO IT! It will be life-changing...
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Your progress has been AMAZING Tracy!
S
3 years ago
Just About 2 Months and Still Loving It!
It was towards end of June or first day of July that I gave the place a shot with the free trial class, but only after looking through whatever bios I could find on the site to see which of the trainers I got the feeling I would like the most in order to get an idea of how much I would actually like the class if I were take it with an instructor I liked. And boy oh boy do I not regret even one bit having given it a chance! At first, when I tried it out, it was with Eugene for the trial class instructor, and I'll admit that I was a bit bent out of shape when I tried it. Even two of my friends that live far down south in the East Coast that also does kickboxing told me that I'm going to want to rest up for two to three days since it's my first time, and it was mainly because of knowing they did kickboxing that I wanted to see how fun of a sport it was. And it sure as hell was a fun of a class. When I signed up, paying for one full year straight out up front, my parents were furious, saying that I'll quit only after a month since they believe I'm an easy giver upper, but having to attend Samantha's classes - Let's just say that my parents were proven to be far more than wrong because it's already been a bout two months and just ready to get into my third month this upcoming September. And the fact that I also do flag football with my church every weekend, normally, I would be completely out of breath by end of 3 hour practice. On Saturdays, I only get 30 minute break between 1 hour kickboxing session and the 3 to 4 hours flag football practice, and when I normally would be completely worn out and far too tired to even run, kickboxing sure as hell helped me build up my stamina in ways I didn't even think was possible. Even the elbow pushes have been a great of a help when having to tackle through the offense to get to the quaterback, and with more strength that's been built up thanks to the training at the CKO, even my flag football coaches are a little more than impressed with how much more confident than I was in the past when it comes to tackling when I was nothing but a complete nervous wreck, and how much more energy I have built up in me compared to the previous years when I would be completely out of breath in just 15 to 25 minute period! Even jogging around the field for warmup's feel like nothing thanks to just 2 months of kickboxing while everyone else on the team are completely out of breath! And in course of just 2 months, I've already lost about 6 to 7 pounds if not a little more than that, and I can't help but feel real glad about having signed up for the kickboxing! I really love this sport, and even my friends that does kickboxing that gave me the idea to try it out are thrilled to hear what CKO's been doing for me! There may be certain staff members' classes that may bore me that I keep wishing the time would go faster, but the hours that I do choose to go to everyday defiantly make it a big worth while for me to actually attend and make it far more than fun - ESPECIALLY Samantha's class! Every time I know that the class I'm taking is led by her, I always get pumped to go! And even though Eugene was just my trial class instructor that one time, just from remembering what he was like in just that one class alone, I really loved it! Thanks, CKO Fanwood, for getting me into shape in ways I never thought I could!
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thank you Sue! We are happy you are enjoying the classes and getting results. Please tell your friends and family we offer a free trial class.
S
3 years ago
Best workout ever!
I was amazed at what a great aerobic workout CKO is! Not only is it physically challenging, but an amazing way to release stress. The instructors are very inspiring and you can tell they really care about helping you reach your fitness goals, and at the same time try to have as much fun as possible. Samantha, the manager- trainer is the best!! After working out with her you can't help but leave feeling really exhausted and really proud of yourself. If you are serious about getting into shape and releasing some pent up tension, I highly recommend this club.
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Susan, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you get an intense aerobic workout during class. Please feel free to spread your positive experiences with your friends and family about CKO Fanwood.
J
3 years ago
Amazing full body workout!
I started at CKO Fanwood to gain strength. At 56 I felt I was not nearly as strong as I used to be and was concerned that I would decline from there. Not going to lie, I thought I would die after the first class. Brutal!!!! But the trainers were great about making me feel comfortable coming back and doing what I felt I was able to do and just work to progress weekly. I signed up for 3 months to see how it would go and committed to at least 3 times a week. For a few weeks I went 5 times a week to get over the muscle ache hump as quickly as I could. Ugghhhh!!!!!! Anyway, I was worried about a few bad discs in my back, a funky knee, etc... I've got some mileage on this body, but the trainers encourage you to modify your workout if there are physical limitations. Well, I then joined for a year, and it's exactly a year later, I'm now 57 and far stronger than I was a year ago and am now able to do a good portion of what the trainers challenge me with. My back problems are not an issue anymore because I've strengthened my core and can do things I wasn't able to do for many years. My doctor was amazed and excited about my progress physically. So am I! Now I want to get this old lady looking as good as I can! I wasn't much over weight when I started, but still I've lost 8lbs., have some "guns" and dropped a couple of pant sizes. Funny how it went from just get stronger to I might as well look good too! The point is, it worked. Plain and simple. Each trainer has their "evil" ways. I have my favorites, but they are all good. Some new trainers are coming up, but with guidance from the others they will be awesome as well. You have to want to make a change to accept this challenge. You either want to be healthier, stronger or look better. You need to accept that a treadmill, walking and pilates... as good as they are for you aren't enough. And you have to think, I have to work this, and work it hard! CKO will give you the opportunity if you are willing to make a huge change in your life. You will be the better for it!
* Results may vary
Response from CKO Kickboxing
Thank you for your awesome review. We are pleased to read that you have gotten some great results from our classes. We appreciate any referrals to friends and family regarding your positive experience at CKO!