Commonwealth Pediatric Dental Specialists

Dentist

5506 Whiteside Road

Sandston, VA 23150

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

commonwealthkidsdentist.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

N
2 days ago
We love Commonwealth Pediatric Dental Specialists! My son looks forward to going to the dentist every time. Dr. Joy and the whole staff are very welcoming and great with all the kids!
O
2 weeks ago
Great service
Amazing amazing amazing
L
1 month ago
Terrible Billing Practice La
I love Dr. Joy and feel confident in the level of care that my child has received when visiting the office. However with that compliment I was extremely dissatisfied in the way billing was handled. I now understand after today that they expect payment to paid before services and give 0 exception to this. My only issue with this is the lack of customer service and communication when it comes to that. I walked in today have no idea I was going to owe any amount let alone almost $200.00. Then when I told the front desk that unfortunately I could not pay that they said sorry we can reschedule. I had taken off work to get this done for my daughter so to be told sorry you have to reschedule was so baffling and shocking to me I almost walked out. The receptionist decided to check with her “accounting person” (if there is one) to see if they could bill me and low and behold she comes back and they simply can not. She once again asks if I have ANY way I can pay for it including any “charge cards” again I tell her I can not and she says she can look to get it rescheduled. Now here is where I have a problem. You want people to pay the day of service for sometimes a more expensive treatment that’s 100% fine. You do need to however INFORM your clients when they schedule the appointment that payment is due and of the estimated cost after you contact their insurance company. This is common practice at any medical and dental facility. You contact the insurance receive the estimate and inform the client PRIOR to the date of service so they are fully INFORMED and therefore fully prepared to pay said amount. I would have never made and kept an appointment if I had any idea it would cost me that amount. I would have saved myself the glaring eyes of the young receptionist who so carelessly kept looking over at me even while helping another client. Talk about embarrassing for me. So Dr. Joy I fully believe you’re fabulous and I love your dental hygienists. I currently am very upset with your front desk crew and feel you need to change how you handle your billing practice for the future so your clients are fully informed. I’m torn on the amount of stars to give. Prior to today I would have given a strong 5. While being in the office today I would have given less than 1. At this point we aren’t sure if we will return
L
1 month ago
Terrible Billing Practice La
I love Dr. Joy and feel confident in the level of care that my child has received when visiting the office. However with that compliment I was extremely dissatisfied in the way billing was handled. I now understand after today that they expect payment to paid before services and give 0 exception to this. My only issue with this is the lack of customer service and communication when it comes to that. I walked in today have no idea I was going to owe any amount let alone almost $200.00. Then when I told the front desk that unfortunately I could not pay that they said sorry we can reschedule. I had taken off work to get this done for my daughter so to be told sorry you have to reschedule was so baffling and shocking to me I almost walked out. The receptionist decided to check with her “accounting person” (if there is one) to see if they could bill me and low and behold she comes back and they simply can not. She once again asks if I have ANY way I can pay for it including any “charge cards” again I tell her I can not and she says she can look to get it rescheduled. Now here is where I have a problem. You want people to pay the day of service for sometimes a more expensive treatment that’s 100% fine. You do need to however INFORM your clients when they schedule the appointment that payment is due and of the estimated cost after you contact their insurance company. This is common practice at any medical and dental facility. You contact the insurance receive the estimate and inform the client PRIOR to the date of service so they are fully INFORMED and therefore fully prepared to pay said amount. I would have never made and kept an appointment if I had any idea it would cost me that amount. I would have saved myself the glaring eyes of the young receptionist who so carelessly kept looking over at me even while helping another client. Talk about embarrassing for me. So Dr. Joy I fully believe you’re fabulous and I love your dental hygienists. I currently am very upset with your front desk crew and feel you need to change how you handle your billing practice for the future so your clients are fully informed. I’m torn on the amount of stars to give. Prior to today I would have given a strong 5. While being in the office today I would have given less than 1. At this point we aren’t sure if we will return
D
1 month ago
Event
The faculty was nice,clean and smell good. The front desk staff was helpful, very nice and friendly. My daughter enjoyed the visit she was like Ma look at the TV in the ceiling. I said that was different to see a TV in the ceiling. We will be coming back in six month. Mrs. Joy was also very professional in what she did. Thanks again the staff of Commonwealth Pediatric Dental.Specialities.
S
1 month ago
Wonderful pediatric dentist
It takes a special touch when working with children and Dr. Joy and the rest of the staff at Commonwealth Pediatric Dentistry definitely have it. Everything is kid friendly! Toys and books in the waiting area, movies to watch while their teeth are being cleaned/worked on, special prizes when the visit has concluded, smiles on everyone's face, soft voices, are just a few of examples of what you'll find here. Dr. Joy enjoys what she does and so the patients enjoy going for their visit. This practice is always giving back to the community in fun and meaningful ways (like the back to school party they hosted). If you have a concern or question about the way anything is done there, just ask! I stayed of as a worried mom looking for the perfect family dentist to go to. I tried a chain dentist that says they cater to children, but we were treated like cattle there. After that I looked around to find a better place to go and I found it here. I love this practice and the special touch it provides and I recommend them to everyone.
S
1 month ago
Awesome!
Commonwealth pediatric dental specialist are the best! Dr. Joy is super Awesome with the kids and has a lot of passion in what she’s doing for them. Her assistants are great with the kids, making them feel so comfortable and aware of everything they are doing in a kidley way. Ms. Sandra at the front seat tops it all of. She’s very polite and friendly feels like home when you come in. Thank you all!
R
1 month ago
I always have a good experience when I take my 4 kids to Dr. Joy. The staff is very professional and nice. They are really good with the kids. They always have a smile on their face. My kids are not afraid to go there and they enjoy all the attention they get. They will continue to go there as long as possible.
C
1 month ago
Great experience as always. Dr. Joy is great with my son!
J
2 months ago
Always AMAZING! Best Dentist office EVER!!
Love these ladies so much....they are so caring and compassionate with the kids and everything operates so smoothly, NEVER had a problem with them at all. Been to 3+ other dentists that hurt my kids, did unnecessary procedures and charged extra fees.....Don't shop around like me, just save yourself some time and check out Dr. Joy. Her setup and system of dealing with the kids is unmatched, I drive 20 minutes to get there and the ease and peace of mind is well worth it!! Oh yeah, they have drawings and huge events for the kids regularly......wish this was my dentist when I was a kid!