Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

4047 Taylorsville Rd

Louisville, KY 40220

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

cottmanoflouisville.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
3 months ago
I contact Cottman's about my service I received and problem resolved. Very professional and understanding. I would recommend this business for anyone. Had work done before and problem fixed.
M
2 years ago
I have a 2011 Ford Fiesta that I took in (with concerns on my transmission) for a diagnostic check at no cost. When the codes popped up and after test driving my vehicle further investigation was needed. This would be with a charge. After inspecting my car they called to tell me that in order my car to be fixed it would have to be taken to the dealer because the computer would have to be reprogrammed so they did not charge me for running the extra test. I couldn't thank Greg and his technicians enough for being so kind and thoughtful and considerate. I would highly recommend this place!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Hi Michelle, Thanks for letting us take a look at your Ford. We're delighted to read everything worked out to your satisfaction, and your high recommendation means a great deal to our team. Thanks again! Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
A
2 years ago
These guys get it right! I had been having a transmission issue for several months and checked around several local places and the Ford dealer to try and understand what might be the issue and how much it would cost to fix. I got mixed stories and a wide range of quotes, then found clarity with the Cottman team. Greg Hulce and his team immediately made me feel comfortable with their approach and services, and were very thorough in explaining how they would diagnose the problem and how they would build their repair estimate. All through the process, Greg and Jeff kept me in the loop from the office, and Tyler and Jason (techs) educated me on the technical details of the issue and the repair. Here's a summary of what happened for my 2009 Ford Flex: - Greg told me they had to take apart the transmission to get a full problem view and repair estimate, and would charge $500 for that work that could be credited toward the repair cost. Greg also gave me a ballpark range of what the fix was likely to cost, and the top of the range was well below the quote that the dealer had given me. Cottman was also much more detailed about describing the likely problem and fix than anyone else. I had a detailed quote the next day and signed a contract for them to do my service starting the following Monday. - I was out of town for that repair week and made plans with Greg to pick up my car on Saturday morning. Greg was in contact with me throughout the week, and was also very appreciative of my flexibility in time scheduling. We made plans to touch base on Saturday morning when I got back in town. - Early Saturday morning (day of delivery) Greg called me and said there was a problem with a faulty replacement part (parts problem, not Cottman's) and they were going to have to keep the car longer. He had already called Enterprise Rental and arranged for a car at his cost since they had not been able to finish on the date promised. - The re-work required almost a total tear-down of the transmission (again) plus some wait time because the part was on back-order (as it had been the first time). All of this was no additional cost to me. When I got the car back the next Saturday, Jason took me for a test ride, explaining how the on board computer would "reset" back to my driving style. He also told me that they had worked with their dealer contact and completely updated all the computer tech modules so everything was up to date to new specs. The total bill was exactly what Greg and I had discussed (minus the share of the rental car that Cottman paid). My Ford Flex has been driving perfectly since! Thanks Cottman!!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Clarity in communication is very important to us, as we always want you to get exactly what we promise. Thank you for sharing the details of the experience you had here with your Flex. We are delighted to hear it's still driving perfectly. Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
J
2 years ago
Writing to let you know how pleased I am with all work I had done on my 2002 Jaguar S-type. I had lots of problems (i.e.) trans, linkage, gear shift unit. a/c system etc. . They looked over everything and told me what needed to be done, gave me a price, explained in detail what they would do. Greg Hulce and techs I dealt with were the best I have ever done business with they were truly pro's . The Jag drives, runs, and shifts like it did when I drove off showroom floor. I have nothing but good things to say about Greg and his crew at this location. Thanks again for your work on my behave your treatment, honesty, and not to forget your fair price, I truly got what I paid for.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
To know your Jag is running at a showroom level makes us that much more proud of our work, J.K. Thank you for giving us that pride by sharing your review online, and thanks so much for your business. Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
K
2 years ago
I have to commend Greg Hulce, manager and technicians, the service provided on my vehicle, was above and beyond, services and cost were explained before work began, no hidden fees, as a matter of fact, Greg even saved me some cost, my big plus was driving to Florida the day after service provided 1500 miles round trip, car drove better than a new Cadillac, mine being a 1991 sedan deville, 148,000 miles, on my return home, I personally went to Greg for my 7-10 day follow up, I appreciated services so much I gave the crew my customer appreciation of homemade banana bread, I've dealt with other transmission businesses over the years with unsatisfactory services being reported, even the rental car referral, Enterprise, was exceptional, so again these guys should be commended, THANK YOU COTTMAN, CAR SERVICES IS MY FAMILY'S SAFETY, YOU'RE THE BEST.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Banana bread and recommendations are always very much welcomed and appreciated, Kevin. Thank you for both of these things, and of course, thank you for choosing our Cottman. Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
C
2 years ago
The staff at Cottman are fantastic! They did a great job repairing my ford Taurus. Their estimation process was prompt and the customer service thy provided to me was first-rate. The folks at Cottman go out of their way to earn not only your initial business, but your repeat business. In fact, I've recommended Cottman to several of my family and friends. Keep up the great work!!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
First-rate customer service is always our goal, Caron, and it was our pleasure to provide nothing less when you brought us your Tauras. We will be sure to keep up the great work, and we very much look forward to future opportunities to be of service. Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
T
2 years ago
I have used Cottman numerous times in the past few years and have always had a positive experience. In 2011 my Ford Focus, a car that I love, had a transmission problem and unfortunately it had to be replaced. Jeff and his staff at Cottman were able to fix my car very fast, and at amazing price. My car has run perfectly ever since. When I have any auto concerns, I go to Cottman because I can trust them to take care of my car with outstanding customer service. Thanks guys!!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Keeping the car you love on the road is simply what we do here, Teresa, and our team was happy to do just that for you and your Focus. Thanks for sharing your story, and we look forward to your next visit. Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
R
2 years ago
WOW!!! What a great job. When you talk to this team of experts they make you feel comfortable that you are talking to someone that will explain to you in detail how they will diagnose the problems with your vehicle, what it will take to fix the problem, and give you an invoiced price of the cost. When I took my 2004 Mustang Gt in to have the transmission overhauled, I had already researched half a dozen shops. Reading their reviews on-line and researching them through the BBB web site. The team at Cottman Transmission did a great job on my vehicle and I will use them in the future and would recommend them to all my friends. They are all about giving you quality service and great customer service.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
WOW!!! What a great review, Ron. Reading it makes us smile, and we are glad to hear our team of experts made you feel safe and secure in the service your vehicle received. Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
A
2 years ago
I had a four wheel problem repaired at Cottman Transmission. I guess if I had to I would give them a five star rating but I really don't think that is a fair estimate. I would probably rated them much higher. Good, fast, fair service and I really appreciate that.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We'll take the five-stars any day of the week! Of course, we do appreciate that you'd give us more if you could. Thanks so much! Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville
P
2 years ago
Experience with Cottman Transmission has always been good. Work is completed very timely and follow-up is good. Greg, you have always been helpful and easy to work with, as well as pleasant. Thank you.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Our team is happy to know you always find good experiences here, Paula. Thank YOU for sharing your high opinion of us, and we'll see you the next time your vehicle needs maintenance. Gratefully, Cottman of Louisville