Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

3315 NE 112th Ave.

Suite B55

Vancouver, WA 98682

Open Today By Appointment

cottmanofvancouver.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

E
1 year ago
Bad workmenship & parts
I had my truck worked on by Cottman they rebuilt my transmission and replaced the clutch. when we got the truck back it was making a noise, I tuck it back in and they said to drive it and to let them know of any changes. well less then 7000 miles later the transmission went out and they would not stand behind their work. also when I had it repaired the clutch had less then 10% left. this should not be the case with less then 7000 miles! I would and do not recommend then to any one they have lots of reasons why this work was not quality but the bottom line is this cost me lots of money and they were not professional with their dealings with me. the person that I had the dealings with is Melinda Kriner she is the owner and she was the one that promised me that I did not have to be concerned with their work. I believed her! right up to the point that I was stuck in traffic with a horse trailer and horse in the trailer for 4 hours. then to be told that they would not stand behind their work.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Mr. Ed Carthell, As we discussed over the phone, the original repair was done on 5.16.2012 with a 12 month 12,000 mile warranty whichever comes first. Since our location was under different ownership at the time of the initial repair, I do not have any original copies, as Kevin Safley was the owner, and took his paperwork with him when he left. I was his service writer at the time of repair, and was responsible for helping you through the repair process, and completing the paperwork on behalf of Mr. Safley. The terms however, were beyond my control. I soon left and went to work elsewhere after your first repair. On your following visit, 5/9/2014, one year outside of your original warranty, we investigated a complaint you had regarding noise. By this time, my father had taken ownership of the business. For customer service reasons, we went ahead and replaced the input bearing, as my technicians thought the vibrations from the engine could have caused that bearing to be noisy. We only charged you for the part, and we did all the labor at no additional cost to you. When you called in a month or so ago, saying you were having issues and the transmission was "locked up," I explained that I could not repair the vehicle for free since the original transmission issue was 2 years out of warranty. I would have worked with you on labor as we did with the input bearing but was never given that opportunity. I understand your frustration, but I think it is misplaced with me. In May, when you came back, I was not working here; it was a girl by the name of Angelica. We do look similar but are not the same person. I did not resume working at Cottman until 7/8/2014. Again, I want to reiterate that my father and I were not the owners when your original repair was completed and while we are willing to work with you in good faith, we cannot be held responsible for the promises of a previous owner, especially when the terms of even his warranty, have expired. That being said, we have honored all of the previous owner’s non-expired warranties without question. Please understand we do feel your frustration, but think it is misplaced. S.A.F.L.E.Y's CS, I believe is the name of the previous owner’s corporation and his name was Kevin Safley. He was the person responsible for the initial repair and its warranty since yours expired while he still owned the business. Please accept my apologies that you feel we did not take care of you as that was never the intention. Thank you, Melinda Kriner Owner/Manager
J
2 years ago
Outstanding service. Definately customer satisfaction #1 priority. Stood by their guarantee, no hassels or suprises, and provided good quick service. Very polite group of people. They patiently listened to my complaint(s) and fixed my problem. I highly recommend this shop.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Our goal here is to treat each customer like part of our family, we are excited to see you back when you need help again! Thank you for choosing Cottman.
I
2 years ago
Cottman Transmission Center did a great job on our car. I like the fact that we could bring in our car once a year for the next three years for a Transmission check up. Now that's service!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for the kind words and valuable feedback. We value your business and look forward to seeing you each year. Reviews and referrals are our best advertising thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to review our business!
C
2 years ago
I've been there a couple of times now. My first time they did a great job and I never had another problem with that car and drove it for at least a couple of more years before I sold it.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am proud that we have met your expectations each time you have come here. Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority.
F
2 years ago
Good service....
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for sharing your positive opinion! It's wonderful to know we served you well. Gratefully, Cottman of Vancouver