Dental Care of Maui

Dentist

415 Ala Makani Street

Kahului, HI 96732

Open Today By Appointment

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

G
2 months ago
very happy with their service gentle and professional
S
2 months ago
Great Service and Great Quality Care
My experience with Dental Care of Maui started with a professional mailer sent to me that introduced the company. Everyone was very friendly and professional from the first meeting when I walked through the door, until my examination and cleaning were complete. Dr. John Uehara was very professional and fun. His experience was obvious, yet his mannerisms are what made him to easy to communicate with - first rate! My Hygienist, Kat, was the best ever and she made the experience pleasant. Every staff member was smiling and enjoyable to be around. This was my best dental experience and I would recommend Maui Dental Care to everyone that needs dental help or just a routine visit/cleaning.
K
2 months ago
Completely Unethical Service
Where do I start: 1. They tried to get me to buy a 3-treatment program for my gums that would have cost thousands of dollars, all uncovered by insurance. There was nothing wrong with my gums, other than their staff (Teal) being so incredibly rough that they caused my gums to bleed. I have since seen a real dentist who confirmed that my gums are fine. 2. They said that I needed 5 things done to my teeth and then expanded my "need" to a root canal once the work had started and I didn't have much of a choice. 3. Even though I told them that insurance coverage was important, a great deal of the work was not covered. I walked out of there $2500 poorer. 4. The material they used on all 5 areas of my mouth was inferior and prone to staining--so the area around my teeth always looks dirty now. 5. I tried to get help from Stacy, their manager, but she only had them send me another bill with a penalty because I was asking for more information (they wanted even more money a couple of months after but they were unwilling to provide a statement of expenses and revenue that would have explained why they wanted more money). 6. I sent a letter to Dr. Uehara, but she never responded. Do NOT go there, unless you are willing to be traumatized and broke.
M
3 months ago
Dental Factory
This is a big facility for Maui Standards meaning that you do not get the same hygienist, you are emailed, texted and called for each appointment automatically. You are expected to do a protocol which is unnecessary, expensive and unhealthy as you are exposed to radiation as part of the standard protocol. I have been blessed with strong, healthy teeth yet this office requires X-rays and a doctors visit before they schedule my next cleaning because I opted out of both. The new hygienist (new to me and may have just started her career based on her age) cleans but cannot discuss if there are issues that should be brought up to the doctor. If you want to know if there are issues, in addition to the cleaning fee, you have to pay to have the doctor discuss what the hygienist finds and of course, without new x-rays no one in this office will alert you of any concerns. Perhaps this is a new protocol for insurance providers but I do not have insurance and am not willing to add on extra costs only to be told that my teeth are healthy. What happened to getting X-rays if you see something that causes an alert? Can you trust a dentist office that cannot look at your teeth without an X-ray and will not offer another cleaning without an X-ray? When do we get to determine what we want as a patient?
K
3 months ago
Professional Dental Provider
DCM has a core of excellent Dental Hygienists on their staff. For my past several visits, Krystal has done a fabulous job keeping my teeth clean and attacking my gingivitis so that I can keep the teeth I have. Dr. Bonnie has been trying to persuade me for the last three years to put in a couple of implants and a crown so that I will have a nice set of teeth when they finally lay me to rest. She may have finally persuaded me to ‘bite the bullet’ and get it done this year before I am unable to bite at all. All in all, DCM is a professional and innovative dental care provider.
A
3 months ago
Feels great with Dr. Uehara and workers. Trust is important and I trust them . Thank you, Al
C
4 months ago
Crystal, while extremely professional she is also warm, friendly, has a great sense of humor, and a positive personality. Unless she is on vacation & I have an emergency, I only want to have Crystal as my hygienist. EVERYONE at Dental Care of Maui is wonderful!
W
4 months ago
Highly Recommended
My family and I have been coming to Dental Care of Maui for over 25 years and I have yet to find a complaint about anything!
S
7 months ago
All staff members from front office and technicians were nice and pleasant. I noted that the procedure and equipment used for the cleaning was an improvement from what I remember from past visits. Staff was very professional and helpful in answering questions I had.
S
7 months ago
Awesome service as always!