Dental Care of Maui

Dentist

415 Ala Makani Street

Kahului, HI 96732

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

B
5 months ago
Service was excellent
They took care of me even if I didn't know I needed it. That was awesome
D
5 months ago
Great dentist in Maui
Staff is always friendly and professional. Dr. Bonnie explained everything and answered all of my questions. Teal was very professional and friendly.
J
6 months ago
The 2 girls were vert good and considerate
L
6 months ago
Friendly, helpful and professional care.
D
6 months ago
Top notch dental hygiene cleaning
Excellent dental hygiene cleaning! The staff are always professional, friendly, pleasant and helpful.
C
7 months ago
Everyone at the clinic is professional and courteous. Always a good experience.
S
7 months ago
Dayna is awesome!
Dayna did such a great job trying to make our 2 year old feel comfortable when she got scared to be there. Thank you!
R
7 months ago
I am assuming that the dentist read the paper I filled out about my experience with other previous dentist. She treated me as I suggested in helping me to be okay with this appointment. She told me what to expect and how I should participate and I appreciated that greatly. For my first experience with a dentist since 1983 it was amazing and I experienced very minor discomfort and left with no pain AND a new tooth! Such progress! The young woman who assisted was kind, professional, and clear as was the dentist Dr. Bonnie (?). Not sure if I needed three xrays. I am not sure about wanting a repeat performance but at least everything was professional, courteous and kind. I am not sure if any dental experience can be considered amazing but this first time with Dental Care of Maui was amazing and I am grateful and am so happy with my new tooth. Thank you to all!
L
8 months ago
rushed, botched work, with excuses before he even started the work.
Had a small chip repaired on my front tooth. This is 4th Dr to do this for me in 30 years. (both front teeth were chipped age 9) Other Drs told me to expect 5-8 years from their repair, as a conservative estimate. This Dr told me "it could only last a week, no promises or warranty"!! Ive played rugby and been in fistfights with my other repairs and one has held for 17+ years, this Dr told me i "shouldnt expect to eat a hamburger" with his repair, because its "only for smiling and talking" He finished in the amount of time the other Drs took to prep the job, and it had to be done twice because his first attempt broke off while testing it out while still in the chair. In the end he sent me off with a slanted, crooked, unmatched repair that looked almost as bad as when it was chipped off! I brought this to his attention, his assistant also agreed it was very uneven, and he said he doesnt find it possible to make it straight or to grind the other fake tooth so as to make them match. (He actually couldn't tell that my other tooth, which is broken 20% off the bottom was a repair job, and declined to shape it because he didn't want to grind my "real tooth material" even though it was almost serrated from the numerous micro chips that had come off of it in 17 years of banging around) When i pointed out to him that he had left a very visible unblended ledge on the repair that was likely to snag floss every time i used it, he took metal sandpaper and while attempting to fix his blemished work he painfully drove the sandpaper DEEP into my gums more than once, leaving me with swollen red and slightly infected gums as a result. The ledge is still visible as well. I ended up having to tune up my old chip repair myself with sandpaper at home to make my front teeth more even, and my fiance hasnt even noticed that its been repaired now 3 days later! Im a fine woodworker and mechanic and own calipers for measuring things down to the 1000th of an inch. i can feel a distinct difference in the thickness of his "repair" and the one next to it that has lasted 17 years. It turns out the reason he doesn't expect me to be able to eat, or even make it through the week with his work is because the repair on my other tooth is .12inches thick, (like a natural tooth! ) and the second repair that i was sent away with is only .065inches thick, basicly half the material, which i can feel all day long as there is now a deep dip in the inner surface of my front tooth where it transitions from my natural tooth to his paper thin repair job. In the end he said an expensive crown is the only way to get a pair of even and matched front teeth in his office. I am absolutely appalled at the quality of his services rendered, and would never ever send a friend to that office in my life, nor will i ever return. A full refund wouldn't be enough to make me return there, but it would be a fine start. No dentist has ever told me that i should be happy with crooked unmatched front teeth, that his work is only good for 7 days, and i've never had my mouth injured by such heavy hands as his. Don't ask me why a woodworker has a better eye for detail than a dentist, but i'm simply aghast at what happened to me that day, and I will feel that way until i go to a true professional to have it repaired with real skill and care. One star is too much for this review, but 0 stars isnt an option. Guaranteed there is a better option out there, it would be worth your time to find one.
Response from Dental Care of Maui
Dear Leif, I am so sorry that you perceived my words of caution as an excuse for the work performed on you. As you mentioned you have had three other dentists work on this same problem and I being the fourth wanted to simply remind you to be careful of the precarious situation you presented us with. If you would like to call our office we can repeat to you why we restored your tooth in this manner. Sincerely and respectfully, DCOM
E
8 months ago
Dishonest
3 members of my family went for cleanings. They found a problem every time. We all had always had good teeth. Questioned the 4 cavities diagnosed on my son so we went for a second opinion. The other dentist found nothing. I believe all the dental work they did on us was unnecessary. We do not have dental insurance so it is difficult to file a complain.
Response from Dental Care of Maui
Dear EA, We apologize for not informing you adequately about our findings. We at DCOM use the most highly diagnostic equipment and techniques available. Unfortunately there may be other dentists are not able to diagnose the problems we may find but would be happy for you to call us in order for you to learn more about our concerns. Sincerely and respectfully, DCOM