Direct Protection Security - ADT Authorized Dealer

Security Service

2145 Elkins Way

Suite B

Brentwood, CA 94513

License No.: ACO# 6446
Open Today 9:00AM - 6:00PM

securityservicesbrentwood.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
1 month ago
Unprofessional
Update: 7-14-2017 I got a call from a guy named Robert with direct protection services who asked me to take my original yelp review down and he would waive my cancellation charges. I agreed, but a day later i guess his boss whos name is Sunny vetoed that. I spoke with Sunny about it and he said it was a mistake and he couldnt do it but would reimburse me 75 bucks to pick up the equipment which was a ripoff in the first place. So i refused. Now hes telling me the equipment is worthless so keep it and he wont charge me for it. This company is acting like a collection agency trying to make as much money off of me as possible. I spent 5 days going back and forth being put on 20 minute holds. Being hung up on not getting promised return calls. Does ADT endorse this type of customer service? You re better off with no security than with this company. Original: 7-8-2017 Very unsatisfied customer. I originally signed a 24 month contract valued at 1299. Free installation and free equipment. Ive been a customer for 10 months. I tried to cancel and called customer service 7-8-2017 at 830 am i was told by Carmen who was rude that i would have to pay 755 first for the remaing contract and couldnt cancel until 3 days later and would have to pay an extra 569 bucks on top of cancellation fees to cover equipment (320 for 4 door sensors and 149 for a motion sensor adt charges 60 a door sensor and 120 for motion). I offered to return the equipment and was told i would be charged 75 dollars for them to pick it up. I offered to bring it in myself and was told i could not. I spent 5 hours trying to get a last invoice from them and kept getting the run around. I asked for a manager and was told they wont be available for 3 days. I keep getting the run around and its frustrating. I will never use adt or direct protection security again. So all in all they want me to pay them 1299 to cancel the service. It seems as if they worked the numbers in their favor to to magically have me pay them back the original 24 month contract. Watch out for Sunny the manager and Tee jones the fake manager who is really Carmen the original rude lady i spoke with.
J
1 month ago
Update: 7-14-2017 I got a call from a guy named Robert with direct protection services who asked me to take my original yelp review down and he would waive my cancellation charges. I agreed, but a day later i guess his boss whos name is Sunny vetoed that. I spoke with Sunny about it and he said it was a mistake and he couldnt do it but would reimburse me 75 bucks to pick up the equipment which was a ripoff in the first place. So i refused. Now hes telling me the equipment is worthless so keep it and he wont charge me for it. This company is acting like a collection agency trying to make as much money off of me as possible. I spent 5 days going back and forth being put on 20 minute holds. Being hung up on not getting promised return calls. Does ADT endorse this type of customer service? You re better off with no security than with this company. Original: 7-8-2017 Very unsatisfied customer. I originally signed a 24 month contract valued at 1299. Free installation and free equipment. Ive been a customer for 10 months. I tried to cancel and called customer service 7-8-2017 at 830 am i was told by Carmen who was rude that i would have to pay 755 first for the remaing contract and couldnt cancel until 3 days later and would have to pay an extra 569 bucks on top of cancellation fees to cover equipment (320 for 4 door sensors and 149 for a motion sensor adt charges 60 a door sensor and 120 for motion). I offered to return the equipment and was told i would be charged 75 dollars for them to pick it up. I offered to bring it in myself and was told i could not. I spent 5 hours trying to get a last invoice from them and kept getting the run around. I asked for a manager and was told they wont be available for 3 days. I keep getting the run around and its frustrating. I will never use adt or direct protection security again. So all in all they want me to pay them 1299 to cancel the service. It seems as if they worked the numbers in their favor to to magically have me pay them back the original 24 month contract. Watch out for Sunny the manager and Tee jones the fake manager who is really Carmen the original rude lady i spoke with.
J
1 month ago
Poor customer service
Very unsatisfied customer. I tried to cancel service and called customer service at 830 am i was told by the i couldnt cancel until 3 days later and would have to pay an extra 600 bucks on top of cancellation fees to cover equipment. I offered to return the equipment and was told i would be charged 75 dollars for them to pick it up. I offered to bring it in myself and was told i could not. I spent 5 hours trying to get a last invoice from them and kept getting the run around. I asked for a manager and was told they wont be available for 3 days. I keep getting the run around and its frustrating. I will never use adt or direct protection security again.
U
2 years ago
ADT Installation - Very Good Service
I had a very good experience with Direct Protection Service. Sales agent Mart was exceptional and met all my needs. I would recommend DPS to anyone without any hesitation.
H
2 years ago
Great sales team, poor technical followup
I had requested in December to reactivate an alarm system in my 6-year old model house. I was suggested to have a whole new core system installed, since it was covered by the no-installation-fee policy. The pleasant sales folks counted the number of windows, doors and waved this long list in our face as they started to make their pitch about what we needed. The alarm system, which worked fine, was "old technology". It didn't support voice communication and phone-app alarm control and keyfob remote controls - that's true. The technicians came over on 3 separate days to properly wire up the 6 house nets into the new control unit, and replace the two control consoles. Remaining issues: 1) Main power supply for the main electronics is a non-California green compliant transformer, which draws 18VA from the outlet even when the alarm is not connected to it. It is hot, hums loudly, and probably defective. I am rewiring the control center to use a (V) class unit which costs $6, since 18VA x 365 x 24 = 160 kWh or about $31 per year in electricity. 2) Console panels have constant-on backlights, one of which shines into my eyes in my bedroom. I asked how to change them, they would get back to me. That was January. I opened the manuals to the first programming page, and the backlight control option is right under the "input secure programming code" on the first page. 3) The system they installed has only 6 nets - not enough for, and not electrically compatible with, the fire/smoke detector that was installed. They had to replace it, ok. But when they did, they removed all the previous equipment and took it with them without our authorization. They promised to return the equipment, nothing yet. I will bug them later this week about the defective transformer, which I just finished replacing. Hopefully they can pick that up and return my other parts. Otherwise, the system works well.
P
2 years ago
There were many problems with the sales team. They failed to follow up on promises made , I.e. promised that rebate check and cancellation letter to Monitronics would be derived to us the next day. It took at least a week, and many phone calls to your office. The cancellation check is about 75.00 short of our canceling cost. Live and learn.
Response from Direct Protection Security - ADT Authorized Dealer
Hi Philip, I am so sorry you had a poor experience with our company. I would be more than happy to reimburse you the $75.00 and to see if there is anything we can do here at DPS to satisfy your needs. Please give our office a call at (925) 516-9200 x301. Please note that it is not the common practice of our company to not follow-up with our customers to ensure complete satisfaction with the services they received.
H
2 years ago
Alarm went off
My wife went back to our house after the alarm was set and got out without realizing the 90 second limit. So the alarm went off, but we were gone. Eventually, the system notified a local police station, and an officer came to to check. We felt the alarm system was very reliable.
Response from Direct Protection Security - ADT Authorized Dealer
Thank you so much for your positive review. We currently have a promotion guaranteeing $50 Referral Fee if you refer our company to any friends or family once they are successfully installed. For more information, please send us an email or call our office at (925) 516-9200 x301.
C
2 years ago
still waiting for instructions or a cheat sheet that I can follow
My salesman no longer on staff. I spoke to Jim last week and he reported my complaints.I was told someone would phone .I am waiting to hear from Brentwood office. I would like to find out what the two additional bills added to my credit card on the date of nstallation.I also need addional window stickers,for I only received one when installed.I could use a dozen more to tag all the point of entery
Response from Direct Protection Security - ADT Authorized Dealer
Hi Cindy, I am so sorry no one has followed up with you in regards to your billing. As far as stickers go, I will be more than happy to send you a dozen stickers or more if necessary. Please give us a call at our office (925) - 516-9200 so we can discuss your billing situation and see if we can get you taken care of as soon as possible.
M
2 years ago
the sales team lied to us from the beginning to get our accounts, I had contract with protection one security for my house paying only $23.95 a month, your sales people promised us that if we switch to ADT they will pay for our contract with Protection One but they didn't, right now we are paying for both contracts, ADT and Protection one. They also sold us ADT service on two of my businesses and promised they will install security cameras as part of the service, they installed the cameras and a week later they charged our credit card for $4,995.00 without our authorization, when we complained they said that we had to pay for the cameras and they did mistake by promising us that they will give us the cameras free. We did put stop payment on their charges on our credit card for the cameras and forced them to take out the cameras. I am very disappointed and in first opportunity I will switch my security systems from ADT to another company.
Response from Direct Protection Security - ADT Authorized Dealer
Hello Mark, I apologize if you had a poor experience with our company. Please note that your representative no longer works with our company due to the mismanagement of your account and you have been refunded the unauthorized charges. Again, we deeply apologize and if there is anything we can do for you to be a satisfied customer, please call our office at (925) 516-9200 x301.
C
2 years ago
Great Salesman but ugly hardware leaves something to be desired
We were surprised initially to see warehouse size window and door contacts intended for our installation. They voluntarily got us the miniaturized sized contacts when we objected which we greatly appreciated. But they ran out of the white micro magnetic contacts and used dark magnetic material on our white window frames. Very ugly. They have promised to return with the additional white micro contacts but its been a week with no word. Maybe they are awaiting arrival of these parts? Would expect ADT installers to be massively supplied by your company so they never run out of these "basic" home security magnetic alarms. Like the system. Good training by installer who was good in all other aspects and very friendly/helpful. Not his fault your company failed to adequately supply the parts he needed. Great Salesman, not pushy.