Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio

Beauty and Hair Salon

117 Washington Ave

Grand Haven, MI 49417

Closed Today Closed

hairsalongrandhaven.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

A
1 year ago
Chemical hair straightening warning!
I posted a review on 7/22/16 and I want to update my experience with the Keune chemical hair straightener. The last time I posted I had washed my hair 3 times since the process. I've now washed my hair a few more times since then. After every wash I see more and more waves,kinks,frizz and curls coming back. My hair also looks and feels very dry and gets quite frizzy in the humidity. I was told I would only have to come back in for root touch ups every 3-6 months depending on how fast my hair grows, and that the rest of my processed hair would remain straight. I would say overall the process was a waste of almost $400. My hair was chemically straightened on 7/13/16 and is almost back to how it was before the process. Very disappointed! There are other chemical straighteners out there that have very good reviews so if anyone is looking into the process I wouldn't recommend this brand. Also, you can order any of the chemical straighteners for a fraction of the price the salons charge. Just make sure you have someone experienced do the process for you or watch the videos so you know exactly what you're doing.
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Amanda, I just wanted to notify you that I did contact KEUNE and told them about the issues you are having with the product. I will reply as soon as they give me an answer that I think we will both be satisfied with. While you may be able to order the products online just remember that they are sold at a fraction of the price because they are a fraction of the quality. We strive to use the best products here at DNhair which is why we appreciate the review so that if this is no longer the best straightening system we can switch. Always make sure to have a proffesional wh ohas had specific training in these systems apply these products. It may look easy but there is a lot that can go wrong if not done correctly including damaged hair.
A
1 year ago
Makenna is great!
Makenna was great! Very friendly and professional! I had my hair chemically straightened. I've never had the process done before so I didn't really know what to expect. My hair was a mixture of kinky waves and curls with quite a lot of frizz before the process. The process took around 3 hours. When I left the salon my hair looked straight and shiny. I was told to wait 48 hours before washing but I decided to wait 72 hours before I washed my hair. I was hoping it would dry straight and I wouldn't have to use the flat iron on it but it didn't turn out as I was hoping. After my first wash my hair dried with some wave and frizz but no curls, so that was better than my hair before the process. After the second wash my hair had a little more wave and frizz in it and the third wash my hair had even a little more wave, frizz and a few curls coming back. After each wash I seem to be spending more time straightening my hair with the flat iron. It's still better and more manageable than before but not quite what I was hoping for. I don't regret having the process done because you never know how something will turn out until you actually try it for yourself. I do think the price is way too high. I paid almost $400 and it definitely wasn't worth that price and I wasn't given a receit when I paid. Although I give Makenna 5 stars for my fantastic hair cut afterward. Thank you Makenna! I give 3 stars for the straightening treatment. I believe with the price being so high for this process it should atleast come with the products that are recommended to use like shampoo and conditioner instead of having to purchase them separately if you want them, on top of the starting price of $350.
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Amanda, I'm glad that you were able to have such a great experience with our stylist Makenna. I'm sorry the treatment did not turn out exactly as you wanted it to, but I can assure you I will speak with Makenna as well as our brand provider to discover why that exactly happened. I will also email you a copy of the reciept. We do not print itemized reciepts automatically for enviornmental reasons and the amount of reciepts that get thrown away. I'm more than happy to email you a copy for your records or if you would like to stop in for a hard copy I am more than happy to do that as well. Again thank you for choosing Donaylle Nicole and we hope to see you again for another great haricut.
P
1 year ago
What?
Why am I getting this? I went here a year or more ago. The girl that cut my hair was new and I wasn't happy. It took 1 1/2 hrs!!!!!
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
I am sorry to hear that. I was able to remove you from our emailing list. If ever you would like to try a new stylist I would love to offer you half off your services. Please call if you're interested 616.847.3141
D
1 year ago
Wasn't me I haven't been in this salon in years
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
It's been awhile, but we hope to see you or the kids soon!
J
1 year ago
Best beauty experts in the area!
McKenna is an expert hair stylist. Creative and professional. Does the best job with color. The staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond.
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Jessica, we enjopy having you and the kids salon. Thank you for not only coming in for your hair but for ALL of your beauty needs. We appreciate the support.
L
1 year ago
Great!
Very Nice and friendly! High quality! Very professional! Thanks for everything! I feel Fabulous every time I go ! 👍🏻👍🏻
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Lulu, you are such a joy to have in the salon. You bring great energy, and we are so fortunate to have you as a client. To many more good hair days!
L
1 year ago
Stellar
I came to visit Grand Haven over Labor Day weekend and received a chair massage and hair cut. The cut was very nice and the massage felt great. The customer service was STELLAR. The service was like icing on a cake! 🙂
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Being compared to cake definitley isn't a bad thing. ;) Thank you for visiting us while traveling. We hope to see you again this year!
F
1 year ago
Recut and color at Walmart solved this mess
As a new customer I was delighted to meet the owner but I was greeted with a cold unfriendly stare as if I had wandered into her private space. Unfortunately I still proceeded with an overpriced cut and color and had to sit there while she (the owner) humiliated the technician/stylist who made several mistakes with my hair. Donaylle had a new out of school technician create a mess that she then tried to clean up herself when she could drive herself away from her computer. This was my experience, I haven't gone back and it's been over 3 years. I was surprised to get an email asking for a referral.
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Freya, I have removed you from our emailing list. Some emails are still in there from past visits. I am sorry to hear about your experience. If ever you are interested in trying us again I would love to give you 50% off services.
A
1 year ago
Absent
I'm not sure why I received this since I have not been to this salon for quite a few years. My experience when I was going there was that they were the only salon that charged for pre/post treat at a cost of about $20. When I questioned the charge I was told it was because they used "special" shampoo. I have not been charged for a shampoo by any other salon. They were also very pushy about customers buying their hair products from them even though you could get them for much less elsewhere. Overall, the "experience" was not worth the price.
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Dear Anonymous, I apologize that your experience was not exceptional when you came in. If there is anything we can do to fix it please do not hesitate to call. Just to clarify the treatment shampoo we used would've been a clarifying/ exfoliating shampoo that we use to remove all of the "gunk", if you will, from the hair and scalp in order for the color to truly attach to the hair and to make it last longer. I do apologize that this was not better explained to you and that the price was not relayed.
J
1 year ago
Highly recommended!
I've been going to Makenna for almost 2 years now. She is absolutely wonderful! She helped me transition from super white blonde to a dark blonde/light brown and now back to my natural blonde! She is very friendly. I'm always happy with my highlight/lowlight and cut. I would definitely recommend her as a highly skilled stylist.
Response from Donaylle Nicole Hair Studio
Julie, so glad your experience at Donaylle Nicole hair and with Makenna has been so pleasant. Thank you for your business and kind review. We will see you soon!