Dr. Bawa & Associates

Medical Spa

Destin, FL 32541

Closed Today Closed

drbawa.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
4 months ago
Favorite new Med/Spa
I am so glad I found this place! I visited the medical side for a non-related medical concern and I was immediately impressed at how nice and efficient the office and staff all were. While waiting to be seen Dr. Bawa's esthetician came in to introduce herself and give me some pamphlets about her services and tell me about how great of Dr. Bawa was and how he specialized in hormone replacement and fatigue. She then told me about all of the different service that they offered and I was in and out shortly later. A few days later my hair dresser told me all about a facial she had recently when I asked who she recommended she then gave me this same young ladies information. I am now a monthly spa member and I enjoy my facial and skincare products. The esthetician Ray Anna pays attention to all of my concerns and always has a solution within my budget and I always enjoy visiting with her. I have been receiving tons of compliments on my complexion and I recommend her to everyone who ask.
* Results may vary
M
4 months ago
Laser vein removal
I had a treatment for my spider veins in my legs. The result was great. I will go back for another treatment soon.
* Results may vary
J
5 months ago
Doctor who cares.
I see Dr Bawa every 3 months and receive great one on one treatment. He's thorough and sincere. His staff (Shelly) is great as well in helping me understand my condition. Waiting is usually about 20 minutes. Everyone there has a great attitude and overall experience is positive.
* Results may vary
C
5 months ago
Great Medical Office, everyone is just sooo nice, and friendly
I used to work as a P.A. with Dr Bawa over 15 years ago, and applaud how the staff at Santa Rosa Beach Clinic setting take such good care of their patients, ME..!! I like Janet Reeves very much, and my "Low T Therapy" has given me energy I lost over 10 years ago, my joint pain is gone. But most of all, the staff takes time to treat secondary issues, vital for total health. Every one of his staff, show they care..... THANK YOU, CURTIS LIEBER
* Results may vary
B
5 months ago
Poor Job of Treatment for a possible break/fracture
Never even saw the doctor. I was a brand new patient looking for a local GP. Nurses with terrible response times/follow ups. 5+ days of a turnaround time to get back with a patient is very unprofessional and inconsiderate when you have a serious injury. (This was not on a weekend). Could not get a return phone call to handle my pain & swelling and had to basically beg to get my Xray results back in a timely manner. Called the hospital myself who stated they had my records/results. A patient should not have to drive to get their own Xray results. Bawa's office stated they did not receive them. Finally, a nurse looked into the hospital's system (2 days later) to tell me anything and I even asked for a referral to a specialist to handle the matter. Still no referral, still no follow up. Went to a local urgent care after days of feeling mistreated and needing the proper care. The staff at this particular urgent care were extremely efficient. Immediately put me in a soft cast and recommended an ortho surgeon to follow up with. Stated that I should have been stabilized with soft cast immediately and not just wrapped with elastic bandage. I was prescribed what I needed, the referral specialist even followed up with me to schedule an appointment as well as the staff who treated me at their facility. Bawa's did a poor job of initial treatment for someone with a possible break/fracture.
* Results may vary
N
10 months ago
I miss Cheryl, PA !
I became a patient and saw Cheryl regularly. I was going through serious depression and sometimes the only thing that would get me of bed and make it to my appointments is because i didnt want to let PA, Cheryl down. She was kind, patient, encouraging and the definition of what a medical practioners standards should be. She was a great value to this office. Cheryl really got my meds straightened out, referrals sent out, labwork done simply and i was never hurried or questioned. I need followup labs done about vitamin d deficiency, but i just wish I jad Cheryl to order the labs and advocate for my better health. Cheryl got to learn my story and i really bonded with her. She was genuinely concerned. She left the practice in September or October and ive since seen Rhonda and Josh. Josh helped me with the flu and my meds to get well. Nice guy. I would be comfortable to see him for general things such as the flu or strep throat but not comfortable talking to him about women issues, labwork tests or anxiety medication adjustments. Rhonda saw me for a checkup and seemed to be hesitant to switch my BP medication but she was nice enough. She was your standard medical practioner. Nice, respectful, and direct getting to the issue of the appointment...all valued qualities. I just miss Cheryls patience, calming tone and time she spent finding out all of my medical concerns. I do wish Rhonda knew me better and I wish i felt more comfortable with her. ive now faxed forms requesting a different BP med, Allergy med & something to help me sleep. We will see if they send it in to mail order. I just really miss Cheryl, PA. She was a blessing and I dont know if the quality of my healthcare and even mental health and weight loss and motovation will ever be the same without her.
* Results may vary
S
11 months ago
Very professional staff .
Janet is such an amazing person, she see's you as a person and not a number.
* Results may vary
S
12 months ago
Great Visit
I saw Rhonda, yesterday, and she was just wonderful, and very caring. My first visit was in June, and I saw Cheryl, and I loved her. Rhonda is just as sweet and caring, she's a great asset to your office, she made me feel so comfortable and really treated me so well. I look forward to seeing her on my next visit
* Results may vary
M
1 year ago
Extremely Disappointed
I had my first appointment (and probably ONLY) today in Dr. Bawa's office after waiting weeks to see him rather than a PA. I showed up to my appointment on time and filled out the usual new patient paperwork. I waited for AN HOUR AND A HALF before seeing the doctor. To say I was irritated would be an understatement. I had made this appointment primarily to have a general checkup but I had also mentioned when making the appointment that I had been having headaches. A family member recently had a serious medical diagnosis which influenced me to get checked out since I hadn't been to the doctor in a while. Dr. Bawa came in and seemed to be rushed (it was almost lunchtime and he was obviously running behind schedule). He spent about 10 minutes with me. He reviewed my new patient paperwork and questioned me about drugs that I had been prescribed and filled at the pharmacy in the past few months--none of which I was taking any longer nor had I notated in my paperwork. He obtained this information on the computer from some database which struck me as odd, almost like checking up on me to see if I was truthful in my paperwork. I had mentioned that I had gained weight over the past few years and was a little concerned about that. After mentioning that, it seemed like that was his only focus; afterall, weight loss is one of his concentrated areas. His bedside manner definitely left something to be desired. He did listen to my lungs and heart. That was the extent of any kind of physical exam. I've had doctors look in my ears, eyes, throat, etc. He did NONE of that. Some "check-up!" After that we discussed and (I felt nickeled and dimed about) possible tests that could be run but my insurance wouldn't pay for. I mentioned that I hadn't eaten anything in anticipation of possible blood work being done. He ordered blood tests for me which I question if he would have done had I not been fasting or even mentioned. He did NOT share with me what kinds of tests he ordered either. He offered me the option of paying to have the blood drawn at his office for an additional convenience fee ($20) which I declined. He told me I would have to go to the lab and have my blood drawn there. In the brief amount of time I spent with him I didn't get a good vibe like I have from other doctors in my past. I felt like I just needed to shutup since he needed to get on to seeing other patients. Neither he nor the staff were helpful in educating me about the lab process either--just assumed I would know where to go and how everything worked. We moved to the area a few months ago so I'm still trying to figure things out here. I was told that to get the results of my blood tests that I would have to make a follow-up appointment (another office visit--$$$). I don't want to endure again what I did today, and I certainly don't want to help fund a business where I am treated like this. I have read the other reviews here and can't relate to the high praise given. I chatted with a few people in the waiting room and asked about their experience with this office. Apparently my experience isn't the norm. One person encouraged me to give him a second chance before forming my opinion. I can honestly say this was the first time I left a doctor's office angry and in tears for being handled the way I was. I don't normally leave reviews either but after today's experience I felt compelled to do so. You should never leave a doctor's office in tears for the way you are treated there.
* Results may vary
C
1 year ago
Horrible doctor and staff (the ever changing staff)
I have been going to this doctor for approximately 3-4 years. Not because I'm impressed with him or his staff, but mainly because I started going to his office because I liked a P.A. he had and just didn't switch after she left. His staff is ever changing, likely due to Dr. Bawa's inappropriate and rude behavior. I have had to wait for appointments for over an hour and half just to have Dr. Bawa scribble over my bloodwork results while giving some barely discernible explanation of the results that honestly, I could've gleaned from the bloodwork. Today, however, was the absolute tipping point. I saw on my pill bottle (for meds I have to have) that I had no refills left and knowing that I was going out of town the upcoming weekend I called his office to let them know I needed refills and asked if I needed to be seen. The response was no need to be seen, just have the pharmacy send the request. The pharmacy told me they sent the request. The morning I am supposed to leave for the weekend, I call to get my prescription...no prescription. So, I call Dr. Bawa's office and was told to have the pharmacy send it again. I call the pharmacy, they send it again. I start traveling to the pharmacy on my way out of town and call to make sure it's ready. Still nothing from the doctor's office. I call Dr. Bawa's office again and they say no request sent, have pharmacy fax and they'll immediately send the prescription - in fact, they will wait by the fax machine to get it. I call pharmacy back, they send via fax and electronically, again. I call Dr. Bawa's office back, they received the request BUT I have to be seen before it can be filled. By this point, I've been told 3-4 times that all they needed was a request and when I asked earlier in the week if I needed to be seen, was told I didn't. I'm transferred to what I can only imagine is the office manager for Dr. Bawa's office. I explain the entire situation and am met with a rude, condescending response of,"You haven't been seen, so you will have to be seen." Now, since I have seen this doctor for the length of time in which I have, I have been told for this medicine I have to be seen every 6 to 12 months. My last visit was 9-10 months ago. This is all notwithstanding the fact I called and was told I didn't need to be seen, presumably because I was within that 12 month window. The office manager goes to ask the doctor if anything can be called in, even just a couple of days so I can get through the weekend and come for a visit next week...doctor tells her to take a message and he'll get back to me. Again, I'm leaving town, so I ask when I can expect a return call. She cannot say. We go back and forth and the doctor gets on the phone, yells at me, tells me it is my fault for not asking his staff if I needed to be seen for a refill (when I tried to let him know that I called earlier in the week and was told I didn't - he cut me off and told me he didn't know who I talked to and continued to berate me for not knowing that I need to ask if I need to be seen - confused yet? I was!), and told me not to yell at his staff (I will say my voice was raised and there was a clear irritation, but I honestly did not yell), and told me I have to be seen within 6-12 months. Upon him reiterating the time that I need to be seen, I pointed out to him that I was within that window, so I was unsure why I needed to be seen when I've never come in more than once a year. His story changed then. All of a sudden I have to be seen within 9 months. He then used my profession against me and said he knows [because of my career] I like to argue, so he is not going to talk about it anymore. Mind you, I may have gotten 15 words in during him yelling at me. Ultimately, he called in 7 pills, BUT not before threatening me to not call it in when I pointed out that I was within the time window to be seen. This was an absolutely horrible experience and I cannot express how disgusted I am with Dr. Bawa and his office manager's rude behavior and response to their mistake.
* Results may vary