Dr. D Ivan Young

Counselor

5225 Katy Freeway

Suite 410

Houston, TX 77007

Closed Today Closed

houstontxcounselingservice.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
3 months ago
High quality professional service that gets results
I am writing about the service I received from Dr. Ivan Young after just one month of service. Before I met him I was at a low point in my life. I struggled with an addiction. I was addicted to watching pornography. It had become a part of my daily routine. It was my coping mechanism. It started when I was a kid. I would wait until the family fall asleep. Then I would go to the family room and watch the adult movies on cable. I never thought that watching adult movies a few times would lead to a everyday habit in my adult life. I'm a black male minister of the gospel. My addiction caused me to be covered with shame because I thought people knew my secret. After the death of my son in February of this year, I began to watch more porn just trying to forget. I remember praying and asking God to please help me. I searched the web for African American male therapist. I found Dr. Ivan Young and gave him a call. That call changed my life. He helped me to see what was already there inside of me. I am now thriving more and more each day . I stopped the habit. I'm adding more books I've read to my library and all it took was for me to first humble myself ."God gives grace to the humble" James 4:6. Admit I had a problem, then seek help. I don't have to walk in anyone else's light but my own. I truly recommend Dr. Ivan Young to any one especially men who are struggling on the inside to give him a call.
J
4 months ago
Hard work that pays off
I am writing this review 1 year after having met Dr. Young. I needed time to reflect and soak in all of the hard work we both put into our meetings.Year 32 was the most introspective for me. I poured out a lot of thoughts and took in even more. I challenged myself to tackle my most hidden feelings with someone I didn’t know. A counselor, an advisor. I specifically wanted a black male. Someone I know that is relatable but would make me uncomfortable enough to test my courage. Because of my dad, I’ve always put black men on a pedestal and had high expectations for them. It’s easier to talk about the “good” things, the obvious things. But the shadowed, unsure things left me vulnerable. Through moments of tears, laughs, awkward silence, defense, anger, happiness, fulfillment, sadness, clarity, frustration, and nothingness...I progressed. At the end of our sessions, it wasn’t about measuring up to him but allowing him to see me for who I am. To know that I’m not here to impress or compete, but to push myself into uncomfortable spaces where learning who I am is an ongoing ambition. This was for me. Thank you Dr.Young • 33 has big shoes to fill
D
12 months ago
Life & Business
This man spoke my language! Very straight forward, to the point and didn’t mind using pieces of his personal life to bridge the gaps between us. I didn’t realize how much I needed his assistance. I actually signed on to meet with him for my then girlfriend. However, through talking with him I found more than a few things that I had lost and altered in my life over the years. He assisted me in finding these valuable gems to my life. His assistance in my business was just as valuable. With is assistance was able to streamline and make better use of my time and team. Dr. Young is a great man, doing great work!
R
1 year ago
Top Quality Service
Becoming a client of Dr. Young has been one of the best decisions and investments I’ve ever made in my life. I believe that God allows people to be put in your path at a specific time, for a specific reason. Timing was everything. I am forever grateful that God allowed His timing and His plan to take place. I originally went to see Dr. Young with relationship/marital issues. I thought that by the end of the program that my marriage would be restored. Instead, I got something better. That was self-restoration, growth, healing and empowerment. Through this coaching program, Dr. Young has helped me evolve into someone that I was never able to foresee. In less than a year, I found myself glowing differently. My spirit is more at peace and aligned with tranquility and balance. Thank you, Dr. Young, for being so real and blunt. This, too, is transferring into my life which allows for less miscommunication, less drama and an immense talent of boundary setting. I will never be the same woman I was before. I am so grateful to know the woman I am today and the woman I am continuing to blossom into.
R
1 year ago
In a league of his own
I walked into Dr. D’s office hurt, down-trodden, and ready to seclude myself from this blessing called life. Through is: immense knowledge, years of experience, ability to listen empathically, extreme honesty, and unique “one-of-a-kind” approach, Dr. D Ivan Young gave me the necessary tools to: change my mindset, climb out of my depressing cubby-hole, love both my body/soul, and cease with the debilitating thoughts and actions. Please invest in your future by visiting Dr. D!!!!
L
2 years ago
My actual performance review after 1 year with Dr. Young
Good afternoon Dr. Young My supervisor and I just reviewed and discussed my 2018 Employee Annual Evaluation. My supervisor is impressed with the results of your coaching sessions. Mike, my supervisor said that at one point of the year 2018 my overall score was at the Exceed Level. He said that it was unfortunate that my divorce caused me so much stress that seeped over into my work life and it caused my performance to decline. Mike recommends that I continue my coaching sessions with you. He also said that I am already currently performing at the Superior Level and he doesn’t foresee any problems with next year’s annual evaluation. I appreciate all of your help. Lydia Sterling, CTCM FOD Contract Specialist HOU Fuel Card Coordinator WFD Senior Instructor Texas Dept of Transportation Fleet Operations Division-HOU Lydia.Sterling@Txdot.gov
A
2 years ago
Professional, Insightful and Life Changing
Dr. D Ivan Young tells it as it is so if you're seeking life changing results, he is the man. He is very structured and his wisdom and knowledge in all areas in life are like no other. If you are looking to become a better person overall, look no further. Dr. Young has given me a different perspective of life and this is only the beginning. He does a really great job in genuinely caring for his clients since these are real life problems he is dealing with. From the moment we walked into his office and spoke with him, we knew he was the one. His integrity, wisdom, expertise, honesty and transparency are truly God given gifts to help others seeking guidance and breakthrough. Thank you for all that you do Dr. Young.
M
2 years ago
Great coaching
Dr. Young has a very structured approach. Prepare to study on your own on a weekly basis to get the most from his coaching. You don't receive directives, templates or instructions, you work towards gaining an ability to see things clearly and find the right solution in any situation life brings your way. I wish I did this sooner in my life.
P
3 years ago
Very Insightful and Life Changing
Dr D. Ivan Young has changed our family's life! He gave us insights that we needed, helping us to communicate with one another in a much needed and healthier way. After taking several personality types, he was able to specifically address each of our weakness and our strengths. He gave us step by step tools that were extremely helpful. Simple, yet impactful. I have been so encouraged with our family dynamics changing in such a positive direction. Dr. D helped us learn that power IS knowledge. Our family can now walk hand in hand bettering ourselves while bettering each other. We still have challenges ahead but we are better equipped to navigate life together, fully loving one another along the way. As a Life Coach, Dr. D has helped our young adult son learn to self actualize, to appreciate the blessings in life, and to turn mistakes into lessons. I have seen such a huge, positive change in our son! All thanks to Dr. D., who truly has an amazing God given talent to help others become the best version of themself. I am forever grateful for Dr. D's counseling and coaching with our son & our family, and for sharing his amazing gift in helping others! I highly recommend him, do not look any farther, you have found The Best.
E
3 years ago
Dr. D Ivan Young is the best Life Coach anyone would want for services. Dr. Young is extremely knowledgeable, honest, patient and professional. If you want honest and true answers about yourself or guidance with overcoming obstacles you never knew were in your way, Dr. Young is definitely someome with integrity to contact.