Elite Tutoring

Tutoring Service

Dumont, NJ 07628

Open Today 4:00PM - 10:00PM

dumonttutor.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
8 months ago
I beat the test
I just received my December ACT scores and I'm overwhelmed with excitement. I got a 32 out of 36. I am so happy that I found Barry Goldberg as a tutor. My friend in school told me about him a few months ago and I signed up with him. He is definitely not your typical tutor. He's extremely energetic and funny with his teaching methods. He showed me test taking strategies that enabled me to beat the test. He alerted me to all the tricks, shortcuts, and traps. It really does work. I was getting questions right without knowing exactly why. I know that's not perfect but all that matters on the ACT is getting the answer right. There's no partial credit given. Colleges only look at your bottom line score and mine is great. I'm hoping next year I'll be getting into colleges that I previously thought were reaches. You'd be crazy not to give Barry a try. He's an awesome guy with a gift of getting students to beat the ACT Test.
M
8 months ago
HIGHLY EFFECTIVE
Barry Goldberg tutored my daughter for the ACT test last spring. We found him to be a highly effective and creative teacher. He does things differently. He teaches the kids how to take the test. He showed my daughter the tricks and traps of this test. He does this in a very creative manner. He immediately bonded with my daughter. He's more of a coach and mentor than straight forward instructor. He's full of energy and very funny. This would all be for naught if Lindsay didn't get good scores, but she did. Her scores were so good that some of the colleges that we thought were reaches, now accepted her. Right now, she's leaning towards Villanova, a school we thought she really didn't have a chance at. We are so happy we found Barry, and you will be too.
L
8 months ago
Exceptional Tutoring
Barry Goldberg gets results plain and simple. That's what I was looking for with my son and that's what we got. Larry did not do well on PSAT test last year at all. We took him to Huntington Learning Center for several months and his scores did not improve one iota. Larry skipped sessions, didn't like the tutors, and didn't really do their assignments. It was a complete waste of time and money. A neighbor of mine then referred us to Barry Goldberg. What a complete turnaround. Within the very first session, a major change occurred. Barry does tutoring like no other. He focuses on test taking strategies and shortcuts. He made our lives so much easier. He also teaches in a passionate, animated manner that connected to Larry. Larry looked forward to his sessions with Barry because taking the test became so much easier for him. In the end, his scores increased to a more than respectable level. I, in turn have referred Barry to others and have been thanked by these people. He obviously connects to all kids. Don't waste your time with one of the big outfits. Go with Barry. You'll thank me for doing so.
R
9 months ago
happy to have made the switch
I had my son switch over to Barry Goldberg this past summer when it became painfully obvious that he would not improve with his current tutor. Jimmy had been working with a tutor for three months and had gotten nowhere. He took the SAT test two times and his scores did not improve at all. Sadly, one of the times he went down from his PSAT. I felt like I had thrown out a lot of money. Luckily, a friend of ours referred us to Barry. Jimmy noticed an enormous difference after just one session with Barry. Jimmy was never taught any test taking strategies which is what Barry does best. This type of tutoring made all the difference in the world. Jimmy took the test for a third time this past October. Like they say, the third time is the charm. He went up 80 points in verbal and 130 points in math. That puts him at a new level of college that he could get into. Barry truly makes a huge difference and we are grateful for his help. It also helps that he is a great guy who teaches in an entertaining and funny way. He is worth every cent.
G
9 months ago
Excellent Full Service Tutoring
My family is about to begin our third tour of duty of ACT tutoring with Barry Goldberg. Barry has previously tutored my older daughters and now its time for my son. We are anxious to start earlier because we know the tests have changed and its so much more competitive out there for spots in the top colleges. We have the utmost confidence in Barry as he has done right by my family twice already. He handles everything from soup to nuts. He teaches test taking strategies to enable you to beat the test. Originally, I was surprised that these tests try to trick you. I think that's totally unfair but that's the reality of the world today. The bottom line is to get the answers correct and that's what Barry does. His results are excellent as I've heard from many others too. He also has a great personality and makes the tutoring enjoyable for kids. An added bonus is that he helps with the whole college application process too. I fully expect my son to get superior scores as my two oldest did. You cant go wrong with Barry.
L
9 months ago
Awesome Tutoring
My name is Lukas and I am a junior at Ridgewood High School. Barry Goldberg tutored me for the November ACT test and I just received my score of a 35 out of 36. I am so happy and grateful to Barry. There is no way I could have done this without him. I was expecting a really good score but even I surprised myself. Barry's test taking strategies made the ultimate difference. I identified all the times the test was trying to trick me(especially in math) and made the appropriate adjustments. That's what Barry does best. He shows you all the tricks, shortcuts, and traps to enable you to beat the test. In addition, he's a great motivator and instiller of confidence. I loved the way he taught his sessions. It wasn't boring at all. He's really funny and likeable. I'm continuing with Barry for the SAT test. Hopefully, I'll score out on that test too. I'm playing with house money. I'm also hoping that my scores will help me get schlorship money down the road. All in all, it's been a wonderful experience.
D
9 months ago
wonderful tutoring job
We met Barry last winter when he was referred to us by a friend. The first conversation I had with him over the phone put me at such ease. He told me that most parents expect some long complicated explanation as to what needs to be done, but once the call is made to him, the worrying stops. How true that was. Barry explained that he teaches students how to take the test, and that he does this in a very motivating and energetic way. My daughter Stephanie adored him from the very first session. He took away any test anxiety that she may have had. He showed her how to take the SAT TEST, and how to beat it. Most of the test is pretty basic; it's just that they design it to trick you. They basically are kind of jerks. Barry alerted Stephanie to all the tricks and traps of the test. When she took the test, she said she encountered everything that Barry had warned her about. Her test score reflected her preparation. She scored better than 90% of the country and currently is a freshman at the University of Virginia. We absolutely believe Barry played a huge role in this achievement. Barry Goldberg is a wonderful tutor!
M
9 months ago
Better Than Expected Tutoring
My parents spoke to Barry over the summer about tutoring me for the ACT TEST. He convinced us to start early so we would be done early in my junior year at Pascack Hills High School. He said to give yourself as many opportunities to take the test since you're only going to submit your best scores anyway. I just received my scores for the October 2016 test. I got a 30, which honestly, is more than I expected. I have never been a great standardized test taker even though I get superior grades in school. I feel that I beat the test because of Barry's teaching methods. He made the test so much easier for me. It's not so much about the content of the test, but more about how to take the test. Barry showed me how each test is really a recycled version of all other tests. I was ready for each question, especially in the math section. I knew all the trap questions; I applied many of Barry's shortcuts and tricks. Barry taught me how to take the test. Everyone should be learning how to do this. Also, Barry is a very likeable guy. He is funny, outgoing, motivating, and really cares about my success. I am very happy my parents found him. I'll continue working with Barry until the December test and figure then I'll be done. I plan on working with Barry next summer as he says he can help me with my college application and essays. He said he could also help me apply to the many schlorships out there that most people don't know about. Thanks again to Barry
J
10 months ago
Fantastic Tutor
I worked with Barry to study for the SAT and again for the GRE. Working one-on-one can be intimidating as you are entirely "on the spot" so to speak. But Barry is very supportive and uses humor to help instill his lessons, and I never felt uncomfortable or embarrassed for any mistakes I made along the way. He taught me to be patient, use my time wisely, and to always check my answers--both exams have habitual tricks to overcome and watch out for that I would not have been able to figure out on my own. Barry tutored several of my friends as well, and I never had anyone tell me they had a poor experience with him. He traveled to my home, was always on time, and even allowed me to be tutored with a friend. He does give homework and practice questions to review, so make sure you are prepared! I found no need to enroll in any other programs--some of which can cost thousands of dollars (not kidding, look up Kaplan groups for the GRE if you don't believe me!). I would absolutely recommend Barry as a one-on-one tutor!
B
10 months ago
More than just a tutor
Barry Goldberg is so much more than a wonderful tutor. He is a mentor, motivator, personal coach, and friend. I've known Barry for ten years now. He's tutored all three of my kids for the SAT. From day one, Barry hit it off with my kids. He has an infectious energy about him that rubs off on the kids. He teaches them how to take the test and alerts them to all the traps and tricks to use. All of my kids did great on the test, and each received schlorship money. The tutoring paid for itself. I've given Barry's name to many others over the years and they all tell me similar tales. We still speak to Barry as he checks in time to time to say hello. My kids still talk about him and the positive effect he's had on their lives. I'm really serious about this. Hire Barry Goldberg!