Elite Tutoring

Tutoring Service

Dumont, NJ

Closed Today Closed

dumonttutor.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

P
5 years ago
One-on-One Tutoring is the way to go
Last spring I enrolled my daughter Gabriella at C4 education. Honestly, I did it because it was a little bit cheaper and I figured we would get similar results to private tutoring. I really miscalculated that one. My daughter really got very little out of C4. Lessons were 3 to 1. Gabriella got about 20 minutes of instruction per hour. The rest was just busy work. She really didn't learn any strategies and her SAT scores reflected this. She made no improvement from her PSAT. I decided to call back Barry who I first called before we went C4. I had heard about him from friends who used him. Originally, I thought he was a little too expensive. But with most things, you get what you pay for. Barry was very accommodating and took us on over the summer. Gabriella got along with him great. He's very personable and his enthusiasm rubbed off on Gabriella. He taught her test taking strategies as opposed to just drill and skill. This, I believe, is what made the ultimate difference. She went up almost 200 points as the scores just came in. We are so happy and grateful to Barry for all his help. He really does make a big difference. One-on-One tutoring is so much better than group instruction. The extra cost pays off in the results. You'll be very happy if you make the call to Barry Goldberg.
R
5 years ago
Professional, dedicated and relatable
My son had the opportunity to work with Barry Goldberg in preparing for his ACT exam. Barry was able to encourage and push my child to success without adding unnecessary stress. He is relatable to the student and is very enthusiastic in his approach. He was able to help my son focus on the tricks necessary to succeed and work with him on how to use his time wisely during the exam. My son looked forward to all the sessions with Barry as he created and developed a bond with my son that enabled him to feel comfortable seeking his advise and aided in increased confidence with each session. Barry was always accommodating to my son's ever changing schedule and made sure he was available for him during the crunch times! My son is going to continue working with Barry as he completes the remainder of his testing and starts to prepare for the college application process.
A
5 years ago
wonderful tutor
Barry Goldberg tutored two of my children over the past three years. My daughter and son are very different as far as personality and learning style. It didn't matter how different they are, Barry was wonderful with both of them. He teaches how to take the test in an energetic, engaging manner. Both of my kids loved him. He motivated them, gave them incredible confidence, and gave them the tools to succeed on these crucial standardized tests. It didn't matter as to which test each took. His strategies and tricks work for all the tests. My oldest took the old SAT and broke 2000, over a three hundred point jump from her PSAT. My son did better on the ACT where he got a score of 27. He also walked us through the college application process, recommended schools, and helped edit their application essays. Both of my kids received money from some of the schools they applied to. They are both extremely happy in their respective schools which is in part due to Barry's tutoring. He actually checks in with us time to time and I give him updates on the family. My third child will be a junior next year and we have no worries. We know Barry will do right by us and help are third one achieve his goals too.
R
5 years ago
Very Effective Tutoring
Barry tutored my son who was a prominent lacrosse player for Don Bosco Prep. I had heard of Barry from various other parents of student athletes of the school. Frank was going to need an effective tutor who was both flexible and accommodating to his situation. Barry passed both tests with flying colors. They hit it off from day one. Barry relates extremely well with his students. He teaches with an extreme amount of energy. Frank loved that. He also showed Frank test taking strategies that enabled him to achieve the score he needed for his lacrosse schlorship. Since then, I have given out Barry's name to other parents. They all come back to me and say the same thing, about how good he is, and about how happy they are with him. I will continue to do this. Barry is very effective. He gets the bottom-line results. He's also very caring and entertaining. you cant go wrong with him.
N
5 years ago
best tutoring
Barry tutored me last spring for both the new sat and the act tests. From the first session on, he always stressed that it was all about how to take the test. There is so much truth in that statement. In the beginning, I would get questions wrong that I thought were really easy. I soon came to realize that the people who design these tests are not the nicest. They design it to trick you. Barry alerted me to all their tricks and traps. He also showed me how to get correct answers to questions I didn't even understand. There is always a way to get the correct answer, even if you have to do "in case of emergency" strategy. I got excellent scores in both, although I found the ACT to be a much better test. Currently, Barry is helping me with the common application and my personal essay. He does it all and I'm very grateful to him. Everyone should use him!
L
5 years ago
great enthusiastic tutor
Barry Goldberg is definitely the tutor you want for your son or daughter if you want them to beat the ACT TEST. He's like a one stop shopping service. He covers everything section and does it very effectively and enthusiastically. He got along great with my daughter and completely motivated and inspired her. This would be nice even if she didn't get big scores, but she did. She got a 31 overall score and got into the University of Michigan(her first choice). She was able to achieve this high score because he taught her test taking strategies. Most tutors don't do that. I still keep in touch with Barry and give him updates on Lisa. He's genuinely happy for her. He's a great guy and even better tutor. I pass his name along any chance I get and whoever reads this review should hire him. They'll be very happy they did so.
A
5 years ago
Excellent
Barry tutored both of my sons for the SAT. He was always punctual and easy to contact if we had to make a change in the schedule (which can happen often with busy teenagers). His enthusiasm for the subject matter was terrific; the boys always looked forward to his sessions -- the sessions were never a burden. Barry gave plenty of good advice and tips on test taking, but I think the most important aspect of his tutoring was the confidence he instilled in my sons. Half the battle of taking a long, standardized test is going into it without fear or anxiety. I have recommended Barry to other friends, and all have been happy with his excellent work.
M
5 years ago
Great unique tutor
I am currently getting tutored for the ACT by Barry Goldberg. He's as one of a kind tutor that I have encountered. I expected him to be like most tutors, drab and just businesslike. He is the opposite of that. He is so upbeat and optimistic, and funny in his teaching that I actually look forward to tutoring each week. He is showing me how to take the test so I don't fall for their tricks and traps. The test is actually much easier than what I thought it would be. I'm extremely confident that I'll get the scores I want and deserve. I would absolutely recommend Barry to anyone looking for ACT tutoring
S
5 years ago
Barry Goldberg Tutor
Barry Goldberg is an amazing tutor plain and simple. I had heard Barry's name passed around the neighborhood so I called him about my oldest daughter Peyton. This was last summer. I told him that Peyton was an above average student but not a great standardized test taker. Her score was average at best on the PSAT. immediately he made me feel better about the upcoming process. He told me that it was his job to make our lives easier and get the desired result (big scores). Boy, did he come through! Barry immediately connected with my daughter on a personal level, which is more important than you might think. After the first session, we were thrilled. My daughter was extremely motivated and eager to continue on with more sessions. Barry taught her how to take the test which in my opinion is just as if not more important than the material. He showed her so many tricks and shortcuts to get the right answer. That is awesome since that is what your score is based on, correct answers. In the end her score went up over 200 points from her Psat. We are ecstatic. Currently, Barry is helping us with the whole college application process, including Peyton's personal essay. We are hopeful that we may get some scholarship money too. While Barry's rates are pricier than classes, it was well worth it. The one on one tutoring really did the trick. I'd happily recommend Barry to anyone.
C
5 years ago
Barry Goldberg
For every standardized test I took I tutored with Barry. I never really write reviews for things but I just had to this time because Barry was the best tutor I have ever had, and I have had a lot. He always taught me tricks and gave me key tips to beat the test. My scores went up with him. He made me feel very confident while practicing for the test, and taking the test. He was an amazing tutor and I highly highly recommend Barry.