Fred Holland Realty
Real Estate Agent
Write a Review
1 year ago
Professional and Friendly
I have rented with Fred Holland Realty for many years. The office staff is very well trained and responsive.
1 year ago
Filthy house with bugs and rude staff
After looking at deceiving pictures online, we booked 1629 Ashley property. We brought my family down with kids and an infant for my sisters wedding. It was the WORST experience! The house smelled like urine, the furniture was broken, the floors were FILTHY!!!! There was holes in the wall, mold, cockroaches, and bed bugs. All doors except one rusty door leading by out to our deck was sealed shut . This is a fire hazard. I can’t get over how filthy this place was and how much mold we found. We found a pile of white substance in one of the drawers....drugs? Baby powder? Who knows?! When my husband complained, the lady was very rude. She’s told us those bugs were normal on the beach and they are used to them. Sorry my family and my babies are not used to sleeping with cockroaches! We did end up getting our money back but then had to find a place while getting ready for our family wedding. I would hate for a family to go through this! FALSE ADVERTISING on their website! The house was a DUMP!
2 years ago
Worst experience ever
We have rented many times through the years. Renting from Holland was the absolute worst renting experience of our life. The house (409 W. Ashley)should have never been rented. We are attempting to contact the owner in GA, for I doubt the are aware how bad it is. We left yesterday with a full refund, as I threatened to get the media involved The owner and the staff were were very rude to my wife and me - some 5 family members heard the final conversation BTW - the hot water heater, smoke alarm, running toilet, broken lamps, large holes in screened porch, missing curtain etc were not fixed. Some items like no ice trays/bucket were addressed Rev Rob and Kathy Dewey
3 years ago
Next summer, 2018, we will be celebrating our 20th year renting from Fred Holland. I have to say in those beginning years we had sporadic problems like AC not working or septic problems but for the majority of our years we have had very good experiences and lovely homes. If there was a problem workers were sent the same day 99% of the time. We have watched our children grow up on Folly Beach from our very first summer of 1999 and not one of them wants a family vacation week to be anywhere else. I will be rocking in a rocking chair on the deck of a Fred Holland house when I'm old and gray I'm sure. We love you!
4 years ago
After finding bed bugs in the first house and being moved to a 2nd location. 14 people in 4 bedrooms. We spent the next day of our 5 day vacation cleaning up dead bed bugs from the smaller house so we had place to stay. Now no answer from the loaction of any return of our money for rhe days wasted.
4 years ago
MY experience at 313 Ocean Villa Condo
What is the name of the owner? I checked in late Thursday night, NOT Friday. I saw nothing indicating there was no internet, NOR did I admit that, NOR was I thinking you could provide it for me at the last minute. The first time I realized there was no internet was when we got the empty envelope. I saw nothing indicating anything about this. If I had, I would never have rented this unit. I was told that I'd get a discount for Thursday night and I hope they at least will be honest about that. The internet was the least of our problems. I have pictures that will show how the water was getting into the unit, but we stopped it from running over the ledges and getting on the carpets in both rooms. I would like to see the documentation indicating all these things you are now stating. You;ve not addressed half of my concerns and this doesn't shock me at all. When should I expect my $100 damage deposit money?
4 years ago
MY experience at 313 Ocean Villa Condo
I have stayed in many, many condos in my life and this was without ANY doubt the worst experience in a rental that I've ever had. 1) We arrived at Fred Holland Realty at 11:30PM, Thursday, Sept 1, 2016 to pick up our keys. Nothing was in the envelope. I called the company and someone came out and gave us the keys. NO big deal. Mistakes happen. 2) Bathroom in master bath was filthy, no sheets on bed. Phone call was made the next AM to inform them. I was told they would send housecleaning over and also that they didn't make the beds, they only supplied the sheets. Housekeeping NEVER showed up and we had to clean the toilets. Then the tropical storm came in and we had water seeping into main room and master bedroom. I used towels to protect the carpet. I then called and asked for more towels and was told that they only issue enough towels to accommodate the # of people in the condo. I informed them I HAD to use the towels to protect the carpet from the water that was coming in, so they decided I could have more towels. I was told someone would be out to look at this and they NEVER showed. I then asked for another condo. I was first told that they would let me know if they had anything available and would get back with me. Once again, they NEVER returned my phone call so I called again and they said they were still checking. I was then told they would be able to accommodate us with another unit. NEVER heard back from them. Once again, I called and then was told there were no units available? The straw that broke the camels back is when we noticed dried blood on the bedspread in another bedroom. I knew it would be of no use to call them, so these two people slept on the couch. This happened all before Saturday. Unbelievable to me. Linens were yellow and NOT white. They ALL looked dirty. We rent from Dunne's Rental on Folly 2 times a year and NEVER once had any of these issues. I am asking for a partial refund for lack of what we paid for. Hopefully this can be done without having to go further. After I got back to Florida, I had 2 messages on my home phone that they were going to show this place to someone. I had no idea this was a possibility and would never had consented to this. They had my cell phone, so I'm assuming they took people in there while we weren't there. This was not ok. When I rented this unit, it said only that some unit's may not have internet. They NEVER told me that mine had no internet. This information should have been given to me prior to my renting, I should not have to ask. Lesson learned with this on my part. The carpets were filthy.....this list could go on and on, but I've highlighted just the big ones. Again, I am asking for a partial refund for paying for something that was unacceptable to us. Karen Upton 352 672 6511
Response from Fred Holland Realty
I (the owner) checked the tenant in. It took me 5 minutes to arrive with her fobs. It was a Friday. It is clearly printed on all our documents on this unit that it does not have internet. Tenant admitted that but was thinking we could provide it for her at the last minute. We make sure it is clearly printed that this unit has no internet. We did not refund anything to guest the storm was over in 3 or 4 hours. There was no evacuation or state of emergency for the state of SC. No damage was done to the ocean front villas. Winds were only 28 to 30 on the beach. Beds are not made on any unit and that is stated also. The internet seems to be the issue. I had spoken to the tenant the day before and according to the track of the storm it was going to be fine to travel from Florida. We check in 60 new guest on Friday no one had a problem with the storm.
5 years ago
Working with John Byram was a pleasure! He made finding a house very easy and walked me through the home buying process with ease.