Fred Monitello General Contractor

Kitchen Remodeling

Van Nuys, CA 91406

Contractor's License: # 468815
Open Today 7:00AM - 7:00PM

vannuyscontractor.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

R
3 years ago
We will only do business with licensed and insured contractors who are recommended by the California League of Homeowners. We had a problem with our living room floor (wood construction) that was created by another contractor hired by the lender (foreclosure) before we purchased the house. Fred was one of three contractors that we invited to bid the job. Of the three, Fred was the only one that actually did an inspection and came up with a satisfactory solution to our problem. The job entailed removing the floor and all supports, excavating 3-4 feet of soil, extending the depth of the foundation, sealing against water intrusion, additional concrete work, and installing a new floor with a superior support structure. Fred kept us well informed throughout the process and we were sufficiently impressed with his work and professionalism that we had him do some additional jobs that included drywall, electrical and plumbing work that we had been putting off. Fred knows his business and is very thorough. We can recommend him without hesitation.
N
3 years ago
thanks
this is very informative
S
3 years ago
Ugh, I didn't realize in my last review that I had pushed the 4th star and not the 5th but don't know how to change it. Fred is a complete 5 stars up.
S
3 years ago
We started working with Fred on a fairly routine and simple project, replacing door casings and baseboards. However based on the job he did, we decided to hire him to do additional work in our home. We have found Fred easy to work, fair, conscientious, trustworthy and meticulous in his work. All of which are hard to find these days. We wouldn't hesitate to hire Fred again as our contractor. SG
B
3 years ago
Reliable, good crew, communicates well, good with building septs and homeowners.
On my first encounter with this contractor, I had 8 very large windows replaced on my second floor condo. Because my windows are large and oversized because of 10' ceilings - he felt the windows were too heavy to be handled safely by his men on tall platforms. Without a discussion, he ordered at his expense - a crane to haul them up so they could be pushed in safely. Fred was there the entire time to supervise the smoothly run installation. I volunteered payment when the bill was presented - he did not ask for it for I appreciated his concern for his crew's safety. After the windstorm that hit Pasadena over a year ago, my patio roof and screens were demolished. Fred sought all the permits and discussions with the inspectors without a wrinkle to restore and upgrade my patio and install three large windows. He matched the design on the roof to match that of the main structure and kept it all in good taste to meet the building design. I have called him "mellow Monitello".
V
3 years ago
I have done business with Fred Monitello on many different levels for the past 35 plus years.He has been a client of mine and I have been a client of his and I have always been completely satisfied with his work and I have referred him to family , friends,and clients on many occasions.He has "old school" values and with that comes integrity,honesty,and a vast wealth of knowledge that you can not get on the internet.He also has a heart of gold and very compassionate.He has helped elderly people in need and not charged for his services and many other charitable favors as he is truly a good person.He does quality work and I consider him to be an asset to my business as I can call on him any time for construction advice.
J
3 years ago
Fred Monitello did a wonderful job on my remodel. Not only is he pleasant and personable, but a stickler for perfection He followed up on every last detail until the job was completed. I would definitely use him again and would recommend him to my friends.
J
3 years ago
Fred Monitello did a great job on my project. He is a perfectionist and checked in regularly as work progressed. He is pleasant and easy to work with. My only complaint might be with his electrician. Too much wall was cut out for new box and also uneven making it necessary to use over-sized plates. All in all, I would work with Fred again and would highly recommend him.