Garage Door Xpress

Garage Door Contractor

Nevada City , CA

CA Contractor License: 1010046
Closed Today Closed

garagedoorrepairgrassvalley.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
2 weeks ago
This is the right place to call!!
Purchased my first home in Sacramento, CA and it needed a new garage door and opener. I was referred to Sam. He absolutely changed the look and feel of our home. he was quick, efficient, communicative and I'm blown away by the quality of his work. His recommendations of what would best fit my budget and home where exactly what I needed. If you need any work done, contact Sam!
J
2 months ago
Top Quality Repair Service!
Our garage door stopped working and needed repair. After checking garage door repair services in Grass Valley, we contacted Sam. We live in Downieville, a 1+ hour drive from Grass Valley and it's a challenge to get any company to make the drive to help. The only reason I was hesitant to write a review is that 5 star businesses get swamped and I want to know we can call Sam again and he'll have time to come out! Sam was great. Very professional, explained the problem and let us know what it would take to fix it. His quote seemed fair and he repaired the garage door on the spot. He also took a look at our other two garage doors and serviced them at no extra charge. I don't write reviews but felt compelled to give Sam a huge shout-out!! Don't hesitate to contact him if you need anything that has to do with garage door installation or repair!
J
4 months ago
Exceeded Expectations
Sam came with one day notice, arrived early, recommended $150 repair rather than $1800 replacement, fixed door on the spot in less than an hour, lubricated and adjusted everything, told me what had happened and why. He had replaced door on my rental earlier this year quickly & professionally and economically...haven't had a better experience with any contractor, these guys are gems!
J
4 months ago
Exceeded Expectations
Sam came with one day notice, arrived early, recommended $150 repair rather than $1800 replacement, fixed door on the spot in less than an hour, lubricated and adjusted everything, told me what had happened and why. He had replaced door on my rental earlier this year quickly & professionally and economically...haven't had a better experience with any contractor, these guys are gems!
K
2 years ago
Fast, friendly
The garage door at the mobile home park I manage has been broken for well over a year now. We've had to prop it open with numerous types of devices, the recent being a putty knife. I called Garage Door Xpress. They were here in 40 minutes and had my door fixed in 5! Sam was fast, friendly and professional! I would highly recommend him!
T
3 years ago
Excellent Door and Opener, Excellently Installed!
After 25+ years, our worn out garage door was shot. It was now too heavy to lift manually, jammed part way up, the rollers were skewed bending the track and roller pins. It was a steel 16' x 7', 5-section "2 car" garage door, very heavy, cranky, unbalanced, out of adjustment or square, unliftable without the opener, which also had problems with its remotes working intermittently. And the door was slowly rusting, near the ground! Time for a new door and opener! New doors were not only nicer looking, with embossed panels and a choice of window styles, they also now have safety equipment the old one didn't, and could be gotten with insulation, making the Man Cave useful longer each year. I opted for all of it. I did my usual three quotes, two with local installers and one with Sears home improvements, who came up from Auburn to do the estimate. Surprisingly the estimates were all over, ranging from $1500 to well over $3000. GDX/Sam's estimate came in just a tad over the lowest ballpark quote I got, and far lower than the Sears estimate (the highest), but I had a better gut feeling about Sam's experience and his local availability. I like to buy local when I can, so I decided to go with Garage Door Express, based here in Grass Valley. Sam gave me a free estimate, and then a quote that was very fair, in fact he was $1250 less than Sears for a near-exact, comparable door and opener. Garage Door Express is a one man operation, and Sam doesn't need a crew. He is prompt and courteous, works steadily and quickly, by himself. He's a local guy, so you won't have to call an 800 number just to schedule a return visit for adjustments etc. or to have maintenance performed. I also liked Sam's easy approach to his quote-- he does not nickle and dime you with every little thing as Sears did, he just says This much for Door, This much for Opener, Installed. After being nibbled to death by ducks in my other quotes, I appreciated some simplicity. Garage door hardware and technology had changed substantially in 25 years in terms of both materials and construction, so I had a lot of options to choose from. The companies went over the new stuff with me, leaving brochures and suggestions. Note: At one time, young and foolish, I may have attempted to do this job myself, with a friend. Now that a bad knee and fractured back eliminated that possibility, I was forced to accept that I could not do so now. After watching this professional work, I am SO glad I didn't try it myself, because it would have been vastly more complicated and difficult than I ever expected! Sam makes it look easy, but it is definitely NOT. 16' long steel panels, old coming out or new panels in, were much heavier than I expected and Sam is a stocky guy, used to moving them. His experience gives him the best way to do things and the best sequence of operations needed for doing the job, one correct step at a time. He has all the right tools that I would say, most homeowners, even experienced DIYers, don't have at home. He has his own ladders, too. You will need to remove any tools, furniture, junk, obstructions etc. in the area around the door, so he can get in and go to work. Once he does, he goes at it, with skill and energy, and I was quite impressed. He manages to remove the old door and its hardware and track, puts them up on his truck, moves the new ones in and assembles each panel, placing them in the track he fitted to the garage wall and suspended from the overhead trusses. The new door was in, in a morning of focused, skilled work, with Sam doing all the work-- he is a good crew of one. I love the new door, and several other guys who noticed it, thought it was pretty good too. It works smoothly and quietly and has a keypad on the outside and two remotes, as well as working with my Toyota's programmable remote opener button. It looks great and enhanced the look of the house a lot. The new door has actual hinges and rollers, all of which are available down the road, should something happen to the new door. I am very pleased with the hardware, and with Sam's excellent installation. I recommend him highly.
T
3 years ago
Skilled, prompt, friendly, fair
We had a spring break on our garage door. Called Sam first thing Monday morning, and he said he could be out in an hour to have a look. He was prompt and friendly. He had the necessary springs with him and did the work right away. Partly due to the advanced age of the door, he recommended we change out the drums and we agreed. While doing the work he found a different problem with the way the last motor was installed, and he fixed it for us at no extra charge. He could tell where some issues had occurred in the past and told us where to look for sagging that would indicate a fixable problem before it became a bigger problem. He was very knowledgeable, friendly, professional, and his price was fair. We would highly recommend Garage Door Xpress. Thank you Sam!
B
3 years ago
High Quality Service
Sam came out to my house and fixed my garage door perfectly! He was very kind and professionali would recommend him to anyone!
T
4 years ago
Service,Price & Quality
I have had a long standing relationship with Sam at Garage Door Xpress. He has worked on a number of my garage doors through the years. He always does a thorough inspection before he starts and never sells me what I don't need. Sam's knowledge of his business shines. It's nice to see someone at work and you know just by watching them that they really know what they are doing. Thank you GDX
C
4 years ago
Update on Connie R 's review on 4/26/2016
I would like to clarify that the company's name that installed the Craftsman Garage door was "Garage Door Xpress" from Grass Valley, rather than Sear's Garage Door. Again........Thanks for a Great job Sam!