German Autowerks

Auto Repair Shop

7355 SE Tualatin Valley Hwy.

Hillsboro, OR 97123

Closed Today Closed

hillsboroautomotiverepair.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
7 months ago
Hand Picked
After shopping about 6 shops 5 years ago to do whatever work I may need on my 87 Westfalia I was so impressed by the interest Tony took in my Westy that German Autowerks became my goto shop, I have never regretted that choice. I just had some major work done including head gaskets + a ton of other work...I thought the price was very fair and I trust that the work was done right. Thanks to Tony, Debbie and their staff.......#stormyonthemove
C
10 months ago
Prompt service that exceeded expectations
While driving to class, the "Check Engine" light came on in my 2005 Passat. After verifying with the place that did my recent oil change that I had no loose caps that could be triggering things, they recommended that I take my car in to German Autowerks. They told me that they were the best in dealing with Volkswagen issues, and they were correct. My problem was diagnosed quickly (thermostat/temp control), all possible repairs were quoted at a fair price, and when it came to the service they also checked other potential trouble areas (namely, they replaced worn spark plugs). I took my car in at 8 a.m. and was driving it home by noon, everything running perfectly and with a car that was as clean as I had left it. I would highly recommend other VW drivers turn to German Autowerks to take care of their repair needs. Thanks to the staff for making this a great experience!
S
10 months ago
thank you for your Great work,I can always count on your shop to take care of my 68 bug and keep it going... You go the extra mile on your work always !!!!
L
11 months ago
Quality service in a timely manner
I stopped bye in the morning and asked to make an appointment to have some codes checked and work planned. They were able to get me in on the same day and completed the work quickly. I was informed about the codes and what work was needed as well as what work might be needed in the near future with the mileage I have on the vehicle.
D
1 year ago
simple, fair and quick
I r&ra synthetic oil change for my 2009 350E and it was done in a little over an hour. A degraded lamp socket needed to be ordered and removed and replaced. They quick ordered the lampholder and had it in 1-1/2 hours and installed it and I am back on the road. The pricing was fair; the repairs were quick. I'll be back
T
1 year ago
Incompetent repair shop who knows how to work the dispute process.
They tried to repair a cold start problem and could not fix the issue.  After 3 failed attempts, instead of promptly returning the payment, we had to go through a credit card dispute.   I won the dispute, but it took some effort.  Here are some notes: 1) They have been through the credit card dispute process many times before (obviously... since they don't have the expertise to repair my German Auto).  They knew exactly what to say to the credit card company and my credit card company actually ruled in their favor.  I had to take it to the next level and pin them on their legally advertised 18 month warranty to hold them accountable. 2) The total process took 6 months.  They fabricated excuses and reasons to delay the process as much as possible.  I believe that their business model is to drag issues such as this out as much as possible until the customer gives up.  For $800, it really wasn't worth my time, but i was angered and i could not let these thieves steal my money without a battle.  If they were going to steal my money, I wanted to make sure they actually earn it, :) 3)  Here are the actual documented excuses they claimed:    Excuse #1 - the car was actually fixed; customer must provide proof that it was not fixed.  I rejected this excuse because their 4th diagnosis was to have additional reprogramming needed.    Excuse #2 - they claimed to have made a verbal offer to pay for reprogramming at the dealership but customer declined the offer (THIS IS ANOTHER LIE).  This was closed by my offer to take the car to the dealership for the final reprogramming.     Excuse #3 - they did not want to schedule the appointment with the dealership, but only offer to reimburse me.  This was rejected by me.  They finally made the appointment after i proposed to take it to arbitration.   Excuse #4 - they made the appointment, but refused to pay upfront.  they wanted me to agree that i would end the dispute if they agreed to pay upfront.  I reminded them that they failed 3 times, and that if they failed again, then i will still require a full refund.   They finally agreed to a full reimbursement without the reprogramming at the dealership.  This was in May, a full 5 months after their failure to repair my car. After the agreement, i still had to send documented emails, deadlines, and warnings of legal action before they returned my payment in June (another full month of delays).  6 full months. They are very good at lying.  They know how to lie and reel in new customers, and how to lie and work the dispute process.   Don't let them waste your time. Find a legitimate repair shop.
G
1 year ago
seems like a place I will return to. I believe they want to make sure you are satisfied with the work performed. I have a system that is pretty obsolete and it can be a time consumer to repair. They did their best but I couldn't keep chasing leaks of the hydraulic suspension .