German Autowerks

Auto Repair Shop

1821 Augusta Road

West Columbia, SC 29169

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
5 months ago
update
I've been trying to take my problem car around. the car has shut off on me several times on the way to other garages and it still leaks a lot of coolant. 8 full containers at this point. Now they are trying to use the law to say I have not paid and they particularly want me to take down the truthful reviews I've posted to a lot of places. Now I know for sure the kind of service people will get when they go there. At least my reviews are documented and truthful. Not lilke the false ones, they have been putting up.
H
5 months ago
BEST IN COLUMBIA SOUTH CAROLINA
I was looking for a maintenance shop just browsing because my BMW 525xi needed some work done. So I'm the type of person I'll go check about 4 or 5 different shops before I make my decision because I don't know anything about cars. So I first took my vehicle to Bmw of Columbia they gave me an estimate, so after that one of my friends recommended browns on broad river after getting an estimate they explained to me the total fees which I was spending about $100 dollars less than Bmw... so at this point I'm. Completely fed up bc I wasn't spending $4700 for a 2006. So a few days past and this woman I met in the mall Just talking she recommended Germain auto werks I took my car there and I act like I didn't know what was wrong with it. So Ashely called and told me everything that was wrong with my car. Which everything BMW said was wrong the mechanics at this shop she said the same exact same thing. So I went with them bc I was saving money. I'm extremely satisfied with the service and highly recommend for anyone who wants to receive great service and not pay dealership pricing
J
5 months ago
long wait, poor service, changing problems
First I'd like to say that after we finally got this car back from German Autowerkz ( two months that other garages aid should have taken a week at most)\ the check engine light came on. It still has the original misfire and cam timing problems. New problems are the passenger side headlight will not cut off unless you disconnect the battery, intake problems, and a major coolant leak. they caused this problem and admitted to it on one of the occasion they were supposed to be putting the engine back together. Fix the problems they were paid to fix? Nope they don't want to do any work on the car nor do they want to fix the new problems they caused. then I looked up the list of law suites against them. Wish I had done that in the first place. Had a recommendation to take my just bought VW Jetta to this place. It had a definite lack of power and some bad lights. Later found out the person doing the recommendation was telling us lies. Looks like she didn't like us. Her husband's sister told us the truth. Bad service, a claim the car was stolen and was totaled. I wish we had known this before going down there and had seen a few of the bad results of other people as well. We took the car down and with out even seeing what color the car was, the owner told us it was the timing chain, but he would look at it. We were told, two days later, the car could not start for them at all. "Yes, it is a broken timing chain", the owner stated. We did see someone under the hood of the car in the parking lot when we drove back by there 30 minutes later. TWO MONTHS later .... with us being told for two weeks of that time that they had the cover of the engine off we finally get the car back. During the waiting period we were told the machine shop had finally been sent the head and they would have to determine how many gaskets it would need. We were also told that with a broken timing chain the piston ( told to us the first time), the fuel injectors ( the second time), or the valves ( third choice of what an additional problem) might be bent. Well it seemed to take a week for the machine shop, they won't tell us which one they sent it to, to get the motor back. then the problems really started with the mechanics at German. On a couple of occasions, they kept breaking the gaskets when they tried to put the engine together. Then there was a major coolant leak they had to fix. Then finally, they bent some fuel injectors and had to fix those. Finally we got a call from them, which was the first time they actually called me. I had to call them to keep getting an update of the progress of the car. they said the car is ready, but they would not recommend me picking it up until I had the timing chain fixed. that would be an additional $2,000. Funny how it was the chain in the first place and the owner said between the chain and the bent pistons, fuel injectors/valves it would cost about $2,000. Which the estimate was changed twice when we tried to pick the car up. $2,800 was now the final estimate he claimed to give. We took the car home and it drove so-so. Not great but it moved. The next day the check engine light came on. Also the passenger side lights would not cut off even when the car was cut off. I had to start disconnecting the battery each night. Then the coolant started leaking. I have to fill the system up every time I drive the car. We still have a lose of power, but at times it seems to come back. I'm going to let the mechanic Advance auto recommended to me to check the car over. At a glance they think the engine is now totally shot and it looks like I will have to get rid of the car. My girlfriend is disabled and is totally dependent of me to take her to doctor appointments. Because of German telling us so many times the car would be ready and it was not, she was dropped by one of her doctors and it cost me employment. As the guy at Advance Auto told me, he has heard of them and I was a fool to take it to them. I think what clinches it for me is that when we went to pick up the car, the owner tried to put the blame on everyone but them. First the guy for selling the car in the first place and then finally me for not having checked it out. I hate to tell him, but we did have it checked and for about a week it ran fine. This guy diagnoses and repairs by crystal ball. Looking up a history of German Autowerks and their law suits, I would say just by that I would not take anything to them. I would also recommend that you do as I did and document every word they say and even record it.
J
6 months ago
Poor service from what I call a crook
Had a recommendation to take my just bought VW Jetta to this place. It had a definite lack of power and some bad lights. Later found out the person doing the recommendation was telling us lies. Looks like she didn't like us. Her husband's sister told us the truth. Bad service, a claim the car was stolen and was totaled. I wish we had known this before going down there and had seen a few of the bad results of other people as well. We took the car down and with out even seeing what color the car was, the owner told us it was the timing chain, but he would look at it. We were told, two days later, the car could not start for them at all. "Yes, it is a broken timing chain", the owner stated. We did see someone under the hood of the car in the parking lot when we drove back by there 30 minutes later. TWO MONTHS later .... with us being told for two weeks of that time that they had the cover of the engine off we finally get the car back. During the waiting period we were told the machine shop had finally been sent the head and they would have to determine how many gaskets it would need. We were also told that with a broken timing chain the piston ( told to us the first time), the fuel injectors ( the second time), or the valves ( third choice of what an additional problem) might be bent. Well it seemed to take a week for the machine shop, they won't tell us which one they sent it to, to get the motor back. then the problems really started with the mechanics at German. On a couple of occasions, they kept breaking the gaskets when they tried to put the engine together. Then there was a major coolant leak they had to fix. Then finally, they bent some fuel injectors and had to fix those. Finally we got a call from them, which was the first time they actually called me. I had to call them to keep getting an update of the progress of the car. they said the car is ready, but they would not recommend me picking it up until I had the timing chain fixed. that would be an additional $2,000. Funny how it was the chain in the first place and the owner said between the chain and the bent pistons, fuel injectors/valves it would cost about $2,000. Which the estimate was changed twice when we tried to pick the car up. $2,800 was now the final estimate he claimed to give. We took the car home and it drove so-so. Not great but it moved. The next day the check engine light came on. Also the passenger side lights would not cut off even when the car was cut off. I had to start disconnecting the battery each night. Then the coolant started leaking. I have to fill the system up every time I drive the car. We still have a lose of power, but at times it seems to come back. I'm going to let the mechanic Advance auto recommended to me to check the car over. At a glance they think the engine is now totally shot and it looks like I will have to get rid of the car. My girlfriend is disabled and is totally dependent of me to take her to doctor appointments. Because of German telling us so many times the car would be ready and it was not, she was dropped by one of her doctors and it cost me employment. As the guy at Advance Auto told me, he has heard of them and I was a fool to take it to them. I think what clinches it for me is that when we went to pick up the car, the owner tried to put the blame on everyone but them. First the guy for selling the car in the first place and then finally me for not having checked it out. I hate to tell him, but we did have it checked and for about a week it ran fine. This guy diagnoses and repairs by crystal ball. Looking up a history of German Autowerks and their law suits, I would say just by that I would not take anything to them.
R
9 months ago
Amazing customer service!
I am so happy to have found this shop for my repairs and maintenance of my 2010 GLK with over 131,000 miles! Fortunately, I have a great car and repairs are minimal but the customer service and honesty have made me a repeater for sure!
R
10 months ago
Awesome Customer Service!
Brandon and Ashely provided the best customer service I have received from an auto shop. They are personable, gracious, and kind. Brandon also ensures your car is thoroughly diagnosed and he provides honest guidance regarding your best next steps. Thank you so much again for being so kind!
J
11 months ago
Friendly, Accommodating and Knowledgeable Service
We were passing through Columbia last weekend when our car (Volvo V70r) stalled alongside the road. It started back up as if nothing had happened and we were able to keep driving, but were unsure if something was really wrong. Before continuing our trip we stopped by German Autowerks without notice and they took time out of their day without question to check out the car and scan the codes to make sure nothing was out of line. Thanks for helping us out when we were in need!!!
J
1 year ago
Great Mechanics
Finally! Someone who knows how to fix my Porsche! It took 3 shops but I am happy to say it's fixed and better than ever thanks to German Autowerks.
J
1 year ago
Personal
I have been going to this shop for years. I used to go with my dad to take his Mercedes. Now that I have a family of my own I can now take my children. I know i'm gettimg great work at a trustworthy place. Brandon knows all of his customers and always tells us to come on in whenever I call. I love this shop!
S
1 year ago
Great service.
I love taking my car to German Autowerks. They always know exactly what's wrong with my car and always fix it at an affordable price. Brandon is the very best German car mechanic in South Carolina!!