Grove & Platt Dental Associates PLC

Dentist

1541 SE. 3rd Street Ste# 300

Grimes, IA 50111

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

K
6 days ago
They were ready for me at my scheduled appointment time with efficient service and a thorough explanation of what was found. Very courteous and made “going to the dentist” a pleasant experience. I’ll be back!
K
2 weeks ago
Amazing Care
We are so thankful for Grove & Platt Dental! They take such great care of our family! They are always so friendly and kind!
K
3 weeks ago
Wow Quality!
Everybody was super happy and friendly. The hygienist did a great job of explaining everything. The office felt comfortable. Grove and Platt has gone above and beyond expectations!
E
4 weeks ago
Fast and friendly
I was late for my regular check up but I was getting my teeth cleaned after a 5 minute wait. Everyone is really nice, and I was in and out in less than 40 minutes. They are so good I won’t go anywhere else!
A
1 month ago
Rush Appointment
I was just there 2 weeks ago for my cleaning but cracked a molar tooth on a Friday night. I called first thing on Monday and they got me in right away. They explained what happened and what is needed to correct my tooth. Every person from check in to check out are all such nice people. Grimes is so lucky to have such a first class dentist office.
P
2 months ago
Great dentists and hygienists
I am completely happy with this business. I trust the dentists and their recommendations and believe they do what is best for their patients. Sometimes the billing can get confusing, but medical/dental billing and dealing with insurance is almost always complicated.
B
2 months ago
Excellent Service
Another excellent experience at Grove & Platt. The warm neck wrap is amazing. Everyone is very friendly. They are thorough and efficient in patient care.
R
2 months ago
Goods, Great, Fantastic
Just repaired two teeth in the front. In & out in under an hour, filling coloring is awesome and ‘looks’ is just right! Thanks
E
2 months ago
Nothing Personal, Just Business
I've been coming to G&P for a while so this is a broader review than just one experience. I have to give them only 3 stars because while they have some strengths, they also have some weaknesses. Also, because I haven't had any cavities or tooth problems for them to work on, my review is focused primarily on staff OTHER than the dentists themselves. Regarding the hygienists, some of them are very good. I don't ask for a specific one so I've had several different ones. A couple of times I've gone it has been almost relaxing to get my teeth cleaned and they were considerate when doing xrays. Other times... not so good. Once the hygienist just couldn't seem to suction the water out right and I had to keep trying to swallow to keep the water from being too much. This last time the hygienist hurt me on almost every single tooth with the water pick. It felt like my tooth roots were being pricked. All of the hygienists have been cordial and considerate however when something is brought to their attention. Regarding the front office, the staff are nice enough but the layout is awful. It feels like people are falling over each other to figure out which window to approach, who to go to in order to pay and schedule, and so on. There is no clear path and you almost have a traffic jam at the entrance between those coming and those going. I don't know of an easy solution to this problem but perhaps an interior designer could help? Regarding billing, this is atrocious. I have privately secured insurance (not through work) and the billing system they use is very unclear. They estimate what insurance will be and then collect up front the remainder, which is sometimes wrong. This resulted in a refund check once, wrong billing for a child another time, being double billed for my wife's treatment another time, and their system shows them all of your records but what you receive is truncated with "carried forward" bills that have already been paid. Regarding electronic communication, they are quite active in these regards. In one sense, they provide helpful reminders and even like feedback. In another sense, it feels like they are harassing you to come when you scheduled an appointment. Getting texts, calls, emails, and so forth can help reduce people missing appointments, but it is also a turn off when the impression given is, "You're coming in, right? RIGHT?!?" Regarding the dentists themselves, one who no longer works there (and thus isn't affecting my rating) always seemed to be bothered by having to visit patients and answer questions. I've never had any real work done on my teeth but as other reviews state and their reputation would imply, they do a good job. It is unfortunate then that during the 5 minutes you see them after you get your teeth cleaned, it feels like they are merely checking the work of their hygienists instead of looking for cavities, tooth problems, gum issues, etc. It gives the distinct impression that you're not a patient, you're a crammed in obligation. So as the title would suggest to my review, it feels like it is a medical business and not personal care for your teeth. I'm not looking for a conversation ('cause my mouth is being worked on anyway), but it is the practice around the edges, outside of the operating room, that feel very impersonal. I stick with this business because I feel that my family would have good care if we did have problems with our teeth, but I'm not sure I'd recommend this business to others who are undecided.
J
2 months ago
Exceptional personal care!