Holmes Photography Studio LLC

Photographer

200 N Bridge St

Grand Ledge, MI 48837

Open Today 24 Hours

portraitphotographergrandledge.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

K
1 month ago
Nothing but professional, Very accommodating, Great quality
One of my main concerns about proposing over the 4th of July weekend was finding a great photographer who was affordable and would be available on short notice. After exhausting my efforts, I was pointed in the direction of Holmes Photography. I had 2 days to make this happen and Chris was on it! I told him what I needed and he had no problem delivering. He captured our moment perfectly while blending in with the action and allowing everyone to share in the fun. He was insanely professional, knew what we wanted, and turned out quality shots. I could not have asked for a better outcome. I highly recommend his services!
M
2 months ago
Exellent Work & Excellent Service!
Our entire experience with Holmes Photography was easy and enjoyable! It started off wonderful during our engagement session, where Chris and Mary were able to make us feel comfortable and capture us truly having fun. Neither of us were accustomed to having lots of pictures taken, but Chris and Mary chatted with us during the session, making everything look very natural. My husband and I were really flexible on where the pictures would be done, and the choices that were recommended fit us perfectly. We loved the pictures so much, that we decided to do a majority of our wedding pictures in the same locations! We had just as positive experience for our pre-wedding planning and working with Holmes Photography both for pictures and for their support with the chapel. They were very supportive of our relaxed approach to planning and offered suggestions along the way. I was particularly impressed with their ability to capture the fantastic pictures of all of our nieces and nephews. At the time, we had 8 young nieces and nephews as the flower girls and ring bearers. They managed the chaos so well! The pictures of the kids during the ceremony will be some of our favorites for years. I can't speak highly enough of the pictures we have of our wedding. Holmes Photography didn't miss any of the groups or actions we had requested. They also surprised me with pictures that I wouldn't have even requested. We have such a perfect timeline of our entire day, really captured all the best moments! Whenever I have shared pictures from Holmes, I get rave reviews and people are continually impressed with the quantity and quality. After the wedding, Chris still supported us with our relaxed approach to ordering our album. We hadn't been in a rush, and he stayed on top of helping us on each step (he was more proactive than we were!). We really enjoyed working with Holmes Photography for our engagement session and wedding day! Thanks!!
J
5 months ago
Disappointed
When you hire two photographers for eight hours each, you'd expect more than 650 pictures. Especially considering at least 50 of those are duplicates, and another 50 are of random things, and not people. At the reception they sat at a table and ate as though they were guests. Communication with Chris was difficult at every step. Once we finally got the pictures, one of the pics was the marquee outside the chaple(which they also own) and the date was wrong. When I pointed it out to him, he apologized, blamed his adult son, then told me since it wasn't in the contract they put the marquee up, it's no big deal. We requested changes to some of the pictures(black and white be in color etc) and that took even longer to get. We had a guest pass away a month after the wedding and asked if he could send us any more pics that may include him, Chris didn't have any. I have to assume that's because he sent every picture he took. Again two photographers, eight hours each, 660 pics. When we finally got the actual album(9 months after the wedding), there was a delivery snafu that wasn't Chris's fault. But when my wife called him to find the album he hung up on her. When I called him twenty minutes later and started to tell him about my disappointment , he hung up on me too. I emailed him , and a week later there has been no response.
Response from Holmes Photography Studio LLC
Hi Jim - I need to clarify some errors in your review. I am sorry for the disappointment first off, but there is much misinformation in what you say. The reason for less than our normal amount of images was largely due to your choice not to go anywhere between the wedding and reception because you stated it was too hot and yes it was hot but we tried to encourage you that this was your wedding day and you should take advantage of us to get some nice images at a local park. You again stated it was too hot so we went to your house instead with extremely limited photography options due to your yard being in shambles since you had just moved in. When my wife who was assisting me was trying to help with group shots and was being lighthearted to help with the smiles, you were very rude to her stating: "We don't need a comedian". As far as communication being a challenge, it began when you asked me to send you a copy of your paperwork which I did right away (but you failed to mention you had moved) so when I checked with you after a rather irritated email from you because you had not yet received the paperwork I got my receipt from the post office and when I read the address to you, you stated - Oh that makes sense why it hasn't arrived - we moved since then. The paperwork did arrive at your new address after it was forwarded showing it had been mailed as we stated. Every step of the way you have been very critical and difficult to deal with - not a pleasant word from you during this entire process. As far as eating dinner at the reception - it is literally in our contract that we eat when you eat as we are working a 6-8 hour day so we don't have the opportunity to get a meal elsewhere. As far as photographing miscellaneous things, those are referred to as "detail" shots. Table settings (each of your table settings were unique with comic book characters etc. and you requested we get these images so I'm not at all sure what you are referring to here.) And most importantly, I never hung up on anyone. In fact I thought you hung up on me! Obviously the connection from one of our cell phones dropped and you assumed the worst - and to be fair I did too. Otherwise I would have called you back. I have never and never will ever hang up on anyone so to post this is completely unfair and literally wrong. As I was trying to explain at the time - I was trying to HELP you guys get your album because the delivery service sent me an alert that there was a failure to deliver due to no one being around to sign for it. So when we received another email from them that it was at the local facility I sent my wife across town to pick it up and hand deliver to your home. Instead of either acknowledging it was a snafu on the delivery service's part and saying thank you for trying to help - you and your wife proceeded to scream at me over the phone asking me why we picked it up. We had absolutely no way of knowing that the delivery service had also contacted you to pick it up so we did our best to help and instead of any even civil conversation I got yelled at. Reviews are fine - but they should also be fair and accurate.
L
8 months ago
High quality service
Would highly recommend Holmes Photography. They are personable and friendly. We felt comfortable with them taking pictures of us all day. Engagement and wedding pictures turned out better than expected. They were very flexible and accommodating to our schedule. They were even patient and managed to get pictures of our constantly moving hyper dog! I would recommend them for any of your photography needs.
Response from Holmes Photography Studio LLC
Thanks Leanne and Lance! We truly enjoyed working with you and all of your family members. Everyone who comes in our office always comments on the photo of you guys and Teemo? lol - what a great pup.
T
11 months ago
High quality, great service, attentive
I first met Chris at the Lansing Bridal Show. I booked that day. My husband is a farmer and Chris was very willing to work with us on our engagement pictures, especially when they turned into a winter session and we had to wait for the snow. He also was willing to come out to the family farm to take these pictures. Then we had to move our wedding up by a few months and Chris worked with us on that. It was very important to us to have him for our wedding. He arrived prior to the ceremony along with Mary. They were able to get candid pictures of us getting ready. After the ceremony, we had a large bridal party and a lot of family shots. He also was willing to take pictures at the family farm again (these our some of my favorites). We loved having two photographers for the day and getting candid shots as well. My husband and I both think we take horrible pictures and we love the pictures they took. I can proudly display our wedding pictures which to me was one of the most important things. I would highly recommend Chris and Mary and plan to book them for future needs.
Response from Holmes Photography Studio LLC
Thanks TeAnna! We truly enjoyed working with you and all of your family and friends on your wedding day and of course for your engagement session too. The photos of you two with your dogs and the cow photos are some of my favorites too!
J
1 year ago
High Quality
When we first met with Chris, he was warm, friendly and full of experience. We were not disappointed. Liz and Karah were wonderful. They were friendly, helpful and respectful. I asked that some items and some different photos be taken while we were getting dressed, etc and they were most accommodating to my requests. We took some fun shots along the way too. We have now reviewed our photos, they are high quality and very professional. The only thing I would say is that we could have had more close up shots of the bride, groom and bridal party, but in looking at the photos, I know they were trying to include background such as the stained glass or my dress or the lake as the golf club. All in all, I would say this was a very positive experience for us and our special day.
Response from Holmes Photography Studio LLC
Thank you Janet and John! We truly enjoyed helping make your day special. We are so glad you decided to let us host your wedding at our chapel, www.BridgeStreetWeddingChapel.com in Grand Ledge, MI and serve as your photographers. Our photography team of Liz and Karah were your photographers for the day and they could not say enough great things about your family and friends. Thanks again for entrusting us with your big day! Sincerely, Chris, Mary and Ryan Holmes PS - I'm looking forward to the "Lifestyle" photo session coming up in the Fall.
L
1 year ago
Chris is great!
Chris is very easy to work with. He is very accommodating to quick scheduling and does excellent work. I would recommend him to anyone!
Response from Holmes Photography Studio LLC
Thanks Laurie - You guys are always great to work with!
J
2 years ago
Professional, personable and fast!
We contacted Chris @ Holmes Photography for my son's Senior Portraits after asking around and contacting other photographers in the greater Lansing area. We felt Chris was the best choice for us-- close to home, fast service and options to be as detailed or as simple as we felt comfortable with. Chris greeted us when we arrived and put my son at ease about "posing" for pictures. Chris listened to both of our ideas and explained the process to us. We completed our studio session quickly and comfortably and look forward to some outdoor and special locations soon!
D
2 years ago
Thank you for the awesome photos and with a deadline. I appreciate it!
T
2 years ago
High quality service, professional and friendly!
Chris Holmes came to photograph my daughter's sweet 16 birthday party and I can't begin to say how happy I am with the results! He made everything so easy for us so we were able to relax and enjoy the event. The photos were amazing, fun, beautiful and Chris was so nice and professional! Having this milestone captured by him was priceless! I would highly recommend Holmes Photography!