Homestar Financial Corporation

Mortgages

245 Country Club Drive

Suite 100B and C

Stockbridge, GA 30281

Closed Today Closed

stockbridgemortgages.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

P
4 weeks ago
They are awful
Homestar sucks!! Lazy lenders!! They don't care about timelines or customers!!
B
4 weeks ago
2nd time
My 1st home loan was with Homestar and Matt Leslie was my originator. Everything went great and as expected. I can’t say enough about Matt and Laura, great customer service, so helpful. I recently used them again to refinance and again it was all perfect! 5 stars! Thank you!
J
3 months ago
branch manager at Jasper Ga
This branch manager likes to hire contractors and stiff them for their money. And then tries to blame them for what was going on already. Karma will get you. WOW this place has a lot of 1 Star bad reviews. I guess karma has been getting them already
M
4 months ago
First time home buyer nightmare
My husband and I are relocating from VA to GA and was recommended to use Homestar finance to get started. not once, but TWICE I went with them and both times they failed us miserably! first I went with Jose Martin (Loan Originator). submitted everything he asked of us. took a little while to get back to us (3 days) to just tell us our employment letter did not have the information needed. I quickly sent him the appropriate letter and asked him to get back to me when he received it. never got that call. Being this is our first time buying we have no idea what to expect, I had another friend of mine tell me to go with Jeff White ( MLO Assistant) that he will take care of us and will help us along the way. Submitted the same information and waited for him to respond. Jeff reached out about two days later to just tell me Cathy Signorile ( Branch Manager) will be reaching out to me, that she is away for Mother's day and will get back to me the following week. I did not get an update from her, called her, left her V.M to call me back, texted her to get an update. The text message was the only response I received after 2 weeks of waiting. She told me she was working on the approval letter and to expect it later that night. May 19th at 10:30pm and she is asking me about w2's..... REALLY?! Homestar had me wait for over two weeks to receive a response just to basically telling me she was just getting to my file. I am writing this review because I had TWO bad experiences from Homestar finance. Please find a better company (went with Caliber Home loans and they have treated us like priority)
K
4 months ago
If you value your sanity, please do NOT use this company
This is hands down the worst mortgage company in all of existence. They pre-approve you then dodge your calls, texts, and emails. When you are finally able to get ahold of them, they contact you as they’re leaving the office and talk to you like you’re handicapped. They require nonsense courses to get your loan approved, nonsense courses that you need to pay for out of pocket. They’re a headache, we’re about to finally close on our home, and as soon as we can we’re refinancing with a different company. If you value sleep, your money, and your sanity, for the love of God, go with a different company.
C
4 months ago
Worst Customer Service
This company has easily been the weakest link in my home buying process. I can never get a response. Everyone has a different story to tell me. They demanded that I take a home buying course before they would give me my loan. We were on the very last step that the course outlined by the time that they DEMANDED I take it. When I asked why they didn’t have me take the course sooner they blamed me for not asking about it sooner!!! HOW COULD I HAVE KNOWN ABOUT THIS COURSE!! I can’t wait to refinance and leave this terrible company behind me.
O
5 months ago
DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME - Terrible experience - Awful customer service
My husband and I worked with this company for almost 2 months being led on. We worked with Jimmy Hicks (loan originator) and Stephanie Vaughn (processor). We were looking to move from Michigan to Georgia. My husband will retire from his job in 4 months. I am not working at this time. Initially, the loan was only in my husband's name. Jimmy told my husband that we could get a house for $440,000. That was the purchase price for the home we fell in love with. My husband submitted everything that was requested of him. There was a lot of back and forth about additional information needing to be sent to Stephanie. But they never clarified what information they needed. My husband called Stephanie. From the beginning of the conversation, she was rude to him. She drilled him about the new home in GA not being his "primary" residence, since he's not retiring until August. Then she told him "we're not giving you a loan" and hung up on him. We told Jimmy about this interaction. He advised that she wouldn't be apart of the process anymore. However, the next week when Jimmy was on vacation, Stephanie began emailing late one night asking for additional information. We gave her everything that she asked for. The loan still didn't clear to close. After a lot of back and forth, Jimmy decided I should be added to the loan to establish residency. We've told them from the beginning that I would be the one to live in the house for the first couple of months until my husband retired. He had me do my own application and submit all the required materials. This still wasn't enough to get a clear to close. Jimmy kept coming back with new "ideas" - NOTHING WORKED! But they never told us what the "problem" was until the last minute. Oh did I mention that our closing date was pushed back twice! The bottom line was that we didn't have enough income, but we had PLENTY of assets. Despite the fact that we own the home we currently live in, have a rental house, and condo generates rental income as well. In the end, Jimmy suggested that we use a company called Ribbon to buy the house cash and we essentially pay them rent. Well, the underwriters at Homestar wouldn't approve that either. Deal lost... seller terminated the contract. We lost money for earnest, inspection, and appraisal. The home appraised for more than what the seller listed it for. Now it's back on the market for $15K more than the initial list price. Which was discovered off of our appraisal. This was a lose-lose situation from the beginning. It would've been nice if Jimmy could've had a conversation and understood what we were trying to do. Then he couldn't be upfront and said at this time we can't work with you right now. Not waste our time. This was an emotional roller coaster. So many highs and lows.... They just kept pretending that it was going to be okay. Dragging out a deal that he knew wasn't going to work. The deal is done and over with now. But my husband is still getting emails from Homestar talking about a "conditional approval".
E
5 months ago
High Quality Fast Service
Homestar Financial Fayetteville GA was a wonder to work with Retunda W. We were working with another lender, but they made errors on our paperwork and refused to change them. They admitted the errors were on their part, but said they would not change them. Retunda had all of our paperwork completed, and we closed on our new home within 3 WEEKS!!! If you have an opportunity to work with Retunda you cannot go wrong.
T
5 months ago
I would not recommend this company
I recently submitted an application with this company and it had been almost 3 weeks with no correspondence what so ever. The only time I had really spoken with anyone was when I was advised that I would receive a email which I did and I sent in all my personal information but I never receiving any acknowledgment of even getting that. I decided to call a week later to check the status, only to be told by the person who answered the phone that the ball was dropped somewhere and someone should be giving me a call. I am very upset being a first time perspective buying and being left in the dark this way. This is no type of way to conduct business, it’s very unprofessional! My hope is that no other person will experience such a lack of compassion during what should be a happy time in their life. I did receive a response back after basically emailing them this same response but it was too late for me at that point.
J
9 months ago
Customer Service SUCKS
If you do not read any other review, please read mine and listen. Our home loan was transferred to this financila institution. Their customer service is one of the worst that you will find out there. All you will get is an "operator" adn will NEVER be allowed to speak with a manager. DO NOT set your account up for autopay!!!! Do not. We had a manual payment submitted when the auto payment was set up. We were instructed the manual payment WILL BE canceled (per Brice). Lies, lies, and more lies every time we spoke with another "operator" Justin/Josh. We demanded them to fix their mistake and was no. It is sad at times like these that we live paycheck to paycheck and they cant live up to their mistake. One pissed off home owner.