James Otten DDS

Dentist

930 Iowa St

#1

Lawrence, KS 66044

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

L
3 months ago
Outstanding, Professional, Personalized Care With Heart
I have never written a review about anything before. However I have never been so moved to write a review as I am about the care I have received at James Otten Dentistry. I had what I believe to be quite a complicated set of issues.... Decay upon decay with TMJ. My teeth were ground down from severe night grinding, I had 6? root canals (which Dr. Otten referred me to the most wonderful fast, painless endodontist), and I can't even remember how many crowns and veneers. I am sure there were more issues than that, it just all seems like such a blur to me now. Dr. Otten and his team was working on me on a regular basis for almost 2 years until everything was finally under control. On top of that I have Generalized Anxiety Disorder which makes me a very difficult patient to work with. But Dr. Otten, Vicki, Anh, Brenda, Deb, Joanna, and Michaela, (Sorry for any misspellings) were forever patient with me. I kept traveling and having problems far away from home and calling them in a panic. They would always stay calm and call whatever needed to be called in for me where I was at the time. They will do WHATEVER it takes to take care of their patients. They are serious about quality care. Both physical and mental. Also while I was in the middle of my time there they had a break in and were wiped out of all sorts of tools and equipment (bizarre). However they were up and running again within 2 days. They knew they couldn't leave people hanging. They just won't give up on taking care of their patients. I once called in on a weekend and Dr. Otten came stopped his gardening to run in and fix my provisional veneer. Outstanding. I have moved away from Lawrence now, but I still drive 3.5 hours back to go to Dr. Otten for maintenance appointments. I wouldn't go anywhere else no matter where I lived. They make me feel like family, but still manage to maintain a professional feel about it. I trust them 100%. I can't say that about any of my medical doctors or many other people. They are worth every penny that is ever paid them. Godspeed to Anh as she moves on. She will be sorely missed. I feel as though I was given a gift in finding Dr. Otten and his team. A much needed break in this sometimes confusing, sometimes scary world.
Response from James Otten DDS
Laura - It has been an honor and privilege to help you achieve your oral health goals. We are so that you're part of our dental family. Warmest regards, Jim & Team
K
3 months ago
Thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback ... my first visit was a stellar experience: professional, personal, and thorough!
T
3 months ago
New patient w/ complex probelm
Describes excellent collaboration with periodontist re: implant. Explained goal of visit in detail and geared discussion to my level of understanding. Goal was to 'map" my mouth for implant model and evaluate mechanics of bite possible teeth grinding and other "stuff" that may contribute to periodontal disease. Great sense of humor. S taff was very cheery, helpful and competent. A bit of a revelation as to what really modern dentistry can offer in a more holistic analysis. Office arrangement and décor was well laid out and surprisingly well done. Even the lab was cool, but I’m a lab geek. Yes I’d recommend Jim aka Lola’s Dad
C
3 months ago
Satisfied new patient
Everyone in the office went out of their way to make this new patient feel welcome! The office atmosphere is calming and so are the staff. I was given an appointment quickly even though I am new, and I have another appointment scheduled. I have definitely found a dental care home!
Response from James Otten DDS
Carly, we strive to make every experience a warm and welcoming as well as informative one! Thank you for placing your trust in us. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to working with you! JOtten and team!
K
4 months ago
I love Dr. Otten an his staff!
Dr. Otten treats my whole family. Through his careful attention to detail, he's caught larger health issues for both my daughter (damaged jaw joints) and husband (severe sleep apnea) -- and his office has helped us find top-rate follow-up treatment. I also appreciate how knowledgeable and thorough his hygienist is. She's great at helping me fine-tune my home-care. The entire office really cares about their patients!
Response from James Otten DDS
Thank you Karen, we love seeing your family. Debbie
C
4 months ago
High Quality Service
I have always though Debbie was the best hygienist who has ever cleaned my teeth, plus I just plain like her. My fondness extends to everyone else in the office too. Good service, good people.
Response from James Otten DDS
Carlena, Thank you for your kinds words. I love what I do and am so happy I have the opportunity to work with you. It is always wonderful to see people like yourself who brighten my day!
J
4 months ago
Dental cleaning and checkup
As always, Dr Otten and the entire staff are professional, knowledgeable, friendly and very talented at their job. Dr Otten and Debby the hygenist are extremely thorough. They always go above and beyond average to deliver exceptional service and results. They truley care about my long term dental health.
Response from James Otten DDS
Thank you Jim, It has been my privilege to work with you.
B
4 months ago
the usual professional, cordial dental care
>>Debbie was excellent in the mechanics of the x-rays, cleaning, etc. and she made me feel at ease. Almost no pain or even discomfort.
Response from James Otten DDS
Bob I appreciate your trust in me. With your background in health care it is a huge compliment. I am so pleased I could work with you . Thank you letting me do my best work.
J
5 months ago
Personal, professional, prompt and perfect
Dr. Otten is gentle and his work is exceptional. Every member of the staff is warm, caring and excellent at what they do. I drive all the way from Kansas City for care because my teeth deserve the best. :)
Response from James Otten DDS
Thank you so much for the compliment Jackie. We take great pride in providing you with the highest quality of care. We think your teeth deserve the best also! :)
C
6 months ago
Extraordinary Service
The moment we came in everyone in the office knew my name. And it was the most thorough dental exam I have ever had.