James Otten DDS

Dentist

930 Iowa St

#1

Lawrence, KS 66044

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

B
5 months ago
We’ve been patients of Dr. Otten’s for years and have always been extremely satisfied. We feel Jim is extremely skilled, and everyone in the office is so friendly.
M
5 months ago
Just moved to Lawrence from Florida. First visit to Dr Otten’s office. When I walked into the office Dr Otten came out to greet me. His whole staff were very friendly but professional. Great service! Would recommended them highly.
J
7 months ago
Great Experience as New Patient
I'm a college student and was experiencing problems with my jaw. I looked online for a random dentist in town and saw how the organization handled a comment by a frustrated reviewer and knew that I could trust them. They saw me within two hours of my call and everyone I encountered just seemed like good people on top of being good at what they do. I have nothing bad that I could possibly say about the experience. I ended up seeing Dr. Luke Ristow, a new dentist to the team, and I was truly impressed by him. I would consider myself a demanding patient in that I need to know what is occurring and why. He listened to all my concerns and explained how and why my symptoms all lead to an infection due to an incoming wisdom tooth. On top of that, he noticed another potential issue and led me to the next steps of its correction. I find that one of the most important things about healthcare workers is their ability to communicate with their patients; Dr. Ristow and the team that I met -- Debbie, Tiffany, Debra, and Vickie -- all did so exceptionally well.
L
2 years ago
Outstanding, Professional, Personalized Care With Heart
I have never written a review about anything before. However I have never been so moved to write a review as I am about the care I have received at James Otten Dentistry. I had what I believe to be quite a complicated set of issues.... Decay upon decay with TMJ. My teeth were ground down from severe night grinding, I had 6? root canals (which Dr. Otten referred me to the most wonderful fast, painless endodontist), and I can't even remember how many crowns and veneers. I am sure there were more issues than that, it just all seems like such a blur to me now. Dr. Otten and his team was working on me on a regular basis for almost 2 years until everything was finally under control. On top of that I have Generalized Anxiety Disorder which makes me a very difficult patient to work with. But Dr. Otten, Vicki, Anh, Brenda, Deb, Joanna, and Michaela, (Sorry for any misspellings) were forever patient with me. I kept traveling and having problems far away from home and calling them in a panic. They would always stay calm and call whatever needed to be called in for me where I was at the time. They will do WHATEVER it takes to take care of their patients. They are serious about quality care. Both physical and mental. Also while I was in the middle of my time there they had a break in and were wiped out of all sorts of tools and equipment (bizarre). However they were up and running again within 2 days. They knew they couldn't leave people hanging. They just won't give up on taking care of their patients. I once called in on a weekend and Dr. Otten came stopped his gardening to run in and fix my provisional veneer. Outstanding. I have moved away from Lawrence now, but I still drive 3.5 hours back to go to Dr. Otten for maintenance appointments. I wouldn't go anywhere else no matter where I lived. They make me feel like family, but still manage to maintain a professional feel about it. I trust them 100%. I can't say that about any of my medical doctors or many other people. They are worth every penny that is ever paid them. Godspeed to Anh as she moves on. She will be sorely missed. I feel as though I was given a gift in finding Dr. Otten and his team. A much needed break in this sometimes confusing, sometimes scary world.
Response from James Otten DDS
Laura - It has been an honor and privilege to help you achieve your oral health goals. We are so that you're part of our dental family. Warmest regards, Jim & Team
K
2 years ago
Thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback ... my first visit was a stellar experience: professional, personal, and thorough!
T
2 years ago
New patient w/ complex probelm
Describes excellent collaboration with periodontist re: implant. Explained goal of visit in detail and geared discussion to my level of understanding. Goal was to 'map" my mouth for implant model and evaluate mechanics of bite possible teeth grinding and other "stuff" that may contribute to periodontal disease. Great sense of humor. S taff was very cheery, helpful and competent. A bit of a revelation as to what really modern dentistry can offer in a more holistic analysis. Office arrangement and décor was well laid out and surprisingly well done. Even the lab was cool, but I’m a lab geek. Yes I’d recommend Jim aka Lola’s Dad
C
2 years ago
Satisfied new patient
Everyone in the office went out of their way to make this new patient feel welcome! The office atmosphere is calming and so are the staff. I was given an appointment quickly even though I am new, and I have another appointment scheduled. I have definitely found a dental care home!
Response from James Otten DDS
Carly, we strive to make every experience a warm and welcoming as well as informative one! Thank you for placing your trust in us. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to working with you! JOtten and team!
K
2 years ago
I love Dr. Otten an his staff!
Dr. Otten treats my whole family. Through his careful attention to detail, he's caught larger health issues for both my daughter (damaged jaw joints) and husband (severe sleep apnea) -- and his office has helped us find top-rate follow-up treatment. I also appreciate how knowledgeable and thorough his hygienist is. She's great at helping me fine-tune my home-care. The entire office really cares about their patients!
Response from James Otten DDS
Thank you Karen, we love seeing your family. Debbie
C
2 years ago
High Quality Service
I have always though Debbie was the best hygienist who has ever cleaned my teeth, plus I just plain like her. My fondness extends to everyone else in the office too. Good service, good people.
Response from James Otten DDS
Carlena, Thank you for your kinds words. I love what I do and am so happy I have the opportunity to work with you. It is always wonderful to see people like yourself who brighten my day!
J
2 years ago
Dental cleaning and checkup
As always, Dr Otten and the entire staff are professional, knowledgeable, friendly and very talented at their job. Dr Otten and Debby the hygenist are extremely thorough. They always go above and beyond average to deliver exceptional service and results. They truley care about my long term dental health.
Response from James Otten DDS
Thank you Jim, It has been my privilege to work with you.