James R. Stein, L.C.

Lawyer

1272 A Jungermann Rd

Saint Peters, MO 63376

Open Today By Appointment

attorneyatlawstpeters.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
3 months ago
Very Shady and not trustworthy
Very evasive and lied to another attorney about representing the other party when my attorney reached out to discuss the matter at hand. Another attorney brought on board and again will not respond. Perhaps afraid of being confronted by my attorney about the above issue. I wouldn’t trust this attorney but again there is money to be made.
Response from James R. Stein, L.C.
I read this review with shock. For starters, I do not even know who this person is. I have no record of any such client. It appears she may have been on the other side of a matter (given her references to “my attorney” as someone else). It’s almost impossible to defend oneself against an unknown person about an unknown situation, but she appears to be taking the word of a third person in calling me “Very evasive” and saying that I lied to another attorney. In over 30 years of practice, I have never once done so, as I take a very principled approach to my obligations to fellow members of the bar. Not once. In fact, I once called another lawyer a liar in open court because I was so outraged that he had lied repeatedly, both to me and to the judge, in a case we had together. This was not something I did lightly or with any pleasure. Neither is it my practice to be “evasive,” whether to clients or other lawyers. I am simply not that kind of person. If I was, then there must have been a legitimate reason, possibly involving attorney-client privilege. But I can only speculate at this point. I am not even certain that I represented “the other party,” since I do not recognize this name. For instance, I might have been consulted but not retained by that “other party.” If so, then this would explain my telling her attorney that I did not represent him or her, which Ms. Miller then interpreted (second-hand) as a “lie.” If a second lawyer later tried to contact me to discuss the matter for which I had not been retained, then it is possible that I might not have returned the call, since I am not inclined to keep spending time on a case for which I have not been hired (although I generally try to be more courteous than that). If I was representing “the other party,” I would be curious to know who it was and whether he or she was dissatisfied with my efforts. But I would need to hear it from my client, not the disgruntled other side.
A
3 years ago
Professional and friendly!
Mr. Stein assisted us with putting together a grandparent visitation termination. The case was long, and ended months later in court. He ensured we could move as planned with as little intrusion into our lives as possible. We as a family could not express in words how much he has helped us, and what an amazing lawyer and person he is!
J
3 years ago
Wish I could give less than one star
Mr. Stein was hired by me to get through settling my mother's estate. He never completed the assignment and stopped returning my calls. I ended up having to hire another attorney at considerable personal expense to complete the issues, some of which the second attorney had to reconstruct from scratch. My daughter and son-in-law hired him to set up their wills and trust for their child. Again, Mr. Stein took payment for services but never completed the assignment. They had to cut their losses and start from scratch with a different attorney. I would never recommend Mr. Stein to anybody.
M
3 years ago
Excellent job!!
Jim did a wonderful job working with me to get my divorce completed and all the kinks worked out. He worked around my night-shift schedule and took care of everything I could have possibly needed and so quickly, too! He did a wonderful job and I would refer him to anyone! Thank you so much Jim for making my divorce simpler and as easy on me as possible. I truly appreciate it.
J
3 years ago
Estate Planning
Jim was outstanding at listening to our needs and presenting an estate plan that provided us with everything that we were seeking. His explanation and preparation of our estate documents gave us the sense of security that any and all situations are covered and left us with a great peace of mind. Thanks Jim!
E
4 years ago
kind services
Mr Stein was a very kind attorney. He was easy to work with, explained the process accurately and was very fair and compassionate to my situation. He worked on my case in a timely manner and was easy to communicate with. I would recommend him.
M
4 years ago
Used for a family trust in 1994. We came back in for updating in 2014.
Mr. Stein is wise, thorough and focused on his client's best interests. During the twenty year life of our trust, wills, DPOAs, health directives and MPOAs, various authorities needed to view these documents. All agreed - it was (and is) a skillfully written package. The deaths of some named in the trust, along with changes in state and federal laws, necessitated our meeting. Mr. Stein caringly screened my 92 year old parent for competency, then extended services well above our expectation and quickly put the trust in order. And, for a reasonable fee. Kudos Jim. Well done!
M
4 years ago
Professional and Caring
Mr. Stein was very thorough and explained everything to us. We didn't know the first thing about wills or power of attorneys. He took the time to explain any and everything we questioned. Everything was personalized to meet our needs. He seemed to "go that extra mile" to help us. It was all done fast and accurate. I would definitely recommend him as an attorney
M
4 years ago
Always their when you need him!
Jim Is a great lawyer has the ability to assist in what ever your legal needs are .When I needed a lawyer when I was going thru my divorce and was trying to navigate the legal pit falls. When I needed to write a will and a trust. Then writing a will for my mother and taking care her legal needs.
A
4 years ago
I highly recommend Jim to anyone I know who is looking for legal services.
My family and I have had Jim as our lawyer for at least 10 plus years. He has always provided us with top notch personal services. Jim has always been available when we have needed him and has provided us with good sound legal advice as well as personal advice. Jim is not one of those lawyers where it is just his job and you are just his client. He has a huge heart and is as genuine as they come. I can't say that in general I have placed a high amount of trust in many lawyers, but I can with 100% certainly say that I have always had trust in Jim and have always felt his sincerity in dealing with my family's legal needs. I have recommended him to both family and friends and would highly recommend him to anyone.