Somers Smiles

Dentist

4 Heritage Hills 202 Center

Somers, NY 10589

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

A
2 years ago
the worst front desk experience
I had to replace my old crown and bridge and found Dr, Hong from my dental insurance's in -network list, the lady who makes appointments and dealing with insurance _ sitting at the front desk_ told me that I only need to pay %40 of the total amount , my insurance will pay %60 and based on this information I made an appointment and process began and I paid $1100. Two weeks later my crown and bridge came with Wrong shade and shape and I had to wait two weeks more. I was disappointed and same day I received a phone call from this lady saying that I had to pay total $2.700 . She said insurance denied to pay because I have missing tooth clause. I called the insurance explained them I had missing tooth from 1999 and they agreed to reprocess it. They told me they denied Because the dentist office send them wrong claim. ( When the doctor was telling her which tooth needs to be done and other things , she was taking the notes on her paper napkin while she was eating something, she was not paying attention) I called Somers Smiles ( guess how many hours I wasted) the front desk lady refused to resubmit the claim and keep saying I have missing tooth clause, I need to pay all amount lets make payment plan. Again, I called insurance asked them whether they can reprocess it without the dentist's resubmit or not, they were very helpful ,two days later insurance called me and they approved to paid . What was the interesting part, on final appointment, The front desk lady asked me to pay the rest again, I was shocked, she did not let me go, I asked her to call insurance company, she called in front of me, she heard that Insurance company sent the check ( I waited in the office again for nothing). She did not believe me. I did not get any apology instead she asked me to make future appointment for cleaning??? I can not say anything about Dr. Hong , he is nice but took so long to have crown and he needs to work with patient oriented staff . The lady from front desk , put a lot of stress on me , she wasted my time . I really regret to go there. I do not recommend .
B
2 years ago
Exceptional Dental Practice.
Dr. Hong is a wonderful dentist and a wonderful person. Every visit is enjoyable and the dental care is the best available.
K
2 years ago
DECLINE IN CARE
I was happy with John Hong until he prepped for the placement of two crowns. He stated the two teeth were very weak and could FRACTURE at any time and I needed to do this ASAP. The teeth were fine, no pain but I didn' want to "lose" the teeth. He gave me a hefty dose of novacaine a he started. A little way into drilling I was feeling pain. I tried to ignore but it kept getting worse and to the point where I had to say something. Hong gave me more novacaine and assured me I was fine. Nope still Horrible pain! At the end when I asked he said the pain would go away within an hour. The pain lasted almost two weeks! I found out when I myself removed the temporary crown after a few days that the GUMS underneath were bloody, raw and foul smelling. With other dentists, I have had root canals, crowns and impacted wisdom teeth removed and have NEVER experienced this level of pain. John Hong, presented with the complaint a week later denied that there was anything wrong with my gums and looked at me like I was crazy, I was doubting myself until I took pictures of the mutilated gums. Caution: do not use this provider for any procedure more complicated than a filling!
K
2 years ago
DECLINE IN CARE
I have been a patient of John Hong since he took over Dr. Karol's practice a few years ago. I was pleased with him as he provided simple dental care for me. He was pleasant and competent. Slowly his original staff left and were relpaced. This should have been my first warning. His work and attitude changed and lacked the quality and personal care he once provided. My recent six month check up and cleaning was my last visit to John Hong's office. He did the routine check after I had my cleaning and declared I needed a crown. Upon further inspection, he asked the hygenist, "when was THIS filling done(referring to one of my molars) I REALLY don't like the look of it"! The hygenist informed him that he did the work and not another word was said about it. I left with him stating I really needed the crown soon, nothing about the filling. I asked for a copy of my records and sure enough no mention of repairing the filling on the treatment plan. Red Flag: John Hong does sub standard work and does not stand behind that work. He only wants to move forward and perform the more expensive procedures. I will be seeking a more qualified and caring dentist to care for my teeth.
K
2 years ago
Friendly & professional
Love everyone in this office!
E
2 years ago
Excellent.
Everyone in this office was professional and courteous and very good at what they do!
N
2 years ago
GREAT DENTIST , VERY GOOD WORK
FIRST TIME I HAD A LOT OF WORK PERFORMED BY THIS DENTIST , FELT NO PAIN , VERY GOOD MAN , KNOW WHAT HE IS DOING , WAITED 5 MIN, BEFORE HE STARTED TO WORK ON ME , I WOULD HIGHLY REFER HIM TO ANYONE
A
2 years ago
Great experience
I go personally and take my son; they are great with him, calm his nerves and provide a good experience.
C
2 years ago
High Quality, Great staff
As a new resident, I was pleased to get a recommendation to Dr. Hong from a neighbor. The office is beautiful, the staff so caring and Dr. Hong listened to my concerns, and took care of my dental issues. I would recommend this office to anyone looking for a dentist.
M
2 years ago
Great team of professionals
The dental hygienist was a sweetheart, as well as Dr Hong. I had X-ray and cleaning done, I definitely recommend this practice based on my first visit. My wife hers the day before me and was very pleased also.