Karate-Do Ken Wa Kan

Self Defense and Martial Arts Course

4 W 18th St

Fl 3

New York, NY 10011

Closed Today Closed

newyorkselfdefenseschool.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
9 months ago
Karate-Do Ken Wa Kan MY HOME !
This Dojo is my family that I never had I am a mad that I had a rough life I'm a man that had nothing really to claim really nothing to live for into I meant full contact karate Dan I feel like I've meant a purpose but I found my purpose too late in life I believe it gives me a foundation to build from it makes me feel strong and makes me feel whole and makes me feel like I'm a human being that has a purpose in life karate gave me something to live for before I was just surviving karate makes me feel alive now let's speak about the dojo Dojo is a family away from home these people are from all walks of life and we all get along like we're brothers and sisters we are a family within a big- community that has compassion understanding patients they push you to your limit but they do not push you over they let you take that stuff they don't do like other Dojos they try to break your arm and legs know they condition you the right way if you doing it the wrong way they let you know with love they do not disrespect you they show everybody like to everybody is a human being everybody has a purpose there in the dojo like my Shihan tells me and tells everybody else at the dojo that you cannot get a black belt by yourself you need another human being to be able to practice with the be able to spoil if to be able to challenge to be able to challenge yourself and your partner to be able to get that rank these people do not push you wear your broken and you cannot be fixed no these people teach you with compassion understanding patients respect this Dojo has for Sensei one master and this master is a beautiful person inside and out she understands a lot of things about life and body and soul the way your body works the way your mind works the way your body works with your mind then she gets it all in tune body mind and soul where you can be the best of who you posed to be not who you want to be who you really are your true self I am grateful to my Shihan and sensei because I learned a lot in the last five and a half years I am only a brown belt because I had to take a break my body I am 56 years old man and karate made me feel a lot younger I do not know what age I feel I cannot guess but I know I do not feel 56 and I feel a lot stronger than I ever thought my whole life because I now have an opinion I have knowledge and I have self worth and I have pride of myself I have understanding I'm still working on patience but nothing that's worth having comes easy so if you're interested please come on down we have all walks of life and we teach karate with love I don't teach I'm only a brown but I am still learning I would love to be a sin say at this dojo I would love to teach others what I learned
A
9 months ago
high quality and warmth
I have been teaching for more than 40 years and have been rewarded. The success has been the combining of professionalism with caring for the participants. That has been the hallmark of the Ken Wa Kan dojo all these years. Whether it's Michelle,Bob,Zelda,Augusto et al (forgive the lack of titles, it's not a lack of respect) the caring is apparent. As is the warmth and enthusiasm for the life they lead and pass on to the students. many more years of success lies before them.
J
9 months ago
Amazing kids classes
My 4 year old son son started taking karate classes over the summer with Sempai Hugo. We were welcomed by staff with open arms. My son absolutely loves going to the Ken Wa Kan Dojo. The classes are very age appropriate and fun. The instructors are wonderful and friendly while teaching the children discipline, focus and building self confidence. Since my son started taking classes here he has become more confident, he listens better at home and stands up for himself and others (verbally) in challenging situations. I would highly recommend Karate-Do Ken-Wa-Kan to anyone.
K
9 months ago
True community for my kids
My daughter has been taking classes and making friends (instructors and kids alike) here for 3.5 years. I trust the instructors completely and feel they go the extra mile to instill compassion and self discipline in a fun and effective way. Finally, I love that the dojo has so many female instructors and is woman-founded. Go KWK!
A
9 months ago
Ken Wa Kan DoJo High Quality Kids Instruction
My daughter started Karate afterschool with Sensei David from Ken Wa Kan and it was wonderful to watch her grow in confidence, inner strength and discipline. She then began taking classes at the dojo twice a week and loves it. She gets a good workout so has improved her physical fitness. The instructors are friendly and kind but firm and demand focus, consistency and attention to detail. They give a lot of personal attention and mentoring, so my daughter has continued to flourish in her personal growth. She may not be the best Karate kid but that’s not what we get out of coming to Ken Wa Kan DoJo. Two thumbs up from our family.
B
9 months ago
Old and lifting my legs
Five years ago I retired at 58. I had a job where I worked long hours and I never did a stitch of exercise. I went to Ken Wa Kan over-weight, tired and out of shape. They have been nothing but wonderful. Everyone there is a complete delight.
J
6 years ago
I didn't hate it
I feel like a lot of the reviews I read are either rants or raves and don't give a realistic idea of what to expect. So here's my honest impression of Karate-Do Ken Wa Kan. I took an intro class with Sempai Zelda. I liked the location, easy to get to and close to the subway. The building is a little old (three story walk up) and the studio space isn't especially high end not that I cared but some of you might prefer a more luxe fitness experience. The instructor was very enthusiastic but had an intense personality and a more casual approach than I was expecting. I was interested in the discipline aspect of Karate practice and Zelda seemed more like someone you'd grab a beer with than a teacher. I think that I might have had a different experience with another instructor but I can only speak to my experience of the one class. Overall it wasn't bad but it wasn't good, it was just ok which is cool for some (looking at you JOHN ROSA) but it wasn't what I was looking for.
Response from Karate-Do Ken Wa Kan
Osu! Thank you so much for your feedback. You nailed it, we are an intense yet friendly and comfortable environment. Please accept a two week trial to experience the broader offering of classes and instructors here at Ken Wa Kan. Thanks again, Shihan Michelle
J
6 years ago
I Love it
the dojo is A place that i can call home and all the stuff go out they way to help you to help yourself they give you the proper tool for you can help yourself this is my 17th day and i love it its is something i wanted to do most of my life and the dojo is give me that chance so man woman or children can Benefit of this School of learning and I am a hard person to teach so they have patience and right way to teach Karate !! so if I can learn Karate here you can too ps . loving this Karate-Do Ken Wa Kan thank JOHN ROSA
B
6 years ago
Sunday Sweat!
On Sundays, Sempai Augusto holds his cardio training/sparring class and it is always worth it! The class balances the practicing of sparring techniques with calisthenic exercises designed to build strength and endurance. I always look forward to this as a way to start my week. There is always a positive and spirited energy in the instructors that rubs off on the people attending. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants a practical class to work on foundational sparring techniques, or those who want to get into better shape to help them in regular training classes.
H
6 years ago
getting here wasnt half the battle, the class was the whole thing
Always love sempai augustos class for a good workout! So fun! I feel great!!