Launspach and Chey Pediatric Dentistry

Dentist

3811 San Dimas Street

Bakersfield, CA 93301

Open Today By Appointment

bkped.com/

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
3 days ago
Great Visit🎉🦷
My daughter needed some work done. The assistants were patient with her. They let me go back with her after signing a consent but after a little while I was comfortable enough to leave her in their hands and go to the waiting room. My daughter did very well after having a very bad experience at an adult dentist. I wish this office took adult chickens like me. Thank you to this office!!!!!! Highly recommended 👍🏻💜
J
2 weeks ago
Absolutely the best!!
They are just simply the best for my kids. Today I took my daughter in. The news wasn’t great but there was no shaming, there was a plan and encouragement in how we can make the treatments work. It’s too bad they only do pediatrics because adult practices have a lot to learn from this particular set of professionals. They bend over backwards to help the kids feel at ease. I love this office💕💕
K
4 months ago
Motivated either by money or refusal to change their practices with newer research... can't decide which
My two children went to Dr. Launspach four times within two years. He seemed like a very nice man, but sadly, I now believe that money is more important than patient choice in his practice, and we will never be back. If you would like to choose how often your children get x-rays taken (even if they are over 10 years old and have no history of cavities), than this practice will NOT work for you. They REQUIRE 2 bitewing x-rays to be taken every year, or they will not even see your child. (And no, they won’t even let you sign a release of liability waiver to opt out of x-rays, as you legally should be able to do.) We were certainly not aware of this policy. After a history of my adolescent son having no cavities, and following two appointments in a row where this office took his dental x-rays, I decided to opt out of x-rays for a year. At our appointment 12 months after my son's last dental x-rays had been taken, I was told by the office staff that if I opted out of having his x-rays taken again (x-rays at a $54 fee, mind you), that Dr. Launspach would refuse to see my son and would also charge me $50 as a “canceled appointment” fee. I wasn't about to be forced into x-rays against my choice as an informed and educated parent, so I said that we still did not want to have x-rays at this visit. They then charged me $50 for an appointment that THEY canceled then and there (although we had arrived on time, and I wanted my son to both get a cleaning and to see the dentist; I simply wanted to opt out of the x-rays). They wouldn't even clean his teeth. Needless to say, we will never be back. They chose to lose my two children as patients over a $54 annual charge, per patient, for x-rays that they abrasively insist on. When money matters more than patient choice, it is indeed a sad statement of a dentist's motivation. To top it all off, the reason given to me by office staff for their policy requiring annual x-rays on all patients was a short article written by none other than a dental INSURANCE analyst. And in that short article, it states “quite often, simply telling patients that, because of their refusal, they would be better served by going to another dentist… results in their agreement to have them taken.” I cannot even believe they handed that to me as their reason… showing me that they wanted to FORCE me to agree to and pay for x-rays against my better judgment. If you do your own research, you can easily find that professional dental organizations (the ADA and the AAPD), since 2012, have recommended bitewing x-rays for adolescent patients of my son's age with no cavities and without a high risk of cavities to be taken at 18-36 month intervals.  (https://www.ada.org/~/media/ADA/Publications/ADA%20News/Files/Dental_Radiographic_Examinations_2012.pdf?la=en)    and  (http://www.aapd.org/media/Policies_Guidelines/E_Radiographs.pdf)   And yet Dr. Launspach stands by his office policy that these x-rays are REQUIRED every 12 months or your child cannot even be seen by his office. So they have made it clear to me that making extra money on x-rays, taken more often than recommended even by their own professional dental organizations, is more important than both 1) updated research on the relevant use of dental x-rays and 2) informed patient choice. I find it to be a scary fact that a medical professional would make policy choices for their practice based on financial reasons rather than medical ones. And even if that isn’t the case here, then the other option is that these policy choices are being made out of disregard for new research and stubborn refusal to change “old school” practices. If a medical professional refuses to stay educated and continue learning along with the times, then I don’t want my family at that practice either.
M
5 months ago
Awesome as always!!
J
5 months ago
We took our 8 year old son to the office after being referred by his primary dentist. Son needed cavities filled. He became nervous after feeling some tooth pain. Staff was very nice and friendly. All staff was Great with my son. Staff gave us a tour of their office on his first visit. Staff gained his trust fast which gave me peace of mind! Dentist was super friendly and made us feel at ease. He sat down with us and explained procedure. Staff did an awesome job of teaching us how to brush and floss better. Plenty of things for kids to do while in waiting room and in back. Staff kept us informed during his procedure. I don’t regret taking my son to this office.
K
6 months ago
Cavity fillings
My 4 year old had 2 cavities. I was upset that it had happened. The staff was wonderful about explaining what I needed to change in her brushing & flossing routine. When it was time for the fillings the staff was great at keeping me updated on her progress. After it was over my daughter told me how much fun she had again at the dentist and those "buggies" didn't hurt at all when the Dr took them out. She was excited about her visit and asked when she could come back.
J
6 months ago
Wonderful dentist, fantastic staff who have taken care of my now 16 and 14 year old since they were each 2.
L
11 months ago
Professional and Caring
The staff is outstanding. Each person is committed to providing a professional experience with care and love for each of my children. We LOVE it here.
J
1 year ago
The best place for pediatric denistry
This office is always available to answer questions and get my child in to see a provider for care. I am more at ease knowing she is being treated at this office. The staff, including the dentists know how to work with the smaller generation. That makes this Mom feel better. I had horrible experiences at the dentist that have followed me into adulthood. I am glad my daughter won’t have to ever go through that.
K
1 year ago
Wonderful staff
My 3 year old daughter came in for her 2nd visit. I was hesitant to let her go back without me, she was extremely nervous about going without me. I told the staff this and they assured me I could go back there with her. I decided to let her go without me since she needs to learn independence. The staff let me know through out the whole process how she was doing. After she was done and I got to see her, she was all smiles over how brave she was and how the staff was so proud she didn't have any bugs in her teeth. I am so thankful we have found an office where my daughter is treated so well.