Lighthouse Moving

Mover

473 Smith Avenue North

St Paul, MN 55102

D.O.T.: # 1452848
Minnesota HHG Moving: # 375873
Open Today 8:00AM - 9:00PM

minneapolismover.org

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
4 weeks ago
Disrespectful Unprofessional Owner
I used Lighthouse Moving 2 weeks ago for my move. They were not the cheapest, but when I called for bids the owner, John, seemed like a nice professional guy. I was wrong, John was unorganized, unprofessional, and disrespectful. I called the day before like he asked, and he had no idea who I was and doubted I even had a move the next day. I was a little shocked, because he seemed so organized when I got the bid from him. The day of the move I called 15 minutes before they were scheduled, and was told the guys would be on the way. He proceeded to ask me how much stuff I had in detail, he asked me all these questions a month ago, when I got the estimate from him. I answered all his questions again, and he told me his guys would be leaving any minute. I called 45 minutes late, now 30 minutes before the scheduled time, and he explained that his guys were running late, but they’d leave any minute. I called 40 minutes later, now 1hr and 10 minutes late, and he says the guys should be there any minute. They arrive 5 minutes later, now worries sometimes delays happen, but more organization would have been nice to plan my day as my cleaner now had to work around my movers. The movers are very nice, move decently quick (not the fastest movers I’ve used, but not the slowest). Everything gets packed up, and I let them know how to get to my new places- it is 7 minutes away. I leave and arrive at my place, 40 minutes later I called John and was inquiring in the guys were lost. John is immediately defensive, saying his guys don’t get lost. I say you might want to call them just to check. John then proceeds to ask why it took 2.25 hours to load up my stuff. I respond saying I don’t know, and I thought we would have had it done a little faster than that. He then says I must have a lot of stuff- I say I don’t really think so. He then says I must have slow elevators, I tell him the 2 elevators in my building aren’t really slow. John says, it is not my guys, because they have been with me a long time and they work quick, I reply with okay. He gets really defensive then and says he is going to drive over and see how much stuff I have. I tell him he doesn’t have to, but he can if he wants- it is a Saturday evening. The movers call me, because they can’t find the place, and I guide them in. They get about 3 loads of things in when John arrives. He takes 1 look a meet, a person of color, and demands payment immediately. Now I have already paid the deposit like he asked for. He demands $800, which is more than the amount should be, right now or he is taking the rest of my stuff and leaving. I’m shocked. He continues that it is MN law that whenever a mover demands payment you need to pay them immediately. He continues, that I was deceptive about the amount of stuff I had and that he was burned by someone last week, and it is not going to happen again. I tell him that his is being incredibly rude and disrespectful, he doesn’t care, he just wants money. I walk silently to my bag, fuming I count out 8 100 bills and explain again, how unprofessional and in poor taste this is. He doesn’t care. The move continues. I’m internally upset, embarrassed, humiliated, but the move continues. They bring in 2 bags of clothes, that aren’t mine, and a chair that also isn’t mine. I tell them these are not my things and they say sorry. Given this current time of Covid, not cool. They also lost a screw to hold my TV on my mount. They told me they will find it in the truck after the leave, and set my TV down against the couch so it doesn’t fall down. They finish the move and are getting in the truck to leave, when I realize they never brought the screw up. I run just before they leave and they tell me they didn’t find it, and intentionally didn’t tell me and was just going to leave. I ask John if he was just going to leave me a TV that doesn’t work on my couch. He said no. I said okay what were you going to do? He says, well we can go get you a screw- it is 8pm on a Saturday. I explain that is unlikely, he then shrugs and says you can get a screw tomorrow and starts to leave. The other mover who has watched John treat me badly this whole time tries to fix the problem, but John tells him to stop and says we are leaving. -Michael M
R
2 years ago
Great service.
M
2 years ago
Lighthouse and Crew
Lighthouse moving was the best choice for my move! I wanted a small local business for my move from Minneapolis too St. Paul. John was very professional and the pricing was reasonable. The two man crew were not only highly efficient, they were courteous and seemed to care about the work they were doing. I would recommend Lighthouse anytime! Meghan
A
2 years ago
Very highly recommended!
Had to move last minute and were available fairly quickly and very reasonably priced given the driving distance of the move. Very friendly and were extremely careful. All done in one day! Thank you!!
J
2 years ago
Professional for a reasonable price
Lighthouse Moving moved me from townhouse to townhouse last fall. Moving is so stressful but Lighthouse made it a good experience. They were efficient, professional and very reasonable priced. I highly recommend taking the stress off yourself and hiring Lighthouse.
B
2 years ago
Excellent service!
The movers were exceptional. They worked non-stop all day under difficult weather conditions and were good humored and very easy to work with. We were so impressed with how hard they worked and never complained about the challenges they faced. We will definitely recommend Lighthouse.