Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting

Auto Body Shop

13900 S. Western Ave.

Gardena, CA 90249

Closed Today Closed

gardenawestern.maaco.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

H
9 months ago
The workers were well managed and they did a great job fixing my vehicle
H
9 months ago
The workers were well managed and they did a great job fixing my vehicle
H
9 months ago
The workers were well managed and they did a great job fixing my vehicle
N
11 months ago
Horrible Service, Poor Quality, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE
Worst Experience Ever, stay away from this place! Dropped off my car on June 27th for a two tone paint job which they said would be done by July 8 no problem, I even splurged on the top-of-the-line base coat/clear coat for the best possible finish. I called on the 7th to confirm they were still on schedule and was told I could pick up my car the next day after 3pm. I re-scheduled my day in order to make it there before close and upon arrival I was told the painter had an emergency that day and didn't come in so my car wouldn't be done until the following week. They didn't even take the time to call me and let me know this so I didn't have to leave work early and drive all the way other there. The following week I was told the painter was now in the hospital and he was the only one that knew my colors (obvioulsy a lie since it was on the order form). About a week later I was told they found the colors and were finishing my car (now 2 weeks past the original due date). When I went to go pick up the car the next time they not only had they reversed the colors on the two tone the wrong way but they didn't even paint in the right areas. Told them they had it all wrong and asked them to have the owner call me upon his return to discuss. About a week went by with no call so I called and the owner had not been informed what happened. They he put me back on the phone with his manager who claimed they painted it the way it was. He litterally made me drive to their shop to show them the before photos of the car I took when I dropped it off to prove that they did it wrong, UNBELIEVABLE. When I met with the owner he finally took some responsibility, showed me that they screwed up and all the information was correct on the order form, why they didn't do what was on the order??? He said I could take it as-is or they would fix it, I had to make them fix it because like I said, not only were the colors reversed but they were not even in the right parts of the car so I couldn't put the trim back on. A couple weeks later I went to pick up the car for 3rd or 4th time and this time they got the colors and lines right but there were serval mistakes I asked them to fix. The fuel door was painted shut and couldn't be opened, the hood still had some of the wrong color on it, and the tailgate of the truck was all messed up because they closed it when the paint was still wet so when I opened the door the paint all peeled and chipped off where it was touching the bed. Over another week went by, it has now been over two months since I dropped off my car. Upon this last visit I was willing to overlook the overspray which painted my exhaust pipe, the numerous defects in the paint and a quarter panel they obviously didn't sand first, the driver's side mirror didn't get a clear coat like the rest of the car so it had a matte finish and felt different than the rest of the car, they even got paint on the window rubber and the inside door panel on the driver's side but then I was also told they were not going to fix the tailgate. I couldn't believe they wouldn't fix something that was obviously their fault, all they had to do is paint it and leave the door open until it dried. At no point in the entire process did I get an apology, instead they made it seem like I was somehow at fault and it was always on me to prove they messed up. Then our boy Mitch, the owner, was a complete dick and only offered to give me $100 off, and I had to fight for that. I couldn't believe after all the problems (which were all their fault) and the fact that they took over 2 months to finish and the finished product was ok at best. I couldn't be more frustrated and dissapointed in this shop. Hopefully my experience is rare but in my opinion these guys are crooks and just not decent people. I understand mistakes happen but the way they handled each situation was the wrong way. All I can do at this point is warn others and hope this place goes under for lack of business. STAY AWAY if you can and if you're driving by flip them the bird for me ;)
W
1 year ago
Whack
Poor painting i got runs and drips in the paint i went back to tell them to sand my front bumber no sanding just painted over it also it had lack of paint at the bottom of the car oh it looks good far away but close up no good. I will never go back there and never suggest anyone i know to go there unless you are my enemy.
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
I would like to talk to you please call 13103246646 at your convince thank you mitch
D
1 year ago
This is a update to my previous review
So I was happy with my paint job until I realized that when I touch the paint with my finger, it made a scratch. So when I took it back to Mitch, he told me that is what is suppose to happen with the paint. Huhh.. learn something new everyday. If I was an adolescent child I would have saw some truth in that fairytale. Him and the insignificant assistant I ran into in my first review attempted to argue with me about their mistake so I politely walked outside and called corporate to complain. Corporate got in contact with the location and assured me that this issue would be resolved. Shameika in Corporate has been very professional along the way. So I called Mitch at the location and he told me that he tried to catch me before I walked out to tell me that his painter did the job incorrectly. How about that? After all of the angst you were going to end all the friction with that? How great. Mitch assured me that the repaint wouldn't take that long, maybe 3 to 4 days. So I take my vehicle back to the location and they were to repaint my car just as I requested from the sample I was shown. Ok great. They have my car for 8 days, I call and my car has still not been painted and Mitch then says the reason he took my car was because he figured it would be more convenient for me to just leave it there instead of when it was ready to be painted. Awesome. 9th day, I finally get the word today that my car is painted and I am told that my car is not the color I requested. So I have not yet seen the end result yet but my suggestion to anyone is to do research and: FIND A MORE COMPETENT AUTO BODY SHOP TO GET YOUR CAR PAINTED IF YOU ACTUALLY WANT WHAT YOU ASK FOR!!!!
D
2 years ago
Great Job... In spite of..
Customer service wise.. Mitch was fantastic.. I wish my interaction with him was consistent because theres a new guy working there (I wish I knew his name but not really. As it would be a waste of space) that had no customer service at all and would be better off at a job that didn't require him to deal with the public general or otherwise. If anyone is familiar with the esoteric term "empty seater".. that would definitely be him. Now for my review on the paint job. I absolutely love it!! My car didnt have any body damage really just a few small scratches that were taken care of. In spite of the bad customer service I still rate the overall experience a 5. Mitch was there to complete my transaction and it went very smoothly.
L
2 years ago
Great Job, Gardena Maaco
The service was great, the price was affordable, and the car looks wonderful. Thanks for everything, Maaco and especially BEVERLY!
A
2 years ago
Advertise cheap, pay a lot more than you expect, receive lower quality than what you originally thought was cheap.
When I showed up to have my Jeep Wrangler painted, the place was busy which made me feel good about bringing my car there. Only one person was in the office and she had her hands full and was juggling a lot so I didn't mind that she kept having to come back to me after starting the walk down review of work to be done on the car. The most basic paint job was advertised on their wall in the office in the vicinity of $500.00 which is what I wanted, plus a little body work to get my bumper (all steel) pulled out straight. By the time I was nickled and dimed, the estimate came out to about $1100.00. It was more but thought I would give it a shot. When I got the car back 10 days later I was not thrilled. Laziness in prep work was extremely obvious. My radiator, which can be seen through the grill, was painted and smells terrible whenever I drive, my door handles which were black (while the rest of the car was blue(I had the car repainted the same shade of blue)) were now the same shade as the rest of the car, as were my door locks, antenna mount and windshield washer nozzles (all black when I brought the car in). Had I known they weren't going to mask any of it off I would have taken the extra 20 minutes to do it myself at home and save the disappointment. On top of this, I was charged about $90.00 to remove "light chips and scratches" in the paint that was already on it to provide a smoother finish on the repaint. Well with the new paint on, it is very obvious where all the chips and scratches on the underlying paint that they charged me to remove are. The bumper ($200 to straighten) I could tell they tried pulling it straight, but how hard they tried I am not sure. I was not looking for perfection and was expecting some wrinkles in the steel but it was sagging almost as bad as it was when I brought it in. Lastly, and unfortunately after I got home, I noticed the strap that keeps my door from swinging open all the way was no longer on my passenger door. I called to ask them about it and the initial response from the gentleman that picked up the phone was "everyone went home for the weekend." He then asked me to describe the piece (a c-shaped piece of metal with a bolt hole at each end that holds a 3 inch piece of cloth that acts as the door catch). He told me they would not have removed something like that for painting. When I asked him why they would not have removed it he asked me again how it was mounted on. I told him its held on by 2 bolts and that it is very easy to remove and install. His response was again that they would not have removed it for painting and that I should call back the following week to ask someone else. To be honest, I did not call back. It's an easily replaced part and not worth the hassle. Essentially, I want nothing to do with Maaco again.
M
2 years ago
It's okay.
Beverly was wonderful, I have no issues with the limited contact I had with the staff. The paint job was what I expected from Maaco. I hate to say it, Maaco is a poor man's paint shop. The work they did will suffice but if I had more money to spend on the paint job, I would have went somewhere else. The reason I say that is because you can tell my car was painted, it doesn't look like it came out the shop. I've wrecked my car a couple of times now, and taken my car to the body shop on the insurance dime. When I got my car back, it looked like it came out of the show room floor. Again, don't get me wrong, Maaco did a good job but I wish I had a couple more thousands of dollars to take my care to shop I took it before when the insurance paid for it lol; but I guess it will have to do. I would recommend Maaco to anyone who is working on a budget.