Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting

Auto Body Shop

8411 S. State St.

Sandy, UT 84070

Closed Today Closed

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

3 weeks ago
Subpar at best
If I could offer half a star I would. My 70-year-old father just got back a vehicle that was prepped the first three days then forgot about until we had to go in to see what was taking so long. Three weeks later we get the worst paint job I have ever seen. It looks like one side was rushed so bad I could have done it better with a can of spray paint. My mom burst into tears when she saw it. They are so nice they paid anyways and didn't want to cause a problem. I'm not that nice. I take it personally when my family is taken advantage of. I would love to post some pics so you know what I am talking about.
1 month ago
Update from Suzann W
I received a call from Mark explaining what had happened to cause the problems experienced. Apparently the person I initially had dealt with was Mark, but picked up the card for Matt asking, "Is this you?" So when he replied, "Yes", I thought he was Matt. This explains the reason why when I called and spoke to Matt, he didn't know what I was talking about. I still don't understand why he again didn't know what I was talking about the second time I spoke with him - Matt. 🤔 Mark stated that their computer had been down which also caused some of the mix-up. He accepted the blame for dropping the ball. Mark also offered to get the part and make the repair which would be approximately $40 less than another shop I had made arrangements with; however, I am going to the slightly more expensive shop as they have already received the parts needed and I will keep the agreement I've made with them.
1 month ago
Response to company excuse
There was no "business card" so I don't know what they're talking about. He put all my info in the computer as I said it. The "he" wS Matt and it was Matt I spoke with every call.......and three times? Seriously? They're a joke now. Some of their former employees who left them are employed at other shops I've visited. I think that kind of says something.
2 months ago
New management/owners have destroyed its once great reputation
Years ago I took my vehicle into the Sandy Maaco and was so thrilled with them I swore if I ever found myself in need of auto-body work that I'd make the trip to have it done there. Thursday, June 22nd, I pulled into the Sandy location for a free estimate on the damage to my vehicle, asking for separate quotes for rear bumper replacement and tail lights assembly, and one without the bumper replacement. Matt Wilburn, general manager, gave me a quote for the former at slightly over $2,000, which I declined as my truck is old and I felt not worth that large of an expense. Matt asked two of the body work guys to come take a look at the light fixture to see if they could do the job without needing a whole side panel. They looked and said it would be easy and I'd just have to pay for the light assembly assembly ($59) and labor and that it wouldn't take much time at all. Matt gave them a look tthat made me think he didn't want them divulging that much info (I'm guessing he preferred to talk me into the major body work). Anyway, Matt said with labor it would probably be $159 and asked for the go-ahead to order the light fixture, which I approved. He said he would let me know tomorrow (Friday). Friday and Saturday came and went without a call. I called Monday to inquire and Matt acted like it was the first time he heard about it. He asked for all the info again about the repairs needed and said first thing Tuesday morning he would track down the order and let me know. Tuesday, June 27th I called late afternoon as I hadn't received his call, and once again, Matt acted like it was the first time he heard of the order or of me, asking me my name and spelling, truck model, year, make, what parts were needed, if I needed just the lights or the whole assembly and so on. Either he isn't operating on all cylinders or he doesn't feel this job is worth the trouble....maybe both. As I was describing everything yet a third time, I stopped mid-sentence saying, "You know, I get the feeling I should just take it somewhere else because this is the third time I've explained everything to you and nothing seems to be happening and I'm not sure you'll get the right parts if you ever get them anyway." Matt immediately said he understood completely and wouldn't blame me if I did go elsewhere, and kept repeating the same. It was as if that was his preference all along as he all along as he never offered an apology. Sad and disappointed with Sandy Maaco now. I think the body work guys are great and honest but if the general manager is flaky, it doesn't work out. I'm still shopping around for a reputable business, but I've already been quoted approximately $800 LESS for the repair at the Salt Lake Maaco and with more work done than what Sandy Maaco Matt quoted.
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
I'm very sorry for the experience that the reviewer had at Maaco, but there IS an explanation... The reviewer picked up the wrong business card when she was at the shop, so when she called back to speak with Matt, it's true that Matt didn't know what she was talking about because he was not the person whom the reviewer had been working with. We do our very best to provide a full range of options to meet the needs of our customers. Yes, a complete repair of the reviewer's vehicle would have been in excess of $2,000. We also offered the option of simply replacing the vehicle's rear light at a cost of $59. So sorry for the mistaken identity reflected in this situation. We'd still be happy to get the light ordered and installed. (And Matt is an outstanding general manager who cares about the customer.)
4 months ago
Not Satisfied
I own and operate a small business. I have a truck that needed some minor body work, and then some minor paint. I called around to several shops, because my schedule is very tight. The employee that uses this truck was going to be gone for a week, and so I was promised that if I get the truck to Maaco in Sandy early in the week, the job could get finished. I called everyday to Maaco in Sandy, and was promised a call back, an estimate, and that I had nothing to worry about, the truck would be finished as promised. Called and spoke to a really nice girl there today, and she checked on the truck, and confirmed that not any work has been done. So I need to pick up the truck on Monday morning as scheduled, but it has not been touched. I left it with them all week, had one return call, otherwise I had to call if I wanted any progress reports. Have had other vehicles painted by Maaco before, but this experience was not one to brag about.
8 months ago
Bad experience
Don't do what I did and thought great deal for what they were going to do on my car. Worst paint job ever! Now I have to go get it re-done at at real auto body shop. Biggest waste of my time and money! :(
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Yes, there was a legitimate problem in matching the paint of Patti's bumper with the adjoining body panels of the vehicle. While we were very optimistic that the problem could have been corrected, and we were eager to make it right, Patti opted to go to a different shop. We wish her the very best in getting the bumper repainted, and regret that Patti had a frustrating experience.
1 year ago
My truck will never be the same
I took my truck to MAACO in Sandy Utah to have a dent taken out of the right side of the bed. The manager kept saying it would be very hard to match the paint (it's white for hell's sake). I did have one spot just behind the right side door that was showing a little rust. My wife convinced me to have them fix the rust spot, dent in the bed and repaint the whole truck. The workmanship was horrible and the dent they supposed to have removed is still very evident. The truck is now rusting through the paint all over the vehicle. I have taken it back several times to have them fix either problems with the paint, the pin striping and the stainless pieces that run all the way down the sides that they replaced with a very poor quality and even installed them upside down. Well with the rust spots to the point of popping off the paint, the stainless strips rusting (really, rusting?) I am so frustrated with these clowns. I have been dealing with trying to get a resolution for over a year and a half. The first manager kept stalling me making up stories why he couldn't do it right away. Well now I am dealing with another owner and so-called manager that keeps blaming it on corporate (Chris Brown) and Chris from corporate told me he was going to call the store manager and convince him to work something out with me. I have called the store manager several times and he just says he is waiting for corporate to give him some direction. Well now for the past couple months the store manager just dodges my calls and when I leave messages for him to call he does not do it. When I call corporate and try Chris Brown (MAACO REP), of course it goes straight to voice mail in which I leave him my name and number and never get a return call. These people should lose their jobs for the poor customer service that MAACO seems to be so proud of. But wait there's more! I continue to see those MAACO commercials bragging about their professional services and quality paint jobs and wonder who these people are. I am sure it's just friends and relatives that are doing these positive feed backs. If MAACO was so proud of their work instead of the pride they have in taking our money and leaving us with poor quality and the ultimate in dis-satisfaction of their work they would step up and take care of business. Last thing I would like to mention is I did not pay $299, $599 or even $999 for my work. I paid upwards of $3000 for my redneck backyard paint job! I think the Better Business Bureau should investigate into this business (which is my next email to send). I do realize it's a franchise, but they obviously don't care about the end user of their poor quality! I do not plan to stop calling them or posting the truth about them until they make things right. If they don't have the talent to fix it, then they should refund my money and I will take it to a reputable body shop (and of course it will cost me double to undo their stuff before making it right) and have my truck where I can take pride in it once again. BTW this truck of mine is a FORD Powerstroke and I am the original owner but thanks to these guys it looks like I bought it from the wrecking yard...Thanks so much MAACO!
2 years ago
Refused to stand behind their work.
When I took my truck back with questions as to the finish they told me it was typical to leave "bumps" under the clear coat. When I asked why they had not taken out all of the dents in the door they told me they took out the dents I asked them to. I never told them to take any specific dents out. I expected them to repair all the damage. They did not. They refused to do anything for me or stand behind their work. I will not use this Maaco again.
2 years ago
Friendly, professional
Clear coat was starting to blister on my 02 Ford truck which I owned for close to two years. It was only in two spots and the help I received exceeded my expectations. Paint match looks great and the staff took good care of me. Thanks Maaco Sandy!! Jesse C
2 years ago
Excellent work
Had a door that needed painted black. It was white. dropped it off one day and I picked it up the next day. It was great work. Chris and Jose were friendly and that made a big difference.