Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting

Auto Body Shop

5301 Crain Highway

Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

Open Today 9:00AM - 1:00PM

maaco-uppermarlboro.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

K
2 months ago
Poor craftsmanship !!
The initial conversation were nice the owner and his wife were professional . But as far as me bringing another vehicle IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN ! I won't let them paint a picture by numbers for me .. My paint started to chip in less then a yr and had too many issues whenever I came to pick my vehicle up .
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hello KG, I'm sorry that I cannot identify you by only your initials. Our paint packages come with a nation-wide gloss and peeling warranty. We stand behind our work and would welcome the opportunity to review your vehicle with you and offer you a solution.
M
7 months ago
Phenomenal 4 But 5
I took my Mercedes SL550 to them to have my bumper painted after a minor scrape against a wall. I dropped my car off on a Tuesday and the jumped right on it and I go my car back the next day, and it was finished, but there was something on my hood that wasn't there before I dropped it off, but I must say that I called Don and he took care of it, and that's the only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I had to bring it back for what ever was on my hood. But as far as the work and speediness of me getting my car back I give them 5 STARS hands down.
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hi Marcus. Your feedback is valuable to us. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. I wish I knew what was on your hood but nevertheless am glad we could remove it and correct the issue for you.
H
10 months ago
Awesome Paint Job!
When I arrived at MAACO with my 1978 MGB Sports Car that badly needed a paint job, I met Don and his wife (Franchise Owners of their Shop) who went out of their way to provide me with an outstanding paint job and customer service. Don went over my car and provided me with a very generous estimate that included a military/Senior discount of $58.98 and totaled $532.49 for the paint job. The estimate included Light Chip and Scratch repair, Univeral Sealer, and an Enamel Paint Job. As the MG comes with enamel paint, I wanted to keep it original. Don spent a considerable amount of time going over color codes for my car as it is almost 4 decades old to ensure the SHERMAN WILLIAMS paint MAACO uses matched my original color. Car preparation was unbelievable. Don's expert professionals sanded my car with extra-fine grit sand paper that removed my old paint and prepared it for painting. I received my car on the date promised by Don and it was beautiful. The car looks like it did when it came home from the original Dealer. I would definitely recommend that you contact Don and his professionals at MAACO in Prince Georges County if you need your car painted with Professional Results at an Outstanding price. "Hats Off" to Don and his professionals at MAACO - Prince Georges County!
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Howard. It was our pleasure to meet and serve you. I'm happy we met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
B
1 year ago
Nice, Friendly establishment, but did not like the overall service
Mr. Don appeared to be a nice guy. He was friendly, polite and professional. However, I was very displeased with my service for the following reasons: 1. I took my vehicle in on Friday, Dec 16, 2016 to repair my front bumper. I was originally told my car would be ready Tues, Dec 20th. I did not receive a call Tuesday so I called them and was told that it would be ready either later that evening or early in the morning. So I told the lady that I would call back in the morning. She advised they would call me. Wednesday came and the day was almost over and I had not received a call. I called and was advised they were waiting on a part that had just come in so my vehicle should be ready by Friday. Friday came and I had not received a call from them so again I called them. I spoke with Don who told me that it should be ready Tuesday, Dec27th. Tuesday come and again no phone call. I gave them a call again and finally my car is ready for pick up. 2. When I picked up my car I was in for surprise. My original estimate quoted was approx. $1200. When we discussed the cost, I specifically told Don that my car is old (2001 Acura CL type S). I wasn't trying to put a lot of money into it (I had an accident and the front bumper was mangled. I just wanted it fixed so it wouldn't look so bad. I didn't even need it to be perfect, just decent). I paid a down payment and the balance was approx. $645. However, when I arrived, Don quoted me a balance of $950. He stated that they were unable to find a refurbished bumper so he had to purchase a new one. So with the cost of the new bumper, he replace the clamp for the bumper (which was the only potential extra expense discussed when he gave the estimate), with the manpower hours totaled my balance up to $950. I have never known for any auto mechanic, repair, etc. give a balance of over $300 from an original estimate. Especially without consulting with the customer first. To make matters worse I was calling them throughout the week when they kept putting me off, and they still never advised me. In fact the paperwork with the estimate even states that the total cost of repairs will not exceed 10% of the provided estimate without prior approval of the customer. So he finally took off approx. $100. However, I'm still not satisfied because I still ended up paying over the 10% that their PAPERWORK states they cannot charge, along with the fact that he acted as though he was doing me a favor by taking off the $100. 3. When I looked at the bumper. I realized that they painted the bottom grids in vent area of the bumper white (the color of the car), when the grids should have remained blacked out. So why do you paint a bumper you brought new from the factory? I have not seen a car on the road yet with that area on the vehicle painted. I asked him to fix it but he told me it would be a couple of days. Why? That should be a half day work. So now I would have to be inconvenienced even more, it I decide to take it back. So, it took them a week and a day OVER the original time (Which was an inconvenience that cost us more money). He charged me over 10% more than originally quoted that I had not budgeted for (Which I may seek legal counsel for reimbursement). They failed to make contact with me at any time during the process, especially to get permission to order new parts. Finally, they painted parts on my car that was never meant to be painted giving my car a cheaper look with after market parts. Don appears to be a nice guy, and I don't doubt that he has provided good service to some other people. However, after reading some of the other reviews and having the experience that I had, I'd recommend the Maaco on Central Ave, off Ritchie road in Capital Heights. I've used them before and they were great with customer service, workmanship, and most of all I didn't feel robbed when I left by paying way over what was estimated. In fact they ended up charging less than the original quote.
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hi Brandy, I apologize again that you were not satisfied with the service we provided you. It was my fault for not keeping you consistently updated on the status of the repairs we were performing. Obtaining parts for your older vehicle was a challenge. As I explained to you, there was no reconditioned bumper cover available (we explored options for an aftermarket or used part and none were available either). I should have notified you of this before you asked and because of that, I provided you the part at the originally quoted price (I did show you the invoice for the new OEM part). The OEM part does not come painted. We did paint the entire bumper white to match your car including the integrated grille features that were originally black. As I told you when you picked up your car (and noted on your final invoice), we will be happy to paint the portion that should have been black at no cost to you. While your original estimate clearly stated there may be hidden damage, I was remiss for not notifying you of this prior to you calling to inquire, but when you called, I did tell you that there was a damaged mounting bracket that had to be replaced and that there was additional effort and cost to pull the front end of your vehicle out so the new bumper cover would mount reasonably well before you came in to pick up your car. When you picked up your car and agreed to adjustments to your final balance, I thought you were satisfied with the resolution. If you decide to bring your car back to have us repaint the integrated grille features on your car black, I will be happy to provide you with a headlight restoration service at the same time ($99.95 value) at no cost to you.
G
1 year ago
Awesome service
I took a two tone brown 2010 fords ranger that I had just bought there to have it painted a solid color. When they brought my truck to me I didn't even notice it. The paint job turned out awesome. After I brought it home my neighbors asked me if I traded my truck in and got a new one. They didn't believe it was the same truck. I'll definitely return for future services.
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hi Gonzalo. I'm glad you were so happy with the results we delivered that you took the time to share your experience. Thank you. It was a pleasure to serve you. Don
T
1 year ago
GREAT JOB!!
This is my third car ive took to get painted here and they did a great job everytime! Let Don know i wasnt looking for anything special just wanted to make the car look decent and wow it looks amazing. The car was finished in 3 days including drop off day. Will take anything here thats in need of paint. Thanks Don!
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hi Troy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your repeat business. I look forward to working with you in the future. Don
C
1 year ago
Refinishing areas on 2004 Toyota Corolla
The clear coat had peeled off of several large areas on my trunk lid and above the rear passenger door, and the paint below was fading. I got estimates from several places, and Maaco's was HALF of what I was quoted from the other two companies. They did a truly excellent job. It only took two days (one of the other places said it would be a week for them to do it) and my car looks beautiful. I couldn't be happier with the service provided from start to finish. Maaco provided timely, quality work and great customer service at half the price I would have paid elsewhere. Also, Don even stayed a little late when I was picking it up because leaving from work when I got the call, I was still only able to get there by 5:40 (10 mins past their close time). I'll definitely be going there for any future work.
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Callie. We're glad we could make it easy for you to receive high quality service in a timely manner at an affordable price. It was a pleasure to serve you.
J
1 year ago
Painting several area of my 2003 Toyota 4RNR
Last week I had work done on my Toyota. It required preparing the hood, driver's door and liftgate and then painting same. While not perfect perfect (there were two very minor faults discovered when I got home) I am very well satisfied with the work. The matching of the new paint with the13 year old paint was very good. The cost was well less than half of what I was quoted by a local Toyota dealer. Unless I had a new, insured Lexus, I would certainly call Don to do the work. Also, Don and his wife are very personable. PS. The job was finished on schedule. What more could I have asked? Nothing. Joe McCann
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hi Joe. I sincerely thank you for taking your time to share your experience with others. I'm happy we could serve you and that we met your expectations for quality, schedule and affordability.
M
1 year ago
Corvette & Dodge Truck
Had second vehicle painted 2005 dakota truck first was 1974 corvette a few months ago .Both paint jobs exceeded my highest expectations very pleased with work and friendly staff.
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hi Maryann. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're so happy you were pleased with our service and the results on your Corvette that you gave us the opportunity to paint your Dakota. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. Don
M
1 year ago
A TOTAL Surprise ! Accountability-Professionalism-Accurate Info-True Professionals Maaco=Don & Susan !
Money's worth & much more ! Don, Listen, Learns and ACTS ! Result enjoyable sales transaction ! Results OUTSTANDING ! Two competitors names available on request (FYCLLC1946@gmail.com), 1st Option $755.00 2nd Option $800.00 I provided Don with both Bids ! Don with 'kid gloves' told me that I was comparing apples & Lemons etc. He made me clearly understand that the other Bidders were going to do 1 small panel ! His estimate was $1500.00 for the entire Job, including Body work and total re painting of my Chevy Traverse. The results were delivered today on time (5) five business days after my drop-off in Upper Marlboro, intersection Rt# 4 and Rt.#301) ! The results EXCEEDED all of my very high EXPECTATIONS !
Response from Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Hi Mike. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thank you for trusting us with your Traverse. It was a pleasure to serve you. Don