Martin Doorhy, Criminal Defense Attorney

Lawyer

9231 S Roberts Road

Hickory Hills, IL 60457

Closed Today Closed

hickoryhillslawservices.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
2 weeks ago
Good Guy Who Works Long Hours to Help Me
I had my 1st DUI and I blew a .14 so I figured that was it; just find out what the judge will give me and plead guilty. But this guy went over to the prosecutor's office a couple of times, told me what he was doing and why the whole time, and next thing I know I have a sure-DUI reduced to Reckless Driving (with no conviction) and he even got my Driver's License back after a month suspension. Incredible. And he never talked down to me, always respectful. And I could call this guy at 9 pm & he would actually pick up & help me. Rarely met anybody like this, in or out of the law. -SEAN
N
2 years ago
Very Friendly & Knows What He Is Doing
I had a Felony Driving While Driving With Revoked License case. I had picked up my 14th arrest (felony 3-7) years. Mr. Doorhy took almost a year to do it but got me House Arrest with tough Probation but no time. I couldn't believe it because I'd served time in state prison x3 previously. Great guy who really cares about his clients and told me what was going on and why and answered all my questions including sometimes late at night when I called him (the way my other lawyers never did). Respected by judge & prosecutor as professional & a real gentleman.
M
2 years ago
Our Son Charged with Armed Robbery
We retained Martin to represent our son who was involved in Armed Robbery in 2017. Our boy is only 21 and was facing a charge in which the minimum sentence, because it involved a gun (which he never touched and was wielded against the victim by another, older man), of 21 years. After over a year of battling for our son, Martin had a Class X no-Probation Felony reduced to a Class 4 Felony of Deceptive Practices with 12 months probation. We are so grateful for this lawyer handing our son's life back to him.
L
3 years ago
Professional and friendly
I am a CDL truck driver whose license was canceled in March 2018 and I was advised there was no way I would be able to drive a truck again for at least a year. I retained Mr. Doorhy who traveled to 3 counties and met with the prosecutor in yet another case I had pending for Driving While CDL Revoked which might have put me in jail. The result was no jail, no conviction, and Mr. Doorhy got my CDL reinstated in less than a month, saving my job. The man really amazed me with what he knew and the way he cared about me during this ordeal.
L
5 years ago
First-Rate Lawyer
I was charged with Aggravated Domestic Battery in Markham Courthouse. A coworker referred me to Mr. Doorhy. He did his best with the prosecutor to have my charge reduced to misdemeanor simple battery but they refused. So he tried the case and won it. Had he lost, I would have been a lifetime felon and, even if I had been found guilty of Domestic Battery, I would have lost my FOID card. (I work in security.) I never will forget how he saved my job and my future because I was dead in the water as a security guard with a felony conviction or a Domestic Battery conviction. This guy is smart and really cared about me. He spent a long time on my case and was a real gentleman. He never made me feel like other lawyers sometimes did--I mean feeling that I was a dirt bag. I would send any family member of friend to Mr. Doorhy. -Leo C.
J
5 years ago
Kind & Very Knowledgeable Lawyer
I had retained two other attorneys to represent me in attempting to regain my driving privileges in hearings in downtown Chicago w/the Secretary of State's Office. The first prepped me for my hearing by phone for about 30 minutes and I lost. The second prepped me in his office for an hour and I lost again. Mr. Doorhy spent five hours preparing me for my third hearing and I finally won a Restricted Driving Permit. Within one year, at my next hearing with Mr. Doorhy, I was fully reinstated. This man seems to really care about his clients and he knows just what he is doing. I recommend him highly. -Charles S.
J
7 years ago
This Lawyer Saved Me
I recently got my fifth DUI arrest. I have a supervision and 3 convictions. I told my buddy that I was desperate cause with 4 DUI convictions you are banned for life from driving in IL. He referred me to Martin. The two things I shall never forget about him are that he always treated me with kindness when other attorneys yelled at me and even made fun of me. Second, he knew exactly what he was doing, and he always explained what he was doing and why he was doing it --something my other lawyers never did. The State's Attorney had already made it clear he was asking for plenty of jail time if I was convicted. Martin prepared me and my witness for hours for trial, and then he won it. So now I have had my life handed back to me. I am in AA and I have not felt this good in 10 years. But if I had lost that trial, I would never be able to drive again, and I would be in jail. Thanks a million, Martin.
E
7 years ago
A Very Fine Man
My husband and I retained Mr. Doorhy to represent our son, Jimmy, in a Class X felony case in which he was selling drugs out of our house. Both the Public Defender and our previous lawyer told us that the police raid was based on a legal warrant and that the best they could get our son was the minimum sentence-6 years in prison. Mr. Doorhy spent hours reviewing the case with our son, with us, and with the State's Attorney. He allowed us to call him at night on his cell phone up till 9:00 p.m. One night he stayed on the phone with my me until 10:00 p.m. Finally, the State's Attorney agreed to let Jim work with the police and the result was he did no time in jail and received Special Probation for a Class 4 Felony which does not even count as a conviction if Jimmy stays out of trouble for 2 years. I would recommend this lawyer to anybody.