May Electric - Solar Division

Solar Contractors

8721 Casper Ave

Hudson, FL 34667

EC: 13005353
Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

hudsonpvsolarpanel.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

R
3 weeks ago
May Electric performs EXCELLENT work
My wife & I had the great pleasure of meeting, dealing with, and entering into an agreement with May Electric to install a solar-generation system in our home earlier this year. Since this was an important decision, we performed some initial research into several solar firms. Another DIFFERENT solar firm, which a neighbor used, didn’t even return the phone call we made to the sales rep. In no time, May Electric quickly ascended to the top of our list; especially because May is a local electric business that performs solar installs, not the reverse. One of our concerns of going solar was the use of temporary workers by a large out of state firm. Since we take pride in our beautiful home, other research included driving to a few of May’s recent installs to ensure the panels didn’t take away from the aesthetics and curb appeal. In one of these homes, we met the homeowner, who showed us his system and was extremely positive about BOTH his experience with May and the solar system. All of our experiences, meetings, and interactions were wonderful. They arrived on time to all meetings, returned all phone calls – even when I requested to speak with the owner Billy May, whom I had the pleasure of meeting at my home on installation day. On install day, they showed up on time with their crew, and completed the entire install by early afternoon. When the local building inspector arrived the following week, he was EXTREMELY impressed with their work. The inspector actually said “If I was going to install solar in my home, then May Electric is the company that I would use. Every single aspect of this install was perfect.” I’m pleased to say that our solar system provides 100% of our electric consumption, and our monthly bill is ONLY $10/month for the fixed customer charge to be connected to the grid. Two of our neighbors have since hired May for their solar install, and another 2 neighbors are in the works. We were extremely proud (and blessed!) to have been lucky enough to meet Billy May and the rest of his Super Solar team. Billy and crew… please take a bow!!
T
3 weeks ago
My neighor made a mistake by not using May Electric
It took my neighbor’s blundr for me to truly learn how good May Electric is with solar systems. I purchased my system from May Electric in 2017 after vetting 6 different solar companies. I have been very pleased with the performance of the system and their craftsmanship. My appreciation of them grew exponentially after seeing what my neighbor went through. My neighbor is a business owner and is proud of his negotiating skills. I referred him to May Electric when he expressed interest in a solar system. He met with Neil as well as representatives from “yard sign” solar installers. In the end he did not go with May because of the deal he got. I witnessed firsthand the 3 to 4 days it required (over a month time frame) to complete the installation of a 20+ panel solar system. I also witnessed the 6 inspections that were required (over a 7 month period) to finally get the system approved. And to make matters worse for my neighbor, I saw the invoice and he paid more per watt than I did. I am able to refer May Electric to everyone with complete confidence that they will be as please as I am.
R
3 weeks ago
Fantastic Experience
This has been a Fantastic Experience working with May Electric Solar for my dive into the world of solar power generation. William May, Jake and Tyler were all courteous and professional in the interaction I had with them. They were able to schedule for an onsite estimate within a week of contacting them. Jake excelled in his knowledge of the process and low pressure in terms of sales, especially compared to other area companies. They work with top quality components in the industry (LG panels and Enphase micro-inverters), and benefit from being an electrical contractor prior to getting into the solar business unlike some of these newer companies that seem to e popping up. My only concern was possible overproduction when I required an unexpected new HVAC system while awaiting install of my solar system, yet Jake assured me there should be no issue with the margins they plan for. The actual install was quite remarkable taking a little over 4 hours (though my system was relatively simple) and looks much better than I anticipated on my roof. Tyler even stayed after to walk me through the surprisingly simple operation of the system's hardware. You know you are choosing wisely when the county inspector tells you that May Electric is one of the best outfits in the area. Local company, works with American made panels and parts, and hardworking personnel. Looking forward to my new interconnect panel from the power company and being able to turn my system on and see the results of their efforts.
C
1 month ago
Best Solar Company Experience
I obtained multiple estimates from over a dozen solar companies over the course of several weeks on a Solar System. After three rounds of revised quotes from all vendors, May Electric Solar's was the only one that remained unchanged becauses they had already offered the second lowest price, the best warranty, and the best communication. All the other vendors clearly had fluff and high profit margin in their quotes - still was much higher for the exact same parts (LG solar panels and Enphase microinverters). The installation timeline and work was completely as agreeded. We couldnt be happier with their frequent communication or customer service. Systems has been operating flawlesssly ever since. We expect payoff in less than 7 years.
I
1 month ago
I highly recommend May Electric with no hesitation.
I did extensive research about the technology and about local providers before selecting May Electric. The sales process was honest, straightforward and informative. The price was the lowest around and there were no surprises. The installation ran on schedule and the entire team was courteous and considerate. I had 60 panels installed. I thought I would have to put some of them on a less than optimal SW facing roof. Billy was able to rearrange them at the last minute and squeeze them all onto a south facing roof. I’ve had them for almost 2 years. May Electric provided me with all the forms and guidance I needed to claim the maximum tax deduction. Because of Billy’s ingenuity, the panels have produced even more energy than I had expected. It looks like the whole system will have paid for itself in under 8 years. I couldn’t be happier.
S
1 month ago
May Electric Solar
After retiring from the Army and Department of Veterans Affairs my family had 1 child in college and the other in her junior year of high school. We decided to move from Wesley Chapel and found a home in the Golf Community of Lake Bernadette. I had researched solar in the past and was ready to add it to our new to us home. I researched first on the internet and then local dealers. We had 3 in home estimates and decided on May Electric after finding their product was one of the top of the line at that time (2015). The installation was flawless without any prolonged inspections or delays by Duke energy. Install was completed and are solar was producing and savings began. Since 2015 we have only had to pay Duke Energy the Maintenance price of $9.95 dollars a month. I am pleased with the system I purchased and recommend May Electric to anyone looking for a good solid company that services the product after the sale. Last year one of our solar panels was not producing and once the envoy reported this I contacted May they stood behind their product ordered a new inverter installed it and since it was under warranty 25 year there was no out of pocket expense to us. Thanks May Electric
N
1 month ago
From Our Very First Meeting.
From our very first meeting with Danny Hibbs where we signed our contract to the final installation of our panels, we never doubted we made the right choice. Unlike other companies who came in to use scare tactics on continual rising costs with Duke Electric and then only being able to tell us they had the best solar panels made in China and how we could get a brand name panels like LG of we wanted to spend $60-$80,000.00. Danny came in with a complete proposal of our system, paperwork about the LG panels and answered all our questions we had. May Electric stayed in touch with us weekly. Supplied all paperwork needed for our HOA approval and through the waiting period for permitting. Once our permit was approved our panels were on by the end of the week. City final approval took 2 days and Duke Electric has been notified to change our meter. Everything was handled with no effort on our part. Installers were wonderful and cleaned up everything and took the time to talk with us on the only things we need to do once the meter is changed. We would highly recommend May Electric Solar to anyone who asked. Thank You.
C
2 months ago
Thanks to All.
I highly recommend May Electric to anyone considering the utilization of Solar Energy. The May Electric team is knowledgeable and professional. I consulted several area companies and found them to have the most efficient process from start to finish. The end result was as promised. I'm very pleased. My Thanks to all-especially to Steve H. for his efforts and understanding of my needs.
B
2 months ago
Christmas in September!
After 19 years at our former address we downsized and moved 1 mile away. One of the key reasons was the crazy Duke electric bills that hammered us year after year. What a nightmare! We did everything imaginable to make our home energy efficient and it never seemed to make any real difference. Not wanting to bulldoze and start over we realized our only choice was to move. Almost pulled the trigger on a Deerfield Estate home (many are energy smart with solar) but did not want the HOA, the rules, and smaller lot size hat those homes offered. My other hope was to find a reasonably priced home and add solar. So we found a fix it upper and went to work. Four months later we moved in. After the dust settled it was back to pursuing the solar dream. We talked to at least 4 different companies and May was in the middle of the pack price wise. What set them apart was the low-key laid-back attitudes of their salespeople. They truly cared about getting us the right fit and so continued a dialogue of phone calls and emails until every detail was resolved. We felt like family from the beginning. These are people you want to do business with. Last week Tyler and Jake were the leads for our installation which could not have gone smoother. They took the time to answer every question thoughtfully in 91degree heat! It was as if they were working on there own homes. Cleaned up like true pros not leaving a trace, only the stunning panels to appreciate. We are now waiting on Duke to connect out new meter and looking forward to unwrapping that next electric bill that follows! So Virginia, there is a Santa Claus, he also works in September and his name is William May and team. Thank you and God Bless May Solar and family!
C
2 months ago
The company is great and the employees are very respectful.