May Electric - Solar Division

Solar Contractors

8721 Casper Ave

Hudson, FL 34667

EC: 13005353
Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

hudsonpvsolarpanel.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
5 years ago
7.9kw solar system
System installed as desired, cost what Bill Mays said it would cost, works as Bill Mays said it would work, very happy with the system, installation and May's service.
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thank you Mr Hall
J
5 years ago
Very efficient, helpful, knowledgeable.
We are very impressed with the results of the installation. The workers were extremely friendly and competent. The solar panels were installed in half a day. All the work was done very professionally. Also William, the electrician, was very helpful to us getting the documents required to get our new meter from Duke Energy. Hooking up the option to use our generator in a way that allows us to safely utilize the PV solar panes with micro inverters in the event of a power is a very nice feature. We purchased only the number of PV panels that Josh Hubbard recommended. Another company that we looked at suggested installing the maximum number of panels allowed for a basic Photovoltaic Solar panel system; they said that there was no way that the solar panels could be used in a power outage using a generator. We found this to be untrue. We are very pleased to have gone with May Electric, The Solar Division.
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thanks Mr Noble
M
5 years ago
Competent, Professional, Easy to Work With - Highly Recommend.
When I first set out to put in solar panels I did a lot of research that led me to May Electric. After meeting with Josh Hubbard I felt like I could make a decision then and there without interviewing other companies. I am glad I did. There were some hiccups with respect to permits (not unusual in Largo I understand) but the May people were great about all aspects of the transaction. Rather than take two days to do the installation they sent a full crew and did the whole thing in one day. They did everything they said they would do and were excellent at communicating with me. They responded quickly to every question and concern. I am one tough old geezer and very hard to please but I don't think you could go far wrong using these nice folks. I would be glad to discuss with anyone that would like more details.
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thank you Martin. I will get you the information you request by the end of the weekend.
M
5 years ago
Solar Panel fascination vs reality!
My expectations of the solar panels delivered as promised. I felt like there was so much misinformation out on the market. The big question is the fear of the unknown. The price vs results was pretty impressive. All the notions that I heard where that it was so expensive. The reality was my wife and I showed our power bills to May Electric, they were reviewed and a cost was figured on how long to pay back in years for the system. After the work was completed I have had the chance to see several power bills and I'm impressed. My awareness level for power consumption has been elevated with the ability to see the power production anytime I want on our system. Thank you May Electric for the quality I was looking for and the professionalism.
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thank you Matt for the review and hopefully the monitoring of SAVINGS continue! Don't forget that we offer $250.00 for a referral or (finder fee) assured by yours truly. As you know, we are honest with pricing & dedicate our services, so feel free to share your personal experience & cost benefits to help us grow! We just opened a 10,000 SqFt facility & showroom they can visit @ 8721 Casper Ave., Hudson, FL 34667. Referred person, (once contracted) should give your name, phone # or street address where you had your system installed to redeem our gesture of appreciation to you! Contact your sales rep or us directly for any reason @ 727-819-2862. The news lately when talking to folks besides our new place is that the tax break has in fact been extended thru 2019-but the bad news is that electric bills are sure to rise...but YOU NOW OWN YOUR POWER! Thank you for your business once again!
K
5 years ago
Someday hope to add even more panels.
About 3 years ago some of my neighbors here in Land O Lakes were having solar installed by May Elect. After talking with him and getting some prices we had 23 panels installed. I can't say enough good things about how professional the whole job went. Everything came in as priced and the elect bill when down even more than was estimated. We would most highly recommend May Elect to anyone considering solar.
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thank you Ken for the review-here to serve even more of your neighbors! Don't forget that we offer $250.00 for a referral or (finder fee) assured by yours truly. As you know, we are honest with pricing & dedicate our services, so feel free to share your personal experience & cost benefits to help us grow! We just opened a 10,000 SqFt facility & showroom they can visit @ 8721 Casper Ave., Hudson, FL 34667. Referred person, (once contracted) should give your name, phone # or street address where you had your system installed to redeem our gesture of appreciation to you! Contact your sales rep or us directly for any reason @ 727-819-2862. The news lately when talking to folks besides our new place is that the tax break has in fact been extended thru 2019-but the bad news is that electric bills are sure to rise...but YOU NOW OWN YOUR POWER! Thank you for your business once again!
J
5 years ago
great job!
extremely pleased and highly recommend! researched several different companies before deciding to go with them and I am very glad I did!
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thanks Joe
B
5 years ago
Great experience
Came on time, finished on time and have had no problems with solar panels-they have worked great for 21/2 years since installed
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thank you Brenda, great to hear they are working like clock-work! Don't forget that we offer $250.00 for a referral or (finder fee) assured by yours truly. As you know, we are honest with pricing & dedicate our services, so feel free to share your personal experience & cost benefits to help us grow! We just opened a 10,000 SqFt facility & showroom they can visit @ 8721 Casper Ave., Hudson, FL 34667. Referred person, (once contracted) should give your name, phone # or street address where you had your system installed to redeem our gesture of appreciation to you! Contact your sales rep or us directly for any reason @ 727-819-2862. The news lately when talking to folks besides our new place is that the tax break has in fact been extended thru 2019-but the bad news is that electric bills are sure to rise...but YOU NOW OWN YOUR POWER! Thank you for your business once again!
R
5 years ago
Ging green with solar conversion
Our salesperson, Jeff Hudson, and the William May company helped us install a solar system on our roof late in 2013. We had been accepted into Duke Energy's solar conversion program. Prior to the solar conversion our energy costs averaged approximately $110.00/month. Immediately our monthly average dropped to $0.00 (except, of course, for that silly meter charge of $8.98/month). We paid cash for the system and with rebates, tax credits, etc our ROI was estimated to be 2.33 yrs. It is one of my little joys to receive our Duke Energy bill each month with $0.00 owed for energy use. Our neighbors saw our installation, heard about our monthly non-bill, and opted to sign up for solar conversion with the William May company too. They too are paying $0.00 for monthly energy use. Love it. An we get to wear a white hat all the time. We are the good guys!! thank you William May for all the helpful information you continue to provide and for being responsive to our inquiries.
J
5 years ago
So impressed with William May, I went to work for him!
I got introduced to solar voltaic a few years ago, I'm not a salesman, but solar seemed like something I could sell that people could benefit from and actually come out money ahead in the long run. My introduction was through an acquaintance who had started a solar sales company with whom I would do solar sales for. My only requirement was I would not have to pressure sell people and that the system we were selling would live up to our sales presentation. I immeadiatly bought a solar system and other associated products to eliminate my electric bill initially, as I couldn't justify selling something that I myself wasn't using, even though the owner of the sales company did not have solar. This was when I met William May owner of May Electric. I realized William was the electricial contractor, and I was just working with a fast talking sales company, with William I really learned about solar. It was like a breath of fresh air working for William May. He was dedicated to selling only the best American Made solar panels, inverters and solar equipment. When a customer had technical questions he was always available to meet them in person or by phone to answer their questions, even if it was related to electrical other than solar. William has been present, and on the roof at every job I have sold. If a solar system was not right for a customer, he would not hesitate to tell the customer it wasn't right for them, and he never tried to sell a larger system than one of my customers needed. You will find working with William a breath of fresh air, and his sales people friendly and informative, not pushy like some of the water treatment and window sales people I've had in my home, and tried to politely get to leave.
R
5 years ago
Zero electric bill but more money
We where not looking to spend what we did on our solar system, May electric was about $1250.00 more then other quotes we had. We trusted Williams calculations on why we should pay more for micro inverters over a central inverter. After our tax credit its $875.00 more about 10 months extra on the ROI. The monitoring is probably worth it to most people I guess. My wife was sold on it, with the "never a surprise electric bill" as william would say, "due to a faulty system" since micro inverters monitor it daily. I just wish the cost would have been a little more even to central inverters. William said in 2 years I would be thanking him for choosing micro inverters rather than a central inverter. One good case he had, that I agreed on was that when insurance companies start making things difficult for solar electric homes the easiest attack ( the only creditable attack in his opinion) would be on the high voltage DC systems like central inverters and house fires.