May Electric - Solar Division

Solar Contractors

8721 Casper Ave

Hudson, FL 34667

EC: 13005353
Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

hudsonpvsolarpanel.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

B
5 years ago
Great experience
Came on time, finished on time and have had no problems with solar panels-they have worked great for 21/2 years since installed
Response from May Electric - Solar Division
Thank you Brenda, great to hear they are working like clock-work! Don't forget that we offer $250.00 for a referral or (finder fee) assured by yours truly. As you know, we are honest with pricing & dedicate our services, so feel free to share your personal experience & cost benefits to help us grow! We just opened a 10,000 SqFt facility & showroom they can visit @ 8721 Casper Ave., Hudson, FL 34667. Referred person, (once contracted) should give your name, phone # or street address where you had your system installed to redeem our gesture of appreciation to you! Contact your sales rep or us directly for any reason @ 727-819-2862. The news lately when talking to folks besides our new place is that the tax break has in fact been extended thru 2019-but the bad news is that electric bills are sure to rise...but YOU NOW OWN YOUR POWER! Thank you for your business once again!
R
5 years ago
Ging green with solar conversion
Our salesperson, Jeff Hudson, and the William May company helped us install a solar system on our roof late in 2013. We had been accepted into Duke Energy's solar conversion program. Prior to the solar conversion our energy costs averaged approximately $110.00/month. Immediately our monthly average dropped to $0.00 (except, of course, for that silly meter charge of $8.98/month). We paid cash for the system and with rebates, tax credits, etc our ROI was estimated to be 2.33 yrs. It is one of my little joys to receive our Duke Energy bill each month with $0.00 owed for energy use. Our neighbors saw our installation, heard about our monthly non-bill, and opted to sign up for solar conversion with the William May company too. They too are paying $0.00 for monthly energy use. Love it. An we get to wear a white hat all the time. We are the good guys!! thank you William May for all the helpful information you continue to provide and for being responsive to our inquiries.
J
5 years ago
So impressed with William May, I went to work for him!
I got introduced to solar voltaic a few years ago, I'm not a salesman, but solar seemed like something I could sell that people could benefit from and actually come out money ahead in the long run. My introduction was through an acquaintance who had started a solar sales company with whom I would do solar sales for. My only requirement was I would not have to pressure sell people and that the system we were selling would live up to our sales presentation. I immeadiatly bought a solar system and other associated products to eliminate my electric bill initially, as I couldn't justify selling something that I myself wasn't using, even though the owner of the sales company did not have solar. This was when I met William May owner of May Electric. I realized William was the electricial contractor, and I was just working with a fast talking sales company, with William I really learned about solar. It was like a breath of fresh air working for William May. He was dedicated to selling only the best American Made solar panels, inverters and solar equipment. When a customer had technical questions he was always available to meet them in person or by phone to answer their questions, even if it was related to electrical other than solar. William has been present, and on the roof at every job I have sold. If a solar system was not right for a customer, he would not hesitate to tell the customer it wasn't right for them, and he never tried to sell a larger system than one of my customers needed. You will find working with William a breath of fresh air, and his sales people friendly and informative, not pushy like some of the water treatment and window sales people I've had in my home, and tried to politely get to leave.
R
5 years ago
Zero electric bill but more money
We where not looking to spend what we did on our solar system, May electric was about $1250.00 more then other quotes we had. We trusted Williams calculations on why we should pay more for micro inverters over a central inverter. After our tax credit its $875.00 more about 10 months extra on the ROI. The monitoring is probably worth it to most people I guess. My wife was sold on it, with the "never a surprise electric bill" as william would say, "due to a faulty system" since micro inverters monitor it daily. I just wish the cost would have been a little more even to central inverters. William said in 2 years I would be thanking him for choosing micro inverters rather than a central inverter. One good case he had, that I agreed on was that when insurance companies start making things difficult for solar electric homes the easiest attack ( the only creditable attack in his opinion) would be on the high voltage DC systems like central inverters and house fires.
M
5 years ago
All my questions answered
I looked in to solar for 2 years. I spoke to 8 different solar companies over a 6 month period. I asked a lot of questions most of them, I knew the answers to... The only contractor that was consistent in every conversation and 100% truthful on every question was Mr May. It got to a point I was just trying to stump him on a technical question. Good luck if you try. The fact that he is also on the installation running the crews made him the only logical choice for me. After almost 2 years of having solar with absolutely zero problems, I can vouch that may electric is the right choice for anyone thinking of going solar. Mike
C
5 years ago
Nice installation by knowledgeable company. With available credits it is a no brainer! My system will pay for itself in 6.5 years. I paid cash. However, if financecd, the monthly payment would have been no more than my average monthly electric bill. Plus, solar electric adds 20% to the value of your home. Did I say no brainer? Craig Muth, Lakeland, Florida. PS, My electric bill for April 2015 was $0. Plus, I had a 975kw credit!!!!!
G
5 years ago
Getting solar installed on second home by May Electric next week
Billy & Josh are great to work with. They were the only "reasonably priced" solar company that I got estimates from after searching for two years (since I realized the benefits of solar in my home in NJ). They're about to put solar on my other Florida home that doesn't even have a clear south view... I'm confident that my east/west gables will offset the entire bill (house isn't used much). With my south facing home, it's been almost a year since the install, and today I did the math. This is April, 2015. My system was installed in May, 2014, so we have two bills to go for a true comparison, but in 10 months of comparison I've had $682 LESS of an electric bill. I am a total fan of solar, and Billy May Electric is the way to go. ABSOLUTELY! I wish I could get him to come up to NJ and install more panels on my home up there. Price and value is incredible!
D
5 years ago
Knowledgeable, Professional, Helpful
They installed the system in a professional manner within the time they specified. They did a nice professional looking job and they coordinated inspections and hook up with the electric co. The system is performing as expected. They responded quickly to any inquiries we had. We would highly recommend May Electric.
L
5 years ago
SOLAR ELECTRIC IS A GREAT INVESTMENT!
I had a 36 panel roof top solar voltaic system installed on the South side my home in Sebring in December of 2013. Our electric bills were averaging $150 per month prior to the system installation. Now I am averaging $30 per month (which includes the $8.98 meter charge). With the Duke Energy rebate and the Federal tax credit, The system cost me about $1,500. Therefore, I was paid back within 14 months. What's not to like? GREAT INVESTMENT!
D
5 years ago
honest work
The solar division of William May electric is excellent to work with. Mr. May is an honest contractor who won't oversell you on a solar system. He will match your power requirements with the appropriate panel and inverter combination, thereby optimizing the amount of solar power you can generate at the lowest price point. I will continue to work with Mr. May, as the solar panels become more efficient, sometimes it makes economic sense to upgrade the panel and get a credit for the panel that has been on the roof for the last 5 years.