Mr. Electric

Electrician

Chesapeake, VA 23323

Open Today 24 Hours

mrelectricofchesapeake.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

K
5 months ago
Brothers who are a racket
These guys are brothers and are working a racket! Beware!!!
K
5 months ago
Smarty pants
In response to Mr Electric's response, my other electricians are all the wiser because they have returned business, something I can say that you will for sure not have. I did not get what I paid for, you hit the nail on the head. It seems a few other customers here also agree with me. Now I can say you are arrogant and an a**h***! I deal with Mr Electric in Columbia, SC and he is a true electrician with integrity and honesty! May your business go broke soon! You were there at 8am on 3/3, I arrived at 8:20am and you were talking and yacking with the customer with no intent to start work until I arrived. Again, no integrity!
K
5 months ago
Lacking in many areas, prices are exhorbitantly high!!!
Tonya in the office was great, had to reschedule 2 times due to measures beyond my control and she took it in stride and did not miss a beat. When Jason showed up to do the job, he did not show up to do the job but showed up to give a quote. I was on a time schedule and needed it done then as I explained to Tonya, he stated the office girl doesn't know anything nor what she is doing. He also brought up that I had rescheduled twice and that was taken into consideration. I install walkin bathtubs and the job I have electricians do is anywhere from $500 - $750 depending on what needs to be done. He told me it would take 6 hours for 2 people and quoted me $1300!!! Because I was needing this done today, I accepted the quote and then he said I will be back tomorrow to do the job. I went ballistic as it cost me an additional day of labot and another night in a hotel room plus twice the cost to the electrician for a simple 2 gfci line run. The job only took 2 hours and no discount was offered. Mr Electric Chesapeake took full advantage of me and I do not appreciate it. The cost plus the delays were ridiculous! If I am ever in Chesapeake again, I will not use them. They lack integrity and competiveness.
Response from Mr. Electric
Hello review followers this is Mr.Electric, let me set the record straight.I arrived on site at 11:30 am on 3/02/17( Keep in mind i had to move several appts around to accommodate this contractor for the following day.I was doing the job for because he was in a pinch ).....( I also Needed to get special breakers to do his job & a helper.)Then on 3/03/17 at 8 am in the morning i arrived at his customers house to start his project consisted of running 151-ft of wiring under the house & moving several special breakers around to make room for his dedicated circuits that he requested...I told the contractor that the job time could very from 2 to 6 hours depending on whats under the house.The contractor told me & my helper that his other electrical contractors charge a cheaper rate. But the other electrical contractors that he uses leave wires unstapled & just leaves it laying on the ground under the house.Remember there is always two sides of the story.There is a saying "You get what you pay for".Thanks Mr.Electric
S
6 months ago
Second Review
Hi, Follow up to your extremely false defense of my review, in the hopes no other customers are required to deal with you. "Flustrated" is not a word. And saying "Sorry Ms Flustrated customer" is indicative of the rude and unprofessional behavior you exhibited in my home. As I was able to resolve the issue by switching a light switch on which the ground wire had come undone, I believe my "improper equipment" was correct. But had you even explained what you were looking at or why you needed to do it, other than just repeated "$163.99 isn't $165", I might have been less upset with your unprofessional behavior. Thank goodness you were as rude as you were, it saved me hundreds of dollars!
S
6 months ago
High prices, rude technician!
Pros: Friendly customer service during the scheduling process. Jason was prompt and they were able to fit me in the same day I called. Cons: I was told I would receive an email with my technicians photo; I did not. Being told about that feature gave me peace of mind for safety, but it did not arrive. This did not bode well for their reliability. But when the tech arrived, it was obvious he was with the company so I let him in. The technician was scheduled to give me a free estimate, but wanted $163.99 to look at four places where something could be wrong. This seemed high to me, especially based on average per hour costs reported for electrical labor in Hampton Roads. But it was more than just the price that stoped me. I spent five minutes explaining what I had done, and it was like he didn't even hear me. I know the price exactly -- because as I stood talking to the tech, I had a tester in my hand and said "I just did this on my own - I know there is power here. You want $165 to do the same thing?" He got upset at this point and became very rude to me. His response was "Not $165, $163.99." At this point I asked him to leave my home. I was infuriated that someone I was going to be paying to help me would not only disregard my questions, but would be sarcastic and rude to me. As it turns out, I called another company and they actually listened to what I did - and because of listening to me, gave me a suggestion that allowed me to fix the problem on my own! It would have cost me hundreds of dollars to have Mr. Electric to even "diagnose" what I had already told them was wrong, when another company told me in 5 minutes how to fix my problem over the phone!! I do not recommend Mr. Electric unless you are in an emergency situation in which you have no other options.
Response from Mr. Electric
Hello this is Mr. Electric,i arrived at the customers home on time & also call to let the customer know that i was in route.As i arrived on time to the customers home she answered the door & i introduced myself.At this time the customer was very flustrated with her electrical issues.So as she walked me to the electrical problem's & told me she checked to power in the main panel box without taking the cover off she used a hand healed tick tracer to check to just see if there was power.I told her that i needed to take the panel cover off & check power to each breaker & make sure she was getting correct power coming off each breaker with a voltage meter.I told her that i needed to preform a basic diagnostic 1-4 opening . And immediately she said it was not a problem with the panel box.Butt she had several things not working.She refused to pay to diagnostic.So i told her if we do not know whats going on i need to preform a basic diagnostic to see if the problem was a device or loose connection some were.So point,being she preformed testing with improper testing equiment & did not take the panel cover off..She was the one to call me out to her home as a professional." You have to diagnose the problem before you fix it." Sorry miss flustrated customer.. Mr.Electric
K
10 months ago
Excellent service, knowledgeable workmanship
I needed a ceiling fan replaced and was referred to Mr. Electric. Within 24 hours the fan was installed, complete with remote receiver. The technician was courteous, informative and helpful. I believe I have found my go-to electrical professional!
A
1 year ago
great
Response from Mr. Electric
Thanks Adam for your business
E
1 year ago
Installation of door bell/camera
After I described by project, when I requested the service, Byron did his homework and had a good idea how he would perform the installation. He was on time, professional, explained what he was going to do, patient, neat, and cleaned up inside and outside when the job was completed. The cost seemed a little high but I have not had electrical work done by a company for several years.
Response from Mr. Electric
Thanks Mr. Jackson for your business
K
1 year ago
Too Expensive
Part of the charge was replacing a standard light switch and the charge for the light switch was $72.00. I would never use them again. Diagnostics was another over 100.00 when the only problem was the standard switch. Disappointed to say the least, I believe the saying is " taken advantage of".
Response from Mr. Electric
Sorry you thought you were being taken advantage of. At Mr. Electric we strive to give Excellent service. Our service technicians always give up front pricing and we explain what we do up front and ask our customers to authorize the work before it is performed.
F
1 year ago
Great job. Guy was on time very knowledgeable and friendly. Will recommend this company to anyone
Response from Mr. Electric
Thanks for your Business