National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.

Self Defense and Martial Arts Course

6903 NW Expressway

Oklahoma City, OK 73132

Open Today 1:00PM - 8:00PM

selfdefenseoklahomacity.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
1 year ago
I can't say enough about how awesome National Kararte is and has done for my grandson.. Master David and Master Jim run a great program for both boys and girls. We love going and Zane can' t wait for class. I just love this place!
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Hey Cindy, all we do is try and reinforce the values that you are already establishing in the home for Zane! We appreciate your support and we wish we had five more kids just like Zane!
M
1 year ago
Best quality service in OKC!
National Karate & their instructors are the highest quality in the area!
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Micah, thanks for your kind response!
M
1 year ago
Professional and fun.
I am pleased with my time so far at National Karate. I like the instructors especially David he seems to be very knowledgeable about bo staff techniques, I enjoy learning from him. I would like to see a smaller class for more one on one time so more knowledge can be absorbed. Perhaps a class strictly for beginners, white, gold and orange belts. Then a another class strictly for intermediate, green, blue and purple belts. Finally a class strictly for advanced students brown, red and black belts. This way students don't feel overwhelmed and lost at times and can have more focused attention as well as more space/room to practice. I look forward to continuing my training with this school.
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Hey Michael, we are excited about your progress toward the Black Belt goal that you and Hannah have set for yourselves! As you progress you are going to find that individual practice will be a major part of your program and the instructors are always available to aid and give tips on the various areas that you will develop skills in! The classes will vary in size and ability levels, so all you can do is your best each class, good luck!
K
1 year ago
Nice teachers. But for beginners it's a large class and they don't learn much. Never shown how to do the moves just watches each kid like twice and that's it. A lot of the kids there are either picked up or dropped off (not sure) and they run all over the place. Teachers spend more time dealing with those kids.
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Hey Kate, thanks for your review, we can not improve our service if we do not know something is broken! You are right about the kids that are running around unattended, and we are striving to nip that problem and maintain the concept that they are here to practice and develop their skills, not go crazy in the workout area! For the curriculum we offer 5 different lesson plans that revolve so that if a child only comes Monday, in five Mondays he will cover the entire curriculum for advancement to Gold or Orange belt. We limit the number of techniques that we teach per class to make sure that we do not overwhelm the kids ages 6 to 12.
M
2 years ago
Personal touch
The whole staff treats each student with such genuine care. Our entire karate experience has been such a relief and such an awesome relaxing & comfortable environment. Mr. David is AWESOME!!!!!!!
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Hey Micah, thanks for the glowing review, it's great when others see the benefits for their children and notice things that we try and accomplish every class!
J
2 years ago
Top Notch Dojo!
National Karate is one of the most reparable Karate Facilities in the State of Oklahoma. If you want a safe and positive experience for you child after school, they have it. If you want to be trained by the best, you have to join the best. Whether its your child being trained 5 days a week in the after school program, or an individual or couples wanting to become well trained in the a top notch self defense training facility, this school is for you. Highly recommended.
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Thanks Jason for the high recommendation! The key to all of our success is the effort that the kids, such as yours, and adults put in to the classes we run!
J
2 years ago
Life Changing Experience!
I've been taking Karate since October 2014 at this school founded by legendary hall of fame inductee Jim Butin. The Instructors are knowledgeable and patient and the best of the best.Since I have been taking the classes it has greatly enriched my quality of life.I started out with having my grandchildren take lessons.Then with some encouragement from Mr Butin I started taking the classes as well.And I have been amazed at the things I can do now with ease a little thing like climbing to the top of the stairs in a movie theater like it's nothing before I wouldn't even attempt that! I feel great and look forward to learning more with these wonderful instructors.
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Thanks Jonsey for the kind remarks, we try to make our adult classes fun, as well as functional in delivering the best self defense classes in the state!
H
2 years ago
Improved a lot
I have been together with this place from the beginning that I am happy to see their teaching have improved, and the most important thing is all the instructors at this place are really good.
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
When we have kids, like yours , in the program that really want to apply themselves and make progress, our job is much easier. Thank you!
S
2 years ago
Helped my son zgwh
National Karate helped my son deal with everyday stress and our recent life change. He is better bc of jim, David and the whole staff that cares for zane. He has excelled and won a trophy every tournament, his self esteem is high and he has moral goals. :) you won't be dissapointed.
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Thanks Shelise for your glowing review, we appreciate all of our kids and feel exceptional when we know others appreciate our efforts!
A
2 years ago
Great place!
Affordable wonderful place! My 5 year old son goes here and they are awesome. The teacher is great with the kids and the owner is very trustworthy.
Response from National Karate & Tae Kwon Do, Inc.
Hey, Ashley we appreciate you and your family, thanks for the kind review. We look forward to seeing Justus in class soon!