North Jersey Mixed Martial Arts Academy

Self Defense and Martial Arts Course

11 Route 15

Lafayette, NJ 07848

Open Today 3:30PM - 8:30PM

spartakickboxing.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
12 months ago
Incredible!
The most incredible aspect of NJMMAA to me, is that, though perhaps cliché, it is much more than a gym, but a home. I came to the facility with no prior experience and a simple curiosity of why kickboxing, jiu jitsu, and other self-defense classes are so popular. And after my first class I was hooked. Not only with the sport, but also with the people and the atmosphere they continuously cultivate. Though having a background in gymnastics, competitive cheerleading, and lacrosse, I had never experienced such demanding sports as kickboxing, and especially jiu jitsu. However, Garrett and the other teachers focus on your best qualities and abilities, creating a supportive environment where succeeding is possible. Every class feels as though it is a private lesson, as the staff gives each student personalized attention and new goals to reach. Not only are hard work, respect, and perseverance expected, but they are also given back by the instructors and other students no matter age, gender, or level. The most rewarding experience is seeing daily improvement in my skills and fitness level, and also noticing how my training has impacted my personal life: less stress and anxiety. Not only have I met amazing people and staff members who only want me to succeed, but NJMMA has also introduced me to sports and a lifestyle that have changed my perspective.
D
1 year ago
So you think you might be to intimidated to join. Not to worry at this gym. From day one, I was helped and coachef not just by the instructors, but even other students. Everyone striving to help you do your best. A great gym, with a bunch of great people. This is an awesome sport for getting in shape. Thanks to the entire staff.
M
1 year ago
Great place to learn and let things get away from your mind
NJMMAA is a great place to start Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu or Kickboxing. People who want to start say to themselves "oh I'm not in shape to do that" or "I won't be good". You don't need to be in shape to start, that's the beautiful thing about it! And you are never going to be good unless you start putting in the time to get better. You don't know how you'll do at something if you never try. I have been training both for almost 2 years. And I have never regretted going. Every time I go and train, I know I'll be coming out a better person and be able to defend myself as well! I know it might be frightening to come in on your first class, but you will receive nothing but smiles and kindness. Everyone who trains at NJMMAA are one of the most nicest people I've met in my life. If you want to have a new adventure in your life and learn how to defend yourself. Come train at NJMMAA, You won't regret it!
A
1 year ago
Great for the kids
My son has been training at the academy for 3 years now, and in those 3 years he has learned so much. He enjoys going every week and he especially loves the coaches. Coach garrett is amazing with the kids when he's on the mats training with them. Coach Brian is just as awesome as coach garrett. The coaches take the time to make sure each child understands the moves and will work with them until they are comfortable. I highly recommend this academy if you're looking to enroll your little ones into jiu jitsu. Its the best thing my husband and I have decided to do for our son so far.
J
1 year ago
Rebuild yourself from the ground up
Brazilian Jiu jitsu might sound intimidating at first but the welcome feeling of this gym immediately makes you feel at home. Making a commitment to train is always hard but the friendships you develop here make you want to show up. You feel inspired to improve which leads to heathier choices outside the gym too. I've lost weight without making sacrifices, have more energy in my daily life, feel more confident in social situations and have become a better person in all aspects of my life. This isn't just a place to get some exercise. It's a place to rebuild yourself. There may be other gyms to choose from, but the knowledge and experience here are second to none.
M
1 year ago
What an Experiences
I have attended North Jersey Mix Martial Arts Academy for over two years. I can't see myself taining anywhere else. Fellow students help each other grow, the coaches work with the students to help them reach their goals. The owner/lead coach Garrett takes great pride in keeping his gym clean. The gym has a awesome balance of skill levels so there is always someone who can help tone ones skills. It is a experience that I will never forget. It has helped me push myself forward in my personal life. I have learned skills, created friendships, found goals, and live healthier then before I joined. I would recommend anyone who is interested in trying it out for themselves.
M
2 years ago
Don't skip this unforgettable experience that you will regret
I came to NJMMAA about 1 and a half year ago. It's been a great experience ever since. The instructor, Garrett is a man who has never ending knowledge to help you with whatever you need. He is a great person to go to if you need help with your jiu-jitsu and or your kickboxing. And when it comes to the atmosphere of the place, it's fantastic. All of the people you meet in there are friendly, respectful and they are helpful. They will give you tips if you are having trouble with a move or combination. Even the experienced people who you would expect to destroy you, they take it easy and help your game improve. Overall, the place is a great school to go to if you are looking to train. Even if you aren't that into it, you will be after a few classes. I know I was! Signing up will be one of the best things you have ever done.
K
2 years ago
The Intangible
I’ve been training in some form of martial arts my entire life. As a child it was Taekwondo, and as an adult it was Wrestling and Boxing. As a former Division I college wrestler, I’ve had the priveledge of training at a lot of different gyms in a lot of different places. All MMA gyms vary in terms of their facilities, their talent, and the competence of their instructors. But there is one aspect or element to a gym that is very difficult to quantify. It is an intangible quality that develops and evolves from the unwavering commitment of the head instructor. That commitment fosters the binding loyalty of the students. That loyalty then creates an atmosphere of camaraderie, discipline and fun which is truly difficult to find. My guess is that it is because it takes years of collective dedication and hard work to create a great mixed martial arts gym culture. NJMMAA is that special place. While there are some other great looking facilities in the area with big brand names, (I’ve trained at them) they don’t possess that intangible quality I’m trying to describe. At any given day at NJMMAA, you can find men and women between the ages of 16 and 50 training competitively, and with mutual respect. The high level fighters do not maul the beginners and egos are checked at the door. There is something at NJMMAA for every age and experience level. After a mere 5 months, not only have I dropped 15 pounds, but I find myself wanting to compete and challenge myself with styles and techniques that previosuly did not interest me. I honestly can’t wait until my daughter turns three so she can begin learning the ever important art of self defense. See you on the mats.
J
2 years ago
My husband and 2 boys have been going to NJMMAA for 4 years. My boys now 9 and 12 love it! Classes have taught them self confidence and skills that I know will carry with them. They have done jiu-jitsu, attended the summer camp and have recently started the kickboxing class. It is a routine that we have down pat. My boys understand the concept of consistency and hard work. If they want to wear the pride of new belts and stripes they know to put in the time! For the kids classes they learn step by step each move at an understanding pace that is not too fast. Learn how to add in the steps they already know to steps they are just learning to keep the consistent movement you need in jiu jitsu. Toward the end of each class, the children do live training of about 2 minute rounds each. This is a great way for them to incorporate everything they know. Professor Garrett and coaches are right there to cheer them on and walk them through the motions if they get stuck! My boys just started the kickboxing and love it! It is a great workout, and they are starting to see how to mix in the 2 skills of jiu jitsu and kickboxing into one! I could not ask for better people to be working with my kids!!! I highly recommend this gym for anyone who is looking into these classes. Garrett and coaches work with you on anything and everything you need to succeed!!!
K
2 years ago
Don't Miss Out on a Great Experience!
I came to NJMMAA in search something more than just hitting a bag. I wanted the experience of learning the "how-tos" of punching correctly and throwing combinations. I certainly found what I was looking for. It is a high intensity environment that keeps you on your toes and moving from start to finish. Not only is it a great work out but it can be looked at from a self-defense aspect as well. You can take away something from every class especially from the instructor Garrett who puts in the time to ensure you are getting the most out of it. He is extremely helpful and is someone you want to learn from because you can tell he knows his stuff. Don't miss out on the opportunity to get in shape/stay in shape and learn a new skill!