Overland Dental Arts

Dentist

2720 Overland Rd

Boise, ID 83705

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
7 days ago
If you have to go to the dentist, there is none finer than Dr. Sachse
I have been a patient of Overland Dental for over twenty years. It has been a great experience during all of that time. Dr. Sachse is the finest dentist I have ever known, and I have never had any complaints (except for a numb jaw after dental work, but I suppose that is unavoidable). His staff are always very friendly and professional, and I never have to wait more than a minute or two for my appointments. Dr. Sachse has invested a lot in upgrading dental equipment over the years, so all of the equipment is state of the art. In fact, if you need a crown, he has a machine that makes the crown in his office while you wait (ask to see the machine work--it is fascinating). I would highly recommend Overland Dental to anyone looking for the best dentist in town. The only complaint that I have is that I never have any wait time in the office to read the People Magazines--so I am getting behind on the doings of the "Kardashians"...
J
2 months ago
Today's Visit
As always, I'm greeted when I come in, my appointment starts on time, and ends on time. Very through, and since I had a problem tooth, the Doc came in to look at it, one we both have been "watching" for awhile, and we discussed what needed to happen. My cleaning finished up, I was able to make my next 6 month appointment right there, and headed to the front desk to make my appointment for my crown. We got it all scheduled, the front desk will check with my insurance, and I was told about the estimated amount that I will have to pay. This office is great, they are always friendly, kind, and professional. I would recommend to anyone who needs a dentist!!
G
2 months ago
Great experience yesterday.
A
3 months ago
Not a good experience
I went to this dentist once on the recommendation of my family. I didn't have insurance at the time, and I was about to move out of town for a job, so I just paid for a cleaning out of pocket. Because of this, I did not want to do X-rays. When I informed the front desk of this they seemed very taken aback and told me that they would get the dentist to come out to talk to me. Dr. Sachse came out and told me that I had to get X-rays because otherwise it would be a "liability." When I asked him if I could sign a waiver to release them from liability he hesitated and said no it was not possible. In the end, he conceded to let me do only two X-rays. When I got the X-rays done, he informed me that I happened to have a cavity that he only could have seen on the X-rays. I was suspicious. When I was leaving, the front desk asked me if I wanted to schedule a filling, and I said no, and they let me go. It seemed fishy to me that it was such a liability for them to not give me X-rays, but apparently not a liability to let me leave and not get my cavity taken care of. Also, when I got home my mom told me she has signed a liability waiver from them multiple times to not have X-rays done! Fast forward one year later, I am living in a different city and just got an exam with full X-rays. The dentist informed me that I have NO cavities. Needless to say, it was the final confirmation I needed that my past experience with Dr. Sachse was fishy to say the least. I would NOT recommend this dentist to anyone. There is really no way to know whether you need the work he tells you that you need.
Response from Overland Dental Arts
Our patients oral health and safety is one of our upmost priorities. I would like to clarify some of your concerns. First, as you were a new patient with no prior films, it is impossible to adequately determine even basic oral conditions by visual examination alone. Diagnostic films need to be consulted for the presence of any underlying conditions below the tissue level that cannot be seen. Once this data has been reviewed, we can then determine the status of your oral health and proceed in the best way possible. Given your situation, I allowed to take as few a films as possible so we could proceed to accommodate your needs. I have no such waiver or release of liability for new patients as they will not be seen. It would be like asking a surgeon to operate blindfolded. Occasionally, an established patient who has had proper films and clinical exams over the years declines to have films taken. We honor our patients wishes and remind them both written and orally that they are going against our recommendations and that dental issues may arise from lack of diagnostic imaging. As far as treatment that was recommended, I would be happy to discuss and share my clinical findings with your current provider.
N
3 months ago
Quick, friendly and professional
Everything from the scheduling, reminders, procedure and check out was awesome! The are friendly which helps for those that may be nervous and get the job done quickly but do a great job! I will recommend them for sure.
K
4 months ago
So personal and professional
I have a wife wife dementia and they go out of their way to work with her. It is so appreciated.
M
4 months ago
About to be expected
I went to Dr Sachse for my annual. I knew of 1 filling I needed; Dr Sachse added 1 along my gumline on a front tooth. No discussion. I would have delayed or not done the 2nd filling, but didn't assert myself, so I got 2 fillings. When checking out, the receptionist asked when I wanted to come back for "the rest." WTF. What "rest"? Dr Sachse planned 3 more along my gumline. Didn't talk to me about them--I would have told him "no." Don't go to Overland Dental if you expect clear, complete communication. You'll get a thorough exam, and a cleaning, but no discussion of Dr Sachse's plans for your mouth. He leaves that to the receptionist.
B
4 months ago
Excellent staff best dentist ever dr sachse
J
5 months ago
They took great care of me, gave meaningful feedback and have always provided the best of care.
M
5 months ago
Great Job as always!