Painting with a Twist

Paint and Sip

2603 E Carson St

#101

Pittsburgh, PA 15203

Open Today By Appointment

paintingwithatwist.com/pittsburgh-south-side/

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
2 days ago
It was fun !! I was made to feel welcome the minute I walked in the door. The instructor was great, as well as the other employees. I will be back, and I will tell people what a great experience it was. :)
D
6 days ago
THEE SHIZNYYEEEE
I spent my birthday at PWAT Southside and we had a blast!! Molly (our instructor) was professional, helpful, FUN, just an all-around awesome instructor whom I’m pleased was at my birthday party!! We played games & ate cakes! It was a good time!! I might be up there with Picasso, now. Will be back for sure!!
K
1 month ago
Great fun on a Sunday afternoon
It was my umpteenth time here and my moms first time and we had a blast!!! Can’t wait to do another painting and excited that our mother/daughter time will be here!!!!!!!!!
L
2 months ago
Ladies Night
I really enjoyed this experience It was great and the instructors was Awesome. Planning another date soon.
C
3 months ago
A tad disappointing
Sarah was a great teacher, and I enjoyed her humor and guidance. For the cost of the experience for two, however, I really expected a glass of wine to be included as did the out-of-state friend who gave me the PWAT Gift Certificate (I won't tell her it didn't). Asked to have my tall cup of brush water refreshed and was told by an assistant, "No!" Seriously?? ("Others will expect the same.") Seriously? Why not provide an industrial sink for painters to refresh their own water at-will? I can say I've done it, told my friend it was fun, but probably won't be back.
Response from Painting with a Twist
Cate, Thank you for joining us! We're glad you had a good time with Sarah, but we're also sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed with your visit. We like to think we offer a fair price for our classes. A two-hour session is $35 per person, and you get to leave with a finished work of art. An escape room (another popular outing nowadays), for example, typically costs about $30 for only an hour experience with no take-home product. (Don't get us wrong, we love escape rooms!) Our pricing is pretty consistent at all Painting with a Twist locations across the country. Some are BYOB (like ours), and others have cash bars within. There have been times that we have included a drink in the price, but these are typically special occasions when holding classes at other locales, such as a cruise on Pittsburgh's rivers, and the price point is actually higher. As for the water change, we can take your suggestion into consideration, but our classes are designed so that painters should not need it. Painting with a Twist came out of a concept called speed painting, and there are a lot of techniques that enable us to complete a class within the two-hour window, such as moving from light to dark colors, which is against the "norm" for artists. I see that you were in a pretty large class. It would take a big chunk of time if all 50 people in a sold-out class wanted fresh water. I want you to know that even our instructors don't change their water, so you were not being denied on just this occasion or singled out. That being said, I think this should've been explained to you instead of a short, perhaps rude, "no." Again, we appreciate you giving us a chance and are saddened that you don't think you'll join us again. If you change your mind, we hope to see you back, and definitely hope you have a better experience! :)
R
3 months ago
great instruction. nice studio environment
so much fun. Everyone in our group were able to make a beautiful painting, each with their own individuality.
D
3 months ago
Had a blast doing the screen painting with Nikki. She was very personable , friendly and helpful. It was so kind of the manager to put on the class, even though there were only 2 of us! The studio was very clean and had all the amenities needed for a girls Night out! Looking forward to our next visit!
R
3 months ago
Great experience
Was my first time attending. We had a great time!! The teachers were very helpful and upbeat. The atmosphere was very fun and inviting. Will definitely be looking to attend again.
T
3 months ago
Great keepsake!!
My husband and I were on a weekend getaway in Pittsburgh. While walking down Carson St. we noticed the shop and a group of people enjoying themselves while making a piece of art. We decided that joining in the fun might make a good way to take a keepsake home from our romantic weekend together. So glad we did. Absolutely had a fun evening of adults beverages, great instructor and quality time together! The best part is we have a keepsake to look back on that brings a smile to our faces as we remember all the fun we had at Painting With A Twist as well as the other places we went and time we shared.
L
3 months ago
Music
Need a better music selection but I still had a great time.
Response from Painting with a Twist
LT, we are glad to hear you had a great time! As you can probably imagine, it is very difficult to appeal to the tastes of all of our customers, but we are constantly looking for ways to improve. Do you mind me asking what time of music you would've preferred hearing? Maybe we can incorporate some of those songs onto our playlists.