Painting with a Twist

Paint and Sip

2603 E Carson St

#101

Pittsburgh, PA 15203

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
3 months ago
Always a great time at PWAT! Meg was a great instructor for the Rustic Snowman! 💕 Everyone that works there is always so friendly and fun!
T
3 months ago
High quality establishment!
We did paint your pet and it was so much fun! Kayla and Casey were fun and professional. They knew how to help each person with their pet portrait. Great instructors and enjoyable time!!!
C
3 months ago
Always an awesome time!
K
3 months ago
Fun Date Night!
My husband and I recently traveled to Pittsburgh for a weekend trip for our anniversary. I booked PWAT for a date night out and was cautiously optimistic that he would enjoy it as much as I would. We both had a blast! The instructor was fantastic and helped to keep it light hearted and fun! I’d definitely recommend signing up for a class!!
S
3 months ago
It was fun !! I was made to feel welcome the minute I walked in the door. The instructor was great, as well as the other employees. I will be back, and I will tell people what a great experience it was. :)
D
3 months ago
THEE SHIZNYYEEEE
I spent my birthday at PWAT Southside and we had a blast!! Molly (our instructor) was professional, helpful, FUN, just an all-around awesome instructor whom I’m pleased was at my birthday party!! We played games & ate cakes! It was a good time!! I might be up there with Picasso, now. Will be back for sure!!
K
5 months ago
Great fun on a Sunday afternoon
It was my umpteenth time here and my moms first time and we had a blast!!! Can’t wait to do another painting and excited that our mother/daughter time will be here!!!!!!!!!
L
6 months ago
Ladies Night
I really enjoyed this experience It was great and the instructors was Awesome. Planning another date soon.
C
6 months ago
A tad disappointing
Sarah was a great teacher, and I enjoyed her humor and guidance. For the cost of the experience for two, however, I really expected a glass of wine to be included as did the out-of-state friend who gave me the PWAT Gift Certificate (I won't tell her it didn't). Asked to have my tall cup of brush water refreshed and was told by an assistant, "No!" Seriously?? ("Others will expect the same.") Seriously? Why not provide an industrial sink for painters to refresh their own water at-will? I can say I've done it, told my friend it was fun, but probably won't be back.
Response from Painting with a Twist
Cate, Thank you for joining us! We're glad you had a good time with Sarah, but we're also sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed with your visit. We like to think we offer a fair price for our classes. A two-hour session is $35 per person, and you get to leave with a finished work of art. An escape room (another popular outing nowadays), for example, typically costs about $30 for only an hour experience with no take-home product. (Don't get us wrong, we love escape rooms!) Our pricing is pretty consistent at all Painting with a Twist locations across the country. Some are BYOB (like ours), and others have cash bars within. There have been times that we have included a drink in the price, but these are typically special occasions when holding classes at other locales, such as a cruise on Pittsburgh's rivers, and the price point is actually higher. As for the water change, we can take your suggestion into consideration, but our classes are designed so that painters should not need it. Painting with a Twist came out of a concept called speed painting, and there are a lot of techniques that enable us to complete a class within the two-hour window, such as moving from light to dark colors, which is against the "norm" for artists. I see that you were in a pretty large class. It would take a big chunk of time if all 50 people in a sold-out class wanted fresh water. I want you to know that even our instructors don't change their water, so you were not being denied on just this occasion or singled out. That being said, I think this should've been explained to you instead of a short, perhaps rude, "no." Again, we appreciate you giving us a chance and are saddened that you don't think you'll join us again. If you change your mind, we hope to see you back, and definitely hope you have a better experience! :)
R
6 months ago
great instruction. nice studio environment
so much fun. Everyone in our group were able to make a beautiful painting, each with their own individuality.